tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

21/10/2014 : TED V. MIKELS - Girl In Gold Boots

TED V. MIKELS

Girl In Gold Boots

MovieCult movies
CultMusical

[30/100]   

88 Films
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you ask a cult fan if he’s familiar with Ted V. Mikels then changes are big he says he does. This director who is born as Theodore Mikacevich directed over 25 films and explored all different styles, at least if they cost nothing! Films like The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad or Ten Violent Women have won the status of cult fame. The British 88 Films-label has become the label that likes us to remind of this, as the obscure Girl In Gold Boots is another Mikels-title in their catalogue.

When you know nothing about it, then perhaps you might think that a movie with a title as such is a sort of science fiction-flick with a Barbarella-lookalike with some golden boots on. But nah, this is the silly (but irresistible) story of waitress Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) who’s dreaming of a career as a go go-girl in Las Vegas. Everybody has their own dream of course! We don’t give away any spoiler if we’re telling you that finally the woman gets what she wants! She has to thank Buz Nichols (Tom Pace) for that: a James Dean-like hooligan who brings the girl safe to her new working place. On their way they cross some villains and in the gamble paradise things are not going as they wanted it to be. But don’t expect too much of the story as a three year old kid can think of that!

The style from Ted V. Mikels is a very bizarre one. The man can’t direct, but that’s at the same time why this movie works. Mikels comes up with a weird combination of a Marlon Brando-like outlaw story and an Elvis-musical. Because yes, at the moment you don’t expect it, the protagonists start to sing to the dumbest songs you can imagine.

We don’t have to beat about the bush. With this movie you enter the sewers of the movie kingdom. This is stuff for fans only, a film that is out there for those who want to see how far some directors went in showing the public their bad taste. Girl In Gold Boots is now out on DVD via 88 Films.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

In de cultwereld is de naam van Ted V. Mikels meer dan bekend. Deze als Theodore Mikacevich geboren regisseur heeft ondertussen al meer dan 25 titels op zijn naam staan en kan er tevens trots op zijn dat hij zowat alle genres heeft uitgeprobeerd, ten minste als ze niet te veel kosten! Films als The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad of Ten Violent Women doen menig cultfans likkebaarden. Het Britse horrorlabel 88 Films kan je eigenlijk een beetje als de behoeder van zijn materiaal beschouwen, onlangs brachten ook ze de obscure Girl In Gold Boots van hem uit.

De titel doet misschien vermoeden dat het om een sciencefiction film gaat waarin één of andere Barbarella-lookalike met gouden laarsjes rondloopt, maar dat is niet het geval! Neen, dit is het (dwaze, maar onweerstaanbare) verhaal van serveerster Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) die er genoeg van heeft om in een wegrestaurant te werken en van een carrière als gogo-danseres in Las Vegas droomt. Ieder zijn meug natuurlijk. We geven geen spoiler weg als we je verklappen dat de brunette uiteindelijk in haar opzet slaagt. Dat heeft ze alles te danken aan Buz Nichols (Tom Pace): een James Dean-achtige kerel die de revolterende vrouw veilig naar haar nieuwe werkplaats brengt. Onderweg komen ze enkele zware jongens tegen en ook in de gokstad loopt het behoorlijk spaak, alhoewel je daar niet veel van moet verwachten.

De stijl van Ted V. Mikels is op zijn minst bizar te noemen. De man kan in de verste verte niet regisseren (en dat is dus eigenlijk de aantrekkingskracht van dit vehikel) en vermengt een flauw Marlon Brando-achtig verhaal met een soort van Elvis-musical. Dus ja, je moet er niet van opkijken als Mikels zijn personages plotseling zonder enige reden de meest potsierlijke deuntjes laat zingen of dat hij gewoon zijn film opvult met het filmen van (weliswaar bedekte) lichaamsdelen van de vrouwelijke performers.

We moeten niet flauw doen. Dit is louter voer voor liefhebbers, een release voor mensen die gewoon eens willen zien hoe bepaalde filmmakers door een gebrek aan goede smaak en vakkennis over de scheef gaan. Wie zin heeft om zich in dat wereldje te verdiepen (geloof ons, dat is soms leuker dan die van gerenommeerde cineasten!) kan Girl In Gold Boots via 88 Films op dvd vinden.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell