tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises

CHRISTOPHER NOLAN

The Dark Knight Rises

MovieMovie classics
Comic

[88/100]   

Warner Home Video
02/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In our opinion there better should come an end to the wave of superhero movies, but of Batman we never get enough. Tim Burton already created a masterful macabre world when he turned the bat hero into a movie star, but Christopher Nolan goes even further by making it the darkest blockbuster ever. The only drawback on this one, however, is that he has set the bar so high with the second part The Dark Knight Rises, that the finale is a priori doomed to never rise above its predecessor, The Dark Knight.

The problem starts with the villain. How the hell can someone surpass the role of Heath Ledger as The Joker? No one, even if Tom Hardy plays a superb role as the masked Bane. And for the rest: the story itself was impossible to beat, just like the directing, the performance by Christian Bale as Batman or even the score by Hans Zimmer. Only the surrounding tragedy was matched when during the premiere in Colorado a lunatic killed 12 people.

Do not get us wrong, The Dark Knight Rises is a superior film. A blockbuster in which you regularly push the pause button to admire the cinematic genius of Nolan. Christopher Nolan himself has understood it well, and he is the biggest Hollywood author of his generation, a filmmaker who can overwhelm. Bale is perfect as Batman. So perfect that you already know that his successor (Ben Affleck) will have a tough job. The cast plays grandiose. Anne Hathaway may never match Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman, but she does it well. Marion Cottilard is as always sublime, Michael Caine is just Michael Caine (just as Morgan Freeman) and Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a convincing cop who saves Gotham City.

The Dark Knight Rises is not the ultimate end of a great trilogy, but definitely a film to remember. Sometimes we dare not to write these words, but yes: long live Hollywood!

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


NL

Er mag wat ons betreft een einde komen aan de golf van films met superhelden, maar van Batman krijgen we toch nooit genoeg. Tim Burton toverde al een magistrale macabere wereld uit zijn mouw toen hij de vleermuisheld een filmgestalte gaf, toch is Christopher Nolan daarin nog een stuk verder gegaan door de aller donkerste blockbuster ooit te maken. Het enige nadeel is evenwel dat hij met het tweede luik de lat zo immens hoog heeft gelegd, dat The Dark Knight Rises a priori is veroordeeld om nooit boven voorganger The Dark Knight uit te steken.

Het probleem begint al bij de slechterik. Hoe kan je in godsnaam de rol van Heath Ledger als The Joker overtreffen? Gewoon niet dus, maar Tom Hardy speelt als de gemaskerde Bane desalniettemin een rol die je nekharen overeind laten slaan. Ook het verhaal zelf kon onmogelijk worden overtroffen, net als de regie, de prestatie van Christian Bale als Batman of zelfs de score van Hans Zimmer. Het enige wat wel werd geëvenaard is de tragedie errond toen tijdens de première in Colorado een gek 12 mensen vermoordde.

Begrijp ons niet verkeerd, The Dark Knight Rises is een superieure film. Een blockbuster die je blijft bekijken, een film waarbij je regelmatig de pauzeknop indrukt om het cinematografisch genie van Nolan te bewonderen. Christopher Nolan heeft het ondertussen zelf goed begrepen, en hij is en blijft de grootste Hollywoodauteur van zijn generatie, een cineast die kan overdonderen. Bale is perfect als Batman. Zo perfect dat je nu al weet dat zijn opvolger (Ben Affleck dus) gegarandeerd in het zand zal bijten. De cast speelt grandioos. Anne Hathaway kan wel nooit aan Michelle Pfeiffer als Catwoman tippen, maar ze doet het goed. Marion Cottilard is zoals altijd subliem, Michael Caine is gewoon Michael Caine (net als Morgan Freeman trouwens) en Joseph Gordon-Levitt een overtuigende flik die Gotham City moet zien te redden.

The Dark Knight Rises is niet het ultieme slot van een heerlijke trilogie, wel een film om voor eeuwig te onthouden. Soms durven we het nog wel eens schrijven: lang leve Hollywood!

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked