tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt

PATRICK SYVERSEN

Rovdyr/Manhunt

MovieCult movies
Horror

[40/100]   
02/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Why do certain films have an international title? Rovdyr sounds indeed better than the hackneyed Manhunt, not? Of course we know the answer, but still...

Rovdyr is a Norwegian film directed by Patrik Syversen and by a lot of people compared to Wrong Turn. With a small budget and a great love for cinema he makes a film that hopefully yields some money.

Syversen's film takes place in 1974, which not coincidentally is the year in which The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was released. Even the minivan is of the same mark and just like in Tobe Hooper’s classic this film begins at the moment when one of the four young travelers has the need to pee. And the comparison goes further, because these four youngsters take along a hitchhiker. A stupid decision, because quickly they must run away from a gang of redneck lunatics. We reveal nothing if we tell you that the hitchhiker is first slain, because the poor woman is out of sight after only five minutes. What follows is nice, but completely unnecessary.

The intentions are good, but there is a lack of a real story. Who are these men? What do they want? What did that poor hitchhiker do wrong? Questions without answers. That is a pity, because despite the tight budget the film has a claustrophobic atmosphere like Deliverance, and that is strongly accentuated by means of the retro soundtrack. But when there is no story, then you only have images of young people running through the Norwegian woods, hoping that they will reach the end titles. 

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


NL

Waarom krijgen sommige films een internationale titel? Rovdyr klinkt toch pakken beter dan het afgezaagde Manhunt, niet? Natuurlijk kennen we het antwoord, maar toch…

Rovdyr is een Noorse film die werd bedacht door Patrik Syversen en die door heel wat mensen wordt vergeleken met Wrong Turn. Dus met een klein budget en een grote liefde voor cinema een film maken waarvan je hoopt dat hij een flinke stuiver opbrengt.

Syversen maakte een film die zich afspeelt in 1974 en dat is niet geheel toevallig het jaar waarin The Texas Chainsaw Massacre uitkwam. Zelfs het minibusje is van dezelfde makelij en net als Tobe Hoopers klassieker begint ook deze film op het moment dat één van de vier jonge reizigers nood heeft om wat lichaamsvocht te lozen. En de vergelijking gaat nog door, want ook deze vier jongelui nemen een liftster mee. Een debiele beslissing, want voor ze het weten moeten ze op de vlucht slaan voor een bende losgeslagen gekken. We verklappen niks als we je vertellen dat de liftster als eerste wordt gedood, want de arme vrouw komt amper vijf minuten in beeld. Wat daarna volgt is leuk, maar geheel overbodig.

De intenties zijn goed, toch ontbreekt er een verhaal. Wie zijn die mannen? Wat willen ze? Wat heeft die arme liftster in godsnaam misdaan? Nooit gedacht dat we als Paul Jambers zouden klinken, maar toch zijn het allemaal vragen waarop geen antwoord komt. Dat is bijzonder jammer, want ondanks het krappe budget bezit de film de claustrofobische sfeer van Deliverance, die extra geaccentueerd wordt door de retro-soundtrack. Maar zonder verhaal blijft het natuurlijk niet meer dan beeldjes kijken van een paar jongelui die door de Noorse wouden lopen en hopen dat zij de eindtitels zullen halen. Echt slecht is Rovdyr niet, alleen zat er heel wat meer in deze prent uit 2008.

In de Benelux vind je deze titel op het Bright Vision-label, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
02/01/2015


02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt 02/01/2015 : PATRICK SYVERSEN - Rovdyr/Manhunt

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
51 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Darkwave Band, TIGERCIDE Brings Chaos & Harmony To Their Single, 'I Of Tiger'
29
11
MIRLAND releases first full album since 2017
28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body
30
11
PUSCIFER
Grand Canyon
30
11
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
29
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak
28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)