tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/12/2014 : NFD - Walking The Dead

NFD

Walking The Dead

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[78/100]   

Jungle Records
01/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

NFD emerged a decade ago of the ashes of The Fields of The Nephilim and Sensorium. Peter White is the singer, Chris Milden the guitarist and Luca Mazzucconi is the drummer. In addition, their bio also says that both Cradle Of Filth guitarist James McIllroy and former Fields of Nephilim member Tony Pettitt are part of this band. The group describes itself as a hybrid goth/rock band. The album has indeed some gothic elements, with rock, metal and some post-punk elements. They come from both London and L.A.

This band has released its fourth album (at least if you do not count the live album). The vocals sometimes seem a bit like those of The Fields Of The Nephilim, but NFD is more gothic metal orientated. That might make it difficult for some fans, because some goths will find it too heavy, while for metal fans it might be too soft. But those who like burly but melodic music, will surely like it.

Waking the Dead is a great opener and shows everything this band is able to: an atmospheric intro, gothic sounds and heavy guitars. Got Left Behind is fine Goth Rock. Spiral has a nice riff. Let you Fall begins tender, but breaks open later. Red Sky Burning is routine and uses too many clichés. The Great Divide is a lot better, with splendid drums. Evermore is a nice ballad, but White is not the exact singer for that type of songs, so a missed opportunity. Return to Dust is a rock, just like we like it! The Silence of the Angels is a song with the same structure as Let you Fall. Without End nicely closes the album: a dark atmospheric piece of music.

It is not a great album, but a decent, professional and listenable CD with some high peaks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/12/2014


NL

NFD ontstond een tiental jaar geleden uit de as van The Fields of The Nephilim en Sensorium. Peter White is zanger, Chris Milden gitarist en Luca Mazzucconi is drummer. Daarnaast vertelt hun bio ook dat Cradle Of Filth-gitarist James McIllroy en voormalig Fields of Nephilim- lid Tony Pettitt deel uitmaken van deze band. De groep omschrijft zichzelf als een hybride goth/rock band. Het album heeft inderdaad wat gothic elementen, die in een rock/metal/postpun-jasje zijn verpakt. Hun thuisbasis is zowel London als L.A.

Deze band brengt nu z'n vierde album uit (ten minste als we het live album niet meerekenen). De zang lijkt soms wel een beetje op die van The Fields Of The Nephilim, maar toch kunnen we NFD eerder als gothic metal categorizeren. Dat maakt het misschien wat moeilijk voor een aantal liefhebbers, want heel wat goths vinden dit wellicht wat te zwaar, terwijl het voor de metalfans dan weer te braaf is. Maar voor wie van iets stevigere, potigere, maar melodieuze muziek houdt, zal hier zijn gading wel vinden.

Waking the Dead is een prima opener en toont wat deze band in zich heeft: sfeervo intro, gothic-geluiden en zware gitaren. Got Left Behind is prima Goth Rock. Spiral draait op een leuke riff. Let you Fall begint wat ingetogen en teder, maar breekt later open. Red Sky Burning is wat routineus en clichématig. The Great Divide is heel wat beter: een mooie opbouw en drumpartijen die het nummer ondersteunen. Evermore is op zich wel een mooie ballad, maar White's stem leent zich daar niet echt toe, een gemiste kans dus. Return to Dust is een rocknummer waarop niets aan te merken is. The Silence of the Angels is een nummer met dezelfde opbouw als Let you Fall. Without End sluit het album mooi af: een donker sfeervol stukje muziek.

Het is geen groots album, wel een degelijke, vakkundige en goed beluisterbare cd met hier en daar een uitschieter. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/12/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire