tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

21/10/2014 : TED V. MIKELS - Girl In Gold Boots

TED V. MIKELS

Girl In Gold Boots

MovieCult movies
CultMusical

[30/100]   

88 Films
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you ask a cult fan if he’s familiar with Ted V. Mikels then changes are big he says he does. This director who is born as Theodore Mikacevich directed over 25 films and explored all different styles, at least if they cost nothing! Films like The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad or Ten Violent Women have won the status of cult fame. The British 88 Films-label has become the label that likes us to remind of this, as the obscure Girl In Gold Boots is another Mikels-title in their catalogue.

When you know nothing about it, then perhaps you might think that a movie with a title as such is a sort of science fiction-flick with a Barbarella-lookalike with some golden boots on. But nah, this is the silly (but irresistible) story of waitress Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) who’s dreaming of a career as a go go-girl in Las Vegas. Everybody has their own dream of course! We don’t give away any spoiler if we’re telling you that finally the woman gets what she wants! She has to thank Buz Nichols (Tom Pace) for that: a James Dean-like hooligan who brings the girl safe to her new working place. On their way they cross some villains and in the gamble paradise things are not going as they wanted it to be. But don’t expect too much of the story as a three year old kid can think of that!

The style from Ted V. Mikels is a very bizarre one. The man can’t direct, but that’s at the same time why this movie works. Mikels comes up with a weird combination of a Marlon Brando-like outlaw story and an Elvis-musical. Because yes, at the moment you don’t expect it, the protagonists start to sing to the dumbest songs you can imagine.

We don’t have to beat about the bush. With this movie you enter the sewers of the movie kingdom. This is stuff for fans only, a film that is out there for those who want to see how far some directors went in showing the public their bad taste. Girl In Gold Boots is now out on DVD via 88 Films.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

In de cultwereld is de naam van Ted V. Mikels meer dan bekend. Deze als Theodore Mikacevich geboren regisseur heeft ondertussen al meer dan 25 titels op zijn naam staan en kan er tevens trots op zijn dat hij zowat alle genres heeft uitgeprobeerd, ten minste als ze niet te veel kosten! Films als The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad of Ten Violent Women doen menig cultfans likkebaarden. Het Britse horrorlabel 88 Films kan je eigenlijk een beetje als de behoeder van zijn materiaal beschouwen, onlangs brachten ook ze de obscure Girl In Gold Boots van hem uit.

De titel doet misschien vermoeden dat het om een sciencefiction film gaat waarin één of andere Barbarella-lookalike met gouden laarsjes rondloopt, maar dat is niet het geval! Neen, dit is het (dwaze, maar onweerstaanbare) verhaal van serveerster Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) die er genoeg van heeft om in een wegrestaurant te werken en van een carrière als gogo-danseres in Las Vegas droomt. Ieder zijn meug natuurlijk. We geven geen spoiler weg als we je verklappen dat de brunette uiteindelijk in haar opzet slaagt. Dat heeft ze alles te danken aan Buz Nichols (Tom Pace): een James Dean-achtige kerel die de revolterende vrouw veilig naar haar nieuwe werkplaats brengt. Onderweg komen ze enkele zware jongens tegen en ook in de gokstad loopt het behoorlijk spaak, alhoewel je daar niet veel van moet verwachten.

De stijl van Ted V. Mikels is op zijn minst bizar te noemen. De man kan in de verste verte niet regisseren (en dat is dus eigenlijk de aantrekkingskracht van dit vehikel) en vermengt een flauw Marlon Brando-achtig verhaal met een soort van Elvis-musical. Dus ja, je moet er niet van opkijken als Mikels zijn personages plotseling zonder enige reden de meest potsierlijke deuntjes laat zingen of dat hij gewoon zijn film opvult met het filmen van (weliswaar bedekte) lichaamsdelen van de vrouwelijke performers.

We moeten niet flauw doen. Dit is louter voer voor liefhebbers, een release voor mensen die gewoon eens willen zien hoe bepaalde filmmakers door een gebrek aan goede smaak en vakkennis over de scheef gaan. Wie zin heeft om zich in dat wereldje te verdiepen (geloof ons, dat is soms leuker dan die van gerenommeerde cineasten!) kan Girl In Gold Boots via 88 Films op dvd vinden.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)