tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

26/11/2014 : ADVANCE - Deus Ex Machina

ADVANCE

Deus Ex Machina

MusicDigital
ElectronicsFuturepop

[85/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
26/11/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Deus Ex Machina is the electro solo debut by Peter Perrett from Glasgow. With solo we simply mean that this musician does everything himself, with his project Advance he is building (especially live) his way to the top. Since February 2014, his debut is out on Analogue Trash Records (a label from Manchester). Unfortunately, I hear Advance for the first time, and with saying that, you know it’ll be good!

Advance is making music like VNV Nation, Neuroticfish, Covenant or: Wumpscut:. Atmospheric synths supported by pumping and danceable beats. The vocals are clean and melodic, think Hurts or Depeche Mode. Everything was recorded and mixed in the Philip Morrison Studio in Glasgow.

The title Deus Ex Machina is the central theme: a post-apocalyptic future where technology is seen as a way to survive.

The songs are well constructed, it is music that is created for the alternative dance floor. And for the value seeker, you also have those lyrics that are more than just a stepping stone for the musical aspect.

The strongest songs are Weapon of Choice (lots of variety), Fractured Existence (that depicts a beautiful atmosphere with its synth bass), Enter The Wastelands (an intro that can be used as a soundtrack for some SF-movie) and Break the Silence. Also Divine Machines is a very nice song, while When We Return is a great track to end the album with.

Dead Technology starts a bit like Scooter but shows later more depth, although this number (just like New Objective) is one of the lesser ones.

Our conclusion: a strong debut. A small minor point maybe: let the song be supported by backing vocals as that will bring more variety and depth in the songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/11/2014


NL

Deus Ex Machina is het solo-electrodebuut van Peter Perrett uit Glasgow. Met solo bedoelen we gewoon dat deze muzikant alles zelf doet. Met zijn project Advance timmert hij (vooral live) reeds sinds 2010 aan zijn weg naar de top. Sedert februari 2014 is zijn debuut op Analogue Trash Records (een label uit Manchester) uitgebracht. Helaas hoor ik Advance voor het eerst, woorden dus waarvan je kan vermoeden dat het verre van slecht is.

Om het allemaal wat beter te situeren: Advance bevindt zich op de muzikale paden waar je ook VNV Nation, Neuroticfish, Convenant of :Wumpscut: vindt. Sfeervolle synths die door pompende en dansbare beats worden ondersteund. De zang is clean en melodieus, waarbij je aan Hurts of Depeche Mode denkt. Alles is opgenomen en gemixt in de Philip Morrison Studio in Glasgow.

De titel Deus Ex Machina is het centrale thema dat op het album aan bod komt: een postapocalyptische toekomst waarin technologie als een uitweg voor de mens wordt gezien om te kunnen overleven. Het klinkt allemaal zwaar, maar eens je de muziek hoort, merk je tevens een brok enthousiasme en energie die licht verteerbaar is.

De nummers zijn stuk voor stuk goed opgebouwd, muziek die gemaakt is voor de alternatieve dansvloer. En voor de meerwaardezoeker zijn er ook nog die teksten die meer zijn dan een loutere kapstok voor het muzikale aspect zoals je dat bij andere dansformaties wel eens tegenkomt.

De sterkste nummers zijn Weapon of Choice (veel afwisseling en mooie opbouw), Fractured Existence (dat met zijn synthbass een mooi sfeertje neerzet), Enter The Wastelands (de intro kan dienst doen als soundtrack voor een of andere sf-film) en Break the Silence. Ook Divine Machines is een heel lekker nummer, terwijl When We Return het album mooi afsluit.

Dead Technology begint een beetje als Scooter maar gaat gelukkig vlug over in een nummer met meer diepgang, alhoewel dit nummer (net als New Objective) toch van minder allooi is.

Onze conclusie: een sterk debuut waar weinig op af te dingen valt. Een klein minpuntje misschien: laat de zang nu en dan eens ondersteunen door backing vocals waardoor er meer nuancering, afwisseling en diepte in de zang komt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/11/2014


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)