tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2014 : ROYKSOPP - The Inevitable End

ROYKSOPP

The Inevitable End

MusicCD
Dance

[70/100]   

Dog Triumph
26/11/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Whatever happened to Norway's glacial electro-popsters? In debut-album Melody AM, they had a pension for life yet chucked the winning template of smooth, cool and memorable rave-lite anthems out of the plane window in favour of writing club-anthems that weren't.

 

Follow-up The Misunderstanding had a few moments, while Junior and Senior had too much filler to be really considered for album-of-the-year lists. So to The Inevitable End, supposedly the duo's last album as Royksopp. Rather than re-invent the wheel, the pair have enlisted guest vocalists Robyn, Jamie Irrepressible and Ryan James aka Man Without Country to provide lyrical support to a mix of top-notch electronica and unimpressive meanderings. Admittedly, Sordid Affair is more in-keeping with all that's great about Royksopp - a chilly-disco pounder that relies on subtlety rather than the ham-fisted beats found on Monument. Save Me with Susanne Sundfor is also sweetly sung and boasts a killer chorus yet the singer's other contribution Running To The Sea is like a gopping Eurovision techno joke that has backfired badly. The Inevitable End is less poppy than its two predecessors but no less listenable - the final pair of songs are mournful epics that round off Royksopp's album career in style.

 

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
26/11/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design