tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

21/10/2014 : TED V. MIKELS - Girl In Gold Boots

TED V. MIKELS

Girl In Gold Boots

MovieCult movies
CultMusical

[30/100]   

88 Films
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you ask a cult fan if he’s familiar with Ted V. Mikels then changes are big he says he does. This director who is born as Theodore Mikacevich directed over 25 films and explored all different styles, at least if they cost nothing! Films like The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad or Ten Violent Women have won the status of cult fame. The British 88 Films-label has become the label that likes us to remind of this, as the obscure Girl In Gold Boots is another Mikels-title in their catalogue.

When you know nothing about it, then perhaps you might think that a movie with a title as such is a sort of science fiction-flick with a Barbarella-lookalike with some golden boots on. But nah, this is the silly (but irresistible) story of waitress Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) who’s dreaming of a career as a go go-girl in Las Vegas. Everybody has their own dream of course! We don’t give away any spoiler if we’re telling you that finally the woman gets what she wants! She has to thank Buz Nichols (Tom Pace) for that: a James Dean-like hooligan who brings the girl safe to her new working place. On their way they cross some villains and in the gamble paradise things are not going as they wanted it to be. But don’t expect too much of the story as a three year old kid can think of that!

The style from Ted V. Mikels is a very bizarre one. The man can’t direct, but that’s at the same time why this movie works. Mikels comes up with a weird combination of a Marlon Brando-like outlaw story and an Elvis-musical. Because yes, at the moment you don’t expect it, the protagonists start to sing to the dumbest songs you can imagine.

We don’t have to beat about the bush. With this movie you enter the sewers of the movie kingdom. This is stuff for fans only, a film that is out there for those who want to see how far some directors went in showing the public their bad taste. Girl In Gold Boots is now out on DVD via 88 Films.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

In de cultwereld is de naam van Ted V. Mikels meer dan bekend. Deze als Theodore Mikacevich geboren regisseur heeft ondertussen al meer dan 25 titels op zijn naam staan en kan er tevens trots op zijn dat hij zowat alle genres heeft uitgeprobeerd, ten minste als ze niet te veel kosten! Films als The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad of Ten Violent Women doen menig cultfans likkebaarden. Het Britse horrorlabel 88 Films kan je eigenlijk een beetje als de behoeder van zijn materiaal beschouwen, onlangs brachten ook ze de obscure Girl In Gold Boots van hem uit.

De titel doet misschien vermoeden dat het om een sciencefiction film gaat waarin één of andere Barbarella-lookalike met gouden laarsjes rondloopt, maar dat is niet het geval! Neen, dit is het (dwaze, maar onweerstaanbare) verhaal van serveerster Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) die er genoeg van heeft om in een wegrestaurant te werken en van een carrière als gogo-danseres in Las Vegas droomt. Ieder zijn meug natuurlijk. We geven geen spoiler weg als we je verklappen dat de brunette uiteindelijk in haar opzet slaagt. Dat heeft ze alles te danken aan Buz Nichols (Tom Pace): een James Dean-achtige kerel die de revolterende vrouw veilig naar haar nieuwe werkplaats brengt. Onderweg komen ze enkele zware jongens tegen en ook in de gokstad loopt het behoorlijk spaak, alhoewel je daar niet veel van moet verwachten.

De stijl van Ted V. Mikels is op zijn minst bizar te noemen. De man kan in de verste verte niet regisseren (en dat is dus eigenlijk de aantrekkingskracht van dit vehikel) en vermengt een flauw Marlon Brando-achtig verhaal met een soort van Elvis-musical. Dus ja, je moet er niet van opkijken als Mikels zijn personages plotseling zonder enige reden de meest potsierlijke deuntjes laat zingen of dat hij gewoon zijn film opvult met het filmen van (weliswaar bedekte) lichaamsdelen van de vrouwelijke performers.

We moeten niet flauw doen. Dit is louter voer voor liefhebbers, een release voor mensen die gewoon eens willen zien hoe bepaalde filmmakers door een gebrek aan goede smaak en vakkennis over de scheef gaan. Wie zin heeft om zich in dat wereldje te verdiepen (geloof ons, dat is soms leuker dan die van gerenommeerde cineasten!) kan Girl In Gold Boots via 88 Films op dvd vinden.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself