tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2014 : MESMUR - Mesmur

MESMUR

Mesmur

MusicCD
Doom Metal

[82/100]   

Aural Music
06/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lovers of doom metal who also like melody and diversity, should know that the debut of Mesmur is a must: 52 minutes of refined and dark music coming from the depths of the underworld, crossed with fine melodies, spread over 5 songs: this is the debut album by this US band.

The Deprivation opens with a heavy riff. Immediately you notice that this band puts multiple layers in its music. Under the heavy riff you hear synths and atmospheric sounds that flow together with a fine guitar. The guitar sounds almost medieval, an almost progressive approach, but doom metal nonetheless.

The second track Lapse combines the various ingredients of the first song. After a brief interlude of a monotone synth sound that evokes an atmosphere of chilly plains, we return to purgatory.

Abnegate begins with a dissonant sounding piano and has a gothic feel. Then the guitars are doing the theme of the piano piece, 13 minutes long. The song uses the double bass drums frequently, which fits in well, I just think the sound could be better. For the rest there is nothing wrong with the production of this album.

Descend is the shortest song and has some nice drum. Osmosis begins almost ambient-like. Imagine yourself in an underwater world. A very beautiful song which goes up and down. Now and then they go back to the atmosphere of the intro. Halfway the song a piano jumps in, a harpsichord sounding synth and a violin. A beautiful piece of work to finish.

Musically this is, in my opinion anyway, one of the strongest debut albums in this genre: a lot of variety, atmosphere and a good piece of work by a band that is trying to avoid the clichés.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


NL

Voor de liefhebbers van doom metal die tevens melodie en verscheidenheid in de muziek appreciëren, is het debuut van Mesmur een must: 52 minuten geraffineerde, zwartgallige muziek die uit de krochten van de onderwereld komen en doorkruist zijn met fijne melodieën verdeeld over 5 songs: dat is het debuutalbum van deze Amerikaanse band.

The Deprivation is het openingsnummer. Al van bij het begin wordt de toon gezet. Een zware riff opent het nummer. Meteen merk je ook dat dit gezelschap meerdere lagen in zijn muziek legt. Onder de zware riff hoor je synths en sfeervolle geluiden die samenvloeien met een fijne gitaarsneer. Dan gaat de song over in een bijna middeleeuws gitaargetokkel om dan met het gezang alles open te trekken. Een haast progressieve aanpak, maar wel in een doom metaljasje dus.

Lapse gaat een versnelling hoger, maar blijft netjes de verschillende ingrediënten combineren vazn het eerste nummer. Halfweg het nummer valt alles stil. Na een kort intermezzo van een monotoon synthgeluid dat de sfeer van kille vlaktes oproept, keren we terug naar het vagevuur.

Abnegate begint met een dissonant klinkende piano en heeft wat gotisch. Daarna komen de gitaren aan bod die het thema van het pianostuk voor een stuk hernemen om pas na bijna 13 minuten af te sluiten. Er wordt in de song veelvuldig gebruik gemaakt van de dubbele basdrums, dat past daar goed bij, alleen vind ik de klank ervan minder. Het klinkt net als een kartonnen doos. Voor de rest is er niets mis met de productie van dit album.

Descend is de kortste song en heeft een aantal leuke drumpartijen. Osmosis begint haast ambient-achtig. Je waant je in een onderwaterwereld: een heel mooi nummer dat wat op en neer gaat. Nu en dan keren ze bijna terug naar de beginsfeer van de intro. Halfweg zorgt een piano, een klavecimbel- klinkende synth met een viool, voor een mooie break vooraleer de tweede helft van start gaat. Een mooie werkstukje als afsluiter.

Muzikaal is dit, naar mijn mening toch, een van de sterkere debuutalbums in dit genre: veel afwisseling, sfeer en een goede productie van een band die probeert de platgetreden paden te vermijden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless