tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

26/11/2014 : ADVANCE - Deus Ex Machina

ADVANCE

Deus Ex Machina

MusicDigital
ElectronicsFuturepop

[85/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
26/11/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Deus Ex Machina is the electro solo debut by Peter Perrett from Glasgow. With solo we simply mean that this musician does everything himself, with his project Advance he is building (especially live) his way to the top. Since February 2014, his debut is out on Analogue Trash Records (a label from Manchester). Unfortunately, I hear Advance for the first time, and with saying that, you know it’ll be good!

Advance is making music like VNV Nation, Neuroticfish, Covenant or: Wumpscut:. Atmospheric synths supported by pumping and danceable beats. The vocals are clean and melodic, think Hurts or Depeche Mode. Everything was recorded and mixed in the Philip Morrison Studio in Glasgow.

The title Deus Ex Machina is the central theme: a post-apocalyptic future where technology is seen as a way to survive.

The songs are well constructed, it is music that is created for the alternative dance floor. And for the value seeker, you also have those lyrics that are more than just a stepping stone for the musical aspect.

The strongest songs are Weapon of Choice (lots of variety), Fractured Existence (that depicts a beautiful atmosphere with its synth bass), Enter The Wastelands (an intro that can be used as a soundtrack for some SF-movie) and Break the Silence. Also Divine Machines is a very nice song, while When We Return is a great track to end the album with.

Dead Technology starts a bit like Scooter but shows later more depth, although this number (just like New Objective) is one of the lesser ones.

Our conclusion: a strong debut. A small minor point maybe: let the song be supported by backing vocals as that will bring more variety and depth in the songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/11/2014


NL

Deus Ex Machina is het solo-electrodebuut van Peter Perrett uit Glasgow. Met solo bedoelen we gewoon dat deze muzikant alles zelf doet. Met zijn project Advance timmert hij (vooral live) reeds sinds 2010 aan zijn weg naar de top. Sedert februari 2014 is zijn debuut op Analogue Trash Records (een label uit Manchester) uitgebracht. Helaas hoor ik Advance voor het eerst, woorden dus waarvan je kan vermoeden dat het verre van slecht is.

Om het allemaal wat beter te situeren: Advance bevindt zich op de muzikale paden waar je ook VNV Nation, Neuroticfish, Convenant of :Wumpscut: vindt. Sfeervolle synths die door pompende en dansbare beats worden ondersteund. De zang is clean en melodieus, waarbij je aan Hurts of Depeche Mode denkt. Alles is opgenomen en gemixt in de Philip Morrison Studio in Glasgow.

De titel Deus Ex Machina is het centrale thema dat op het album aan bod komt: een postapocalyptische toekomst waarin technologie als een uitweg voor de mens wordt gezien om te kunnen overleven. Het klinkt allemaal zwaar, maar eens je de muziek hoort, merk je tevens een brok enthousiasme en energie die licht verteerbaar is.

De nummers zijn stuk voor stuk goed opgebouwd, muziek die gemaakt is voor de alternatieve dansvloer. En voor de meerwaardezoeker zijn er ook nog die teksten die meer zijn dan een loutere kapstok voor het muzikale aspect zoals je dat bij andere dansformaties wel eens tegenkomt.

De sterkste nummers zijn Weapon of Choice (veel afwisseling en mooie opbouw), Fractured Existence (dat met zijn synthbass een mooi sfeertje neerzet), Enter The Wastelands (de intro kan dienst doen als soundtrack voor een of andere sf-film) en Break the Silence. Ook Divine Machines is een heel lekker nummer, terwijl When We Return het album mooi afsluit.

Dead Technology begint een beetje als Scooter maar gaat gelukkig vlug over in een nummer met meer diepgang, alhoewel dit nummer (net als New Objective) toch van minder allooi is.

Onze conclusie: een sterk debuut waar weinig op af te dingen valt. Een klein minpuntje misschien: laat de zang nu en dan eens ondersteunen door backing vocals waardoor er meer nuancering, afwisseling en diepte in de zang komt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/11/2014


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem