tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

21/10/2014 : TED V. MIKELS - Girl In Gold Boots

TED V. MIKELS

Girl In Gold Boots

MovieCult movies
CultMusical

[30/100]   

88 Films
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you ask a cult fan if he’s familiar with Ted V. Mikels then changes are big he says he does. This director who is born as Theodore Mikacevich directed over 25 films and explored all different styles, at least if they cost nothing! Films like The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad or Ten Violent Women have won the status of cult fame. The British 88 Films-label has become the label that likes us to remind of this, as the obscure Girl In Gold Boots is another Mikels-title in their catalogue.

When you know nothing about it, then perhaps you might think that a movie with a title as such is a sort of science fiction-flick with a Barbarella-lookalike with some golden boots on. But nah, this is the silly (but irresistible) story of waitress Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) who’s dreaming of a career as a go go-girl in Las Vegas. Everybody has their own dream of course! We don’t give away any spoiler if we’re telling you that finally the woman gets what she wants! She has to thank Buz Nichols (Tom Pace) for that: a James Dean-like hooligan who brings the girl safe to her new working place. On their way they cross some villains and in the gamble paradise things are not going as they wanted it to be. But don’t expect too much of the story as a three year old kid can think of that!

The style from Ted V. Mikels is a very bizarre one. The man can’t direct, but that’s at the same time why this movie works. Mikels comes up with a weird combination of a Marlon Brando-like outlaw story and an Elvis-musical. Because yes, at the moment you don’t expect it, the protagonists start to sing to the dumbest songs you can imagine.

We don’t have to beat about the bush. With this movie you enter the sewers of the movie kingdom. This is stuff for fans only, a film that is out there for those who want to see how far some directors went in showing the public their bad taste. Girl In Gold Boots is now out on DVD via 88 Films.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

In de cultwereld is de naam van Ted V. Mikels meer dan bekend. Deze als Theodore Mikacevich geboren regisseur heeft ondertussen al meer dan 25 titels op zijn naam staan en kan er tevens trots op zijn dat hij zowat alle genres heeft uitgeprobeerd, ten minste als ze niet te veel kosten! Films als The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad of Ten Violent Women doen menig cultfans likkebaarden. Het Britse horrorlabel 88 Films kan je eigenlijk een beetje als de behoeder van zijn materiaal beschouwen, onlangs brachten ook ze de obscure Girl In Gold Boots van hem uit.

De titel doet misschien vermoeden dat het om een sciencefiction film gaat waarin één of andere Barbarella-lookalike met gouden laarsjes rondloopt, maar dat is niet het geval! Neen, dit is het (dwaze, maar onweerstaanbare) verhaal van serveerster Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) die er genoeg van heeft om in een wegrestaurant te werken en van een carrière als gogo-danseres in Las Vegas droomt. Ieder zijn meug natuurlijk. We geven geen spoiler weg als we je verklappen dat de brunette uiteindelijk in haar opzet slaagt. Dat heeft ze alles te danken aan Buz Nichols (Tom Pace): een James Dean-achtige kerel die de revolterende vrouw veilig naar haar nieuwe werkplaats brengt. Onderweg komen ze enkele zware jongens tegen en ook in de gokstad loopt het behoorlijk spaak, alhoewel je daar niet veel van moet verwachten.

De stijl van Ted V. Mikels is op zijn minst bizar te noemen. De man kan in de verste verte niet regisseren (en dat is dus eigenlijk de aantrekkingskracht van dit vehikel) en vermengt een flauw Marlon Brando-achtig verhaal met een soort van Elvis-musical. Dus ja, je moet er niet van opkijken als Mikels zijn personages plotseling zonder enige reden de meest potsierlijke deuntjes laat zingen of dat hij gewoon zijn film opvult met het filmen van (weliswaar bedekte) lichaamsdelen van de vrouwelijke performers.

We moeten niet flauw doen. Dit is louter voer voor liefhebbers, een release voor mensen die gewoon eens willen zien hoe bepaalde filmmakers door een gebrek aan goede smaak en vakkennis over de scheef gaan. Wie zin heeft om zich in dat wereldje te verdiepen (geloof ons, dat is soms leuker dan die van gerenommeerde cineasten!) kan Girl In Gold Boots via 88 Films op dvd vinden.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination