tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

21/10/2014 : TED V. MIKELS - Girl In Gold Boots

TED V. MIKELS

Girl In Gold Boots

MovieCult movies
CultMusical

[30/100]   

88 Films
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you ask a cult fan if he’s familiar with Ted V. Mikels then changes are big he says he does. This director who is born as Theodore Mikacevich directed over 25 films and explored all different styles, at least if they cost nothing! Films like The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad or Ten Violent Women have won the status of cult fame. The British 88 Films-label has become the label that likes us to remind of this, as the obscure Girl In Gold Boots is another Mikels-title in their catalogue.

When you know nothing about it, then perhaps you might think that a movie with a title as such is a sort of science fiction-flick with a Barbarella-lookalike with some golden boots on. But nah, this is the silly (but irresistible) story of waitress Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) who’s dreaming of a career as a go go-girl in Las Vegas. Everybody has their own dream of course! We don’t give away any spoiler if we’re telling you that finally the woman gets what she wants! She has to thank Buz Nichols (Tom Pace) for that: a James Dean-like hooligan who brings the girl safe to her new working place. On their way they cross some villains and in the gamble paradise things are not going as they wanted it to be. But don’t expect too much of the story as a three year old kid can think of that!

The style from Ted V. Mikels is a very bizarre one. The man can’t direct, but that’s at the same time why this movie works. Mikels comes up with a weird combination of a Marlon Brando-like outlaw story and an Elvis-musical. Because yes, at the moment you don’t expect it, the protagonists start to sing to the dumbest songs you can imagine.

We don’t have to beat about the bush. With this movie you enter the sewers of the movie kingdom. This is stuff for fans only, a film that is out there for those who want to see how far some directors went in showing the public their bad taste. Girl In Gold Boots is now out on DVD via 88 Films.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

In de cultwereld is de naam van Ted V. Mikels meer dan bekend. Deze als Theodore Mikacevich geboren regisseur heeft ondertussen al meer dan 25 titels op zijn naam staan en kan er tevens trots op zijn dat hij zowat alle genres heeft uitgeprobeerd, ten minste als ze niet te veel kosten! Films als The Corpse Grinders, Astro Zombies, The Doll Squad of Ten Violent Women doen menig cultfans likkebaarden. Het Britse horrorlabel 88 Films kan je eigenlijk een beetje als de behoeder van zijn materiaal beschouwen, onlangs brachten ook ze de obscure Girl In Gold Boots van hem uit.

De titel doet misschien vermoeden dat het om een sciencefiction film gaat waarin één of andere Barbarella-lookalike met gouden laarsjes rondloopt, maar dat is niet het geval! Neen, dit is het (dwaze, maar onweerstaanbare) verhaal van serveerster Michele Casey (Leslie McRay) die er genoeg van heeft om in een wegrestaurant te werken en van een carrière als gogo-danseres in Las Vegas droomt. Ieder zijn meug natuurlijk. We geven geen spoiler weg als we je verklappen dat de brunette uiteindelijk in haar opzet slaagt. Dat heeft ze alles te danken aan Buz Nichols (Tom Pace): een James Dean-achtige kerel die de revolterende vrouw veilig naar haar nieuwe werkplaats brengt. Onderweg komen ze enkele zware jongens tegen en ook in de gokstad loopt het behoorlijk spaak, alhoewel je daar niet veel van moet verwachten.

De stijl van Ted V. Mikels is op zijn minst bizar te noemen. De man kan in de verste verte niet regisseren (en dat is dus eigenlijk de aantrekkingskracht van dit vehikel) en vermengt een flauw Marlon Brando-achtig verhaal met een soort van Elvis-musical. Dus ja, je moet er niet van opkijken als Mikels zijn personages plotseling zonder enige reden de meest potsierlijke deuntjes laat zingen of dat hij gewoon zijn film opvult met het filmen van (weliswaar bedekte) lichaamsdelen van de vrouwelijke performers.

We moeten niet flauw doen. Dit is louter voer voor liefhebbers, een release voor mensen die gewoon eens willen zien hoe bepaalde filmmakers door een gebrek aan goede smaak en vakkennis over de scheef gaan. Wie zin heeft om zich in dat wereldje te verdiepen (geloof ons, dat is soms leuker dan die van gerenommeerde cineasten!) kan Girl In Gold Boots via 88 Films op dvd vinden.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked