tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2014 : MESMUR - Mesmur

MESMUR

Mesmur

MusicCD
Doom Metal

[82/100]   

Aural Music
06/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lovers of doom metal who also like melody and diversity, should know that the debut of Mesmur is a must: 52 minutes of refined and dark music coming from the depths of the underworld, crossed with fine melodies, spread over 5 songs: this is the debut album by this US band.

The Deprivation opens with a heavy riff. Immediately you notice that this band puts multiple layers in its music. Under the heavy riff you hear synths and atmospheric sounds that flow together with a fine guitar. The guitar sounds almost medieval, an almost progressive approach, but doom metal nonetheless.

The second track Lapse combines the various ingredients of the first song. After a brief interlude of a monotone synth sound that evokes an atmosphere of chilly plains, we return to purgatory.

Abnegate begins with a dissonant sounding piano and has a gothic feel. Then the guitars are doing the theme of the piano piece, 13 minutes long. The song uses the double bass drums frequently, which fits in well, I just think the sound could be better. For the rest there is nothing wrong with the production of this album.

Descend is the shortest song and has some nice drum. Osmosis begins almost ambient-like. Imagine yourself in an underwater world. A very beautiful song which goes up and down. Now and then they go back to the atmosphere of the intro. Halfway the song a piano jumps in, a harpsichord sounding synth and a violin. A beautiful piece of work to finish.

Musically this is, in my opinion anyway, one of the strongest debut albums in this genre: a lot of variety, atmosphere and a good piece of work by a band that is trying to avoid the clichés.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


NL

Voor de liefhebbers van doom metal die tevens melodie en verscheidenheid in de muziek appreciëren, is het debuut van Mesmur een must: 52 minuten geraffineerde, zwartgallige muziek die uit de krochten van de onderwereld komen en doorkruist zijn met fijne melodieën verdeeld over 5 songs: dat is het debuutalbum van deze Amerikaanse band.

The Deprivation is het openingsnummer. Al van bij het begin wordt de toon gezet. Een zware riff opent het nummer. Meteen merk je ook dat dit gezelschap meerdere lagen in zijn muziek legt. Onder de zware riff hoor je synths en sfeervolle geluiden die samenvloeien met een fijne gitaarsneer. Dan gaat de song over in een bijna middeleeuws gitaargetokkel om dan met het gezang alles open te trekken. Een haast progressieve aanpak, maar wel in een doom metaljasje dus.

Lapse gaat een versnelling hoger, maar blijft netjes de verschillende ingrediënten combineren vazn het eerste nummer. Halfweg het nummer valt alles stil. Na een kort intermezzo van een monotoon synthgeluid dat de sfeer van kille vlaktes oproept, keren we terug naar het vagevuur.

Abnegate begint met een dissonant klinkende piano en heeft wat gotisch. Daarna komen de gitaren aan bod die het thema van het pianostuk voor een stuk hernemen om pas na bijna 13 minuten af te sluiten. Er wordt in de song veelvuldig gebruik gemaakt van de dubbele basdrums, dat past daar goed bij, alleen vind ik de klank ervan minder. Het klinkt net als een kartonnen doos. Voor de rest is er niets mis met de productie van dit album.

Descend is de kortste song en heeft een aantal leuke drumpartijen. Osmosis begint haast ambient-achtig. Je waant je in een onderwaterwereld: een heel mooi nummer dat wat op en neer gaat. Nu en dan keren ze bijna terug naar de beginsfeer van de intro. Halfweg zorgt een piano, een klavecimbel- klinkende synth met een viool, voor een mooie break vooraleer de tweede helft van start gaat. Een mooie werkstukje als afsluiter.

Muzikaal is dit, naar mijn mening toch, een van de sterkere debuutalbums in dit genre: veel afwisseling, sfeer en een goede productie van een band die probeert de platgetreden paden te vermijden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still