tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises

CHRISTOPHER NOLAN

The Dark Knight Rises

MovieMovie classics
Comic

[88/100]   

Warner Home Video
02/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In our opinion there better should come an end to the wave of superhero movies, but of Batman we never get enough. Tim Burton already created a masterful macabre world when he turned the bat hero into a movie star, but Christopher Nolan goes even further by making it the darkest blockbuster ever. The only drawback on this one, however, is that he has set the bar so high with the second part The Dark Knight Rises, that the finale is a priori doomed to never rise above its predecessor, The Dark Knight.

The problem starts with the villain. How the hell can someone surpass the role of Heath Ledger as The Joker? No one, even if Tom Hardy plays a superb role as the masked Bane. And for the rest: the story itself was impossible to beat, just like the directing, the performance by Christian Bale as Batman or even the score by Hans Zimmer. Only the surrounding tragedy was matched when during the premiere in Colorado a lunatic killed 12 people.

Do not get us wrong, The Dark Knight Rises is a superior film. A blockbuster in which you regularly push the pause button to admire the cinematic genius of Nolan. Christopher Nolan himself has understood it well, and he is the biggest Hollywood author of his generation, a filmmaker who can overwhelm. Bale is perfect as Batman. So perfect that you already know that his successor (Ben Affleck) will have a tough job. The cast plays grandiose. Anne Hathaway may never match Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman, but she does it well. Marion Cottilard is as always sublime, Michael Caine is just Michael Caine (just as Morgan Freeman) and Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a convincing cop who saves Gotham City.

The Dark Knight Rises is not the ultimate end of a great trilogy, but definitely a film to remember. Sometimes we dare not to write these words, but yes: long live Hollywood!

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


NL

Er mag wat ons betreft een einde komen aan de golf van films met superhelden, maar van Batman krijgen we toch nooit genoeg. Tim Burton toverde al een magistrale macabere wereld uit zijn mouw toen hij de vleermuisheld een filmgestalte gaf, toch is Christopher Nolan daarin nog een stuk verder gegaan door de aller donkerste blockbuster ooit te maken. Het enige nadeel is evenwel dat hij met het tweede luik de lat zo immens hoog heeft gelegd, dat The Dark Knight Rises a priori is veroordeeld om nooit boven voorganger The Dark Knight uit te steken.

Het probleem begint al bij de slechterik. Hoe kan je in godsnaam de rol van Heath Ledger als The Joker overtreffen? Gewoon niet dus, maar Tom Hardy speelt als de gemaskerde Bane desalniettemin een rol die je nekharen overeind laten slaan. Ook het verhaal zelf kon onmogelijk worden overtroffen, net als de regie, de prestatie van Christian Bale als Batman of zelfs de score van Hans Zimmer. Het enige wat wel werd geëvenaard is de tragedie errond toen tijdens de première in Colorado een gek 12 mensen vermoordde.

Begrijp ons niet verkeerd, The Dark Knight Rises is een superieure film. Een blockbuster die je blijft bekijken, een film waarbij je regelmatig de pauzeknop indrukt om het cinematografisch genie van Nolan te bewonderen. Christopher Nolan heeft het ondertussen zelf goed begrepen, en hij is en blijft de grootste Hollywoodauteur van zijn generatie, een cineast die kan overdonderen. Bale is perfect als Batman. Zo perfect dat je nu al weet dat zijn opvolger (Ben Affleck dus) gegarandeerd in het zand zal bijten. De cast speelt grandioos. Anne Hathaway kan wel nooit aan Michelle Pfeiffer als Catwoman tippen, maar ze doet het goed. Marion Cottilard is zoals altijd subliem, Michael Caine is gewoon Michael Caine (net als Morgan Freeman trouwens) en Joseph Gordon-Levitt een overtuigende flik die Gotham City moet zien te redden.

The Dark Knight Rises is niet het ultieme slot van een heerlijke trilogie, wel een film om voor eeuwig te onthouden. Soms durven we het nog wel eens schrijven: lang leve Hollywood!

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises 02/01/2015 : CHRISTOPHER NOLAN - The Dark Knight Rises

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date