tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt

PATRICK SYVERSEN

Rovdyr/Manhunt

MovieCult movies
Horror

[40/100]   
02/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Why do certain films have an international title? Rovdyr sounds indeed better than the hackneyed Manhunt, not? Of course we know the answer, but still...

Rovdyr is a Norwegian film directed by Patrik Syversen and by a lot of people compared to Wrong Turn. With a small budget and a great love for cinema he makes a film that hopefully yields some money.

Syversen's film takes place in 1974, which not coincidentally is the year in which The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was released. Even the minivan is of the same mark and just like in Tobe Hooper’s classic this film begins at the moment when one of the four young travelers has the need to pee. And the comparison goes further, because these four youngsters take along a hitchhiker. A stupid decision, because quickly they must run away from a gang of redneck lunatics. We reveal nothing if we tell you that the hitchhiker is first slain, because the poor woman is out of sight after only five minutes. What follows is nice, but completely unnecessary.

The intentions are good, but there is a lack of a real story. Who are these men? What do they want? What did that poor hitchhiker do wrong? Questions without answers. That is a pity, because despite the tight budget the film has a claustrophobic atmosphere like Deliverance, and that is strongly accentuated by means of the retro soundtrack. But when there is no story, then you only have images of young people running through the Norwegian woods, hoping that they will reach the end titles. 

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


NL

Waarom krijgen sommige films een internationale titel? Rovdyr klinkt toch pakken beter dan het afgezaagde Manhunt, niet? Natuurlijk kennen we het antwoord, maar toch…

Rovdyr is een Noorse film die werd bedacht door Patrik Syversen en die door heel wat mensen wordt vergeleken met Wrong Turn. Dus met een klein budget en een grote liefde voor cinema een film maken waarvan je hoopt dat hij een flinke stuiver opbrengt.

Syversen maakte een film die zich afspeelt in 1974 en dat is niet geheel toevallig het jaar waarin The Texas Chainsaw Massacre uitkwam. Zelfs het minibusje is van dezelfde makelij en net als Tobe Hoopers klassieker begint ook deze film op het moment dat één van de vier jonge reizigers nood heeft om wat lichaamsvocht te lozen. En de vergelijking gaat nog door, want ook deze vier jongelui nemen een liftster mee. Een debiele beslissing, want voor ze het weten moeten ze op de vlucht slaan voor een bende losgeslagen gekken. We verklappen niks als we je vertellen dat de liftster als eerste wordt gedood, want de arme vrouw komt amper vijf minuten in beeld. Wat daarna volgt is leuk, maar geheel overbodig.

De intenties zijn goed, toch ontbreekt er een verhaal. Wie zijn die mannen? Wat willen ze? Wat heeft die arme liftster in godsnaam misdaan? Nooit gedacht dat we als Paul Jambers zouden klinken, maar toch zijn het allemaal vragen waarop geen antwoord komt. Dat is bijzonder jammer, want ondanks het krappe budget bezit de film de claustrofobische sfeer van Deliverance, die extra geaccentueerd wordt door de retro-soundtrack. Maar zonder verhaal blijft het natuurlijk niet meer dan beeldjes kijken van een paar jongelui die door de Noorse wouden lopen en hopen dat zij de eindtitels zullen halen. Echt slecht is Rovdyr niet, alleen zat er heel wat meer in deze prent uit 2008.

In de Benelux vind je deze titel op het Bright Vision-label, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted