tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2014 : MESMUR - Mesmur

MESMUR

Mesmur

MusicCD
Doom Metal

[82/100]   

Aural Music
06/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lovers of doom metal who also like melody and diversity, should know that the debut of Mesmur is a must: 52 minutes of refined and dark music coming from the depths of the underworld, crossed with fine melodies, spread over 5 songs: this is the debut album by this US band.

The Deprivation opens with a heavy riff. Immediately you notice that this band puts multiple layers in its music. Under the heavy riff you hear synths and atmospheric sounds that flow together with a fine guitar. The guitar sounds almost medieval, an almost progressive approach, but doom metal nonetheless.

The second track Lapse combines the various ingredients of the first song. After a brief interlude of a monotone synth sound that evokes an atmosphere of chilly plains, we return to purgatory.

Abnegate begins with a dissonant sounding piano and has a gothic feel. Then the guitars are doing the theme of the piano piece, 13 minutes long. The song uses the double bass drums frequently, which fits in well, I just think the sound could be better. For the rest there is nothing wrong with the production of this album.

Descend is the shortest song and has some nice drum. Osmosis begins almost ambient-like. Imagine yourself in an underwater world. A very beautiful song which goes up and down. Now and then they go back to the atmosphere of the intro. Halfway the song a piano jumps in, a harpsichord sounding synth and a violin. A beautiful piece of work to finish.

Musically this is, in my opinion anyway, one of the strongest debut albums in this genre: a lot of variety, atmosphere and a good piece of work by a band that is trying to avoid the clichés.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


NL

Voor de liefhebbers van doom metal die tevens melodie en verscheidenheid in de muziek appreciëren, is het debuut van Mesmur een must: 52 minuten geraffineerde, zwartgallige muziek die uit de krochten van de onderwereld komen en doorkruist zijn met fijne melodieën verdeeld over 5 songs: dat is het debuutalbum van deze Amerikaanse band.

The Deprivation is het openingsnummer. Al van bij het begin wordt de toon gezet. Een zware riff opent het nummer. Meteen merk je ook dat dit gezelschap meerdere lagen in zijn muziek legt. Onder de zware riff hoor je synths en sfeervolle geluiden die samenvloeien met een fijne gitaarsneer. Dan gaat de song over in een bijna middeleeuws gitaargetokkel om dan met het gezang alles open te trekken. Een haast progressieve aanpak, maar wel in een doom metaljasje dus.

Lapse gaat een versnelling hoger, maar blijft netjes de verschillende ingrediënten combineren vazn het eerste nummer. Halfweg het nummer valt alles stil. Na een kort intermezzo van een monotoon synthgeluid dat de sfeer van kille vlaktes oproept, keren we terug naar het vagevuur.

Abnegate begint met een dissonant klinkende piano en heeft wat gotisch. Daarna komen de gitaren aan bod die het thema van het pianostuk voor een stuk hernemen om pas na bijna 13 minuten af te sluiten. Er wordt in de song veelvuldig gebruik gemaakt van de dubbele basdrums, dat past daar goed bij, alleen vind ik de klank ervan minder. Het klinkt net als een kartonnen doos. Voor de rest is er niets mis met de productie van dit album.

Descend is de kortste song en heeft een aantal leuke drumpartijen. Osmosis begint haast ambient-achtig. Je waant je in een onderwaterwereld: een heel mooi nummer dat wat op en neer gaat. Nu en dan keren ze bijna terug naar de beginsfeer van de intro. Halfweg zorgt een piano, een klavecimbel- klinkende synth met een viool, voor een mooie break vooraleer de tweede helft van start gaat. Een mooie werkstukje als afsluiter.

Muzikaal is dit, naar mijn mening toch, een van de sterkere debuutalbums in dit genre: veel afwisseling, sfeer en een goede productie van een band die probeert de platgetreden paden te vermijden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu