tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

26/11/2014 : ADVANCE - Deus Ex Machina

ADVANCE

Deus Ex Machina

MusicDigital
ElectronicsFuturepop

[85/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
26/11/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Deus Ex Machina is the electro solo debut by Peter Perrett from Glasgow. With solo we simply mean that this musician does everything himself, with his project Advance he is building (especially live) his way to the top. Since February 2014, his debut is out on Analogue Trash Records (a label from Manchester). Unfortunately, I hear Advance for the first time, and with saying that, you know it’ll be good!

Advance is making music like VNV Nation, Neuroticfish, Covenant or: Wumpscut:. Atmospheric synths supported by pumping and danceable beats. The vocals are clean and melodic, think Hurts or Depeche Mode. Everything was recorded and mixed in the Philip Morrison Studio in Glasgow.

The title Deus Ex Machina is the central theme: a post-apocalyptic future where technology is seen as a way to survive.

The songs are well constructed, it is music that is created for the alternative dance floor. And for the value seeker, you also have those lyrics that are more than just a stepping stone for the musical aspect.

The strongest songs are Weapon of Choice (lots of variety), Fractured Existence (that depicts a beautiful atmosphere with its synth bass), Enter The Wastelands (an intro that can be used as a soundtrack for some SF-movie) and Break the Silence. Also Divine Machines is a very nice song, while When We Return is a great track to end the album with.

Dead Technology starts a bit like Scooter but shows later more depth, although this number (just like New Objective) is one of the lesser ones.

Our conclusion: a strong debut. A small minor point maybe: let the song be supported by backing vocals as that will bring more variety and depth in the songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/11/2014


NL

Deus Ex Machina is het solo-electrodebuut van Peter Perrett uit Glasgow. Met solo bedoelen we gewoon dat deze muzikant alles zelf doet. Met zijn project Advance timmert hij (vooral live) reeds sinds 2010 aan zijn weg naar de top. Sedert februari 2014 is zijn debuut op Analogue Trash Records (een label uit Manchester) uitgebracht. Helaas hoor ik Advance voor het eerst, woorden dus waarvan je kan vermoeden dat het verre van slecht is.

Om het allemaal wat beter te situeren: Advance bevindt zich op de muzikale paden waar je ook VNV Nation, Neuroticfish, Convenant of :Wumpscut: vindt. Sfeervolle synths die door pompende en dansbare beats worden ondersteund. De zang is clean en melodieus, waarbij je aan Hurts of Depeche Mode denkt. Alles is opgenomen en gemixt in de Philip Morrison Studio in Glasgow.

De titel Deus Ex Machina is het centrale thema dat op het album aan bod komt: een postapocalyptische toekomst waarin technologie als een uitweg voor de mens wordt gezien om te kunnen overleven. Het klinkt allemaal zwaar, maar eens je de muziek hoort, merk je tevens een brok enthousiasme en energie die licht verteerbaar is.

De nummers zijn stuk voor stuk goed opgebouwd, muziek die gemaakt is voor de alternatieve dansvloer. En voor de meerwaardezoeker zijn er ook nog die teksten die meer zijn dan een loutere kapstok voor het muzikale aspect zoals je dat bij andere dansformaties wel eens tegenkomt.

De sterkste nummers zijn Weapon of Choice (veel afwisseling en mooie opbouw), Fractured Existence (dat met zijn synthbass een mooi sfeertje neerzet), Enter The Wastelands (de intro kan dienst doen als soundtrack voor een of andere sf-film) en Break the Silence. Ook Divine Machines is een heel lekker nummer, terwijl When We Return het album mooi afsluit.

Dead Technology begint een beetje als Scooter maar gaat gelukkig vlug over in een nummer met meer diepgang, alhoewel dit nummer (net als New Objective) toch van minder allooi is.

Onze conclusie: een sterk debuut waar weinig op af te dingen valt. Een klein minpuntje misschien: laat de zang nu en dan eens ondersteunen door backing vocals waardoor er meer nuancering, afwisseling en diepte in de zang komt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/11/2014


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat