tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2014 : MESMUR - Mesmur

MESMUR

Mesmur

MusicCD
Doom Metal

[82/100]   

Aural Music
06/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lovers of doom metal who also like melody and diversity, should know that the debut of Mesmur is a must: 52 minutes of refined and dark music coming from the depths of the underworld, crossed with fine melodies, spread over 5 songs: this is the debut album by this US band.

The Deprivation opens with a heavy riff. Immediately you notice that this band puts multiple layers in its music. Under the heavy riff you hear synths and atmospheric sounds that flow together with a fine guitar. The guitar sounds almost medieval, an almost progressive approach, but doom metal nonetheless.

The second track Lapse combines the various ingredients of the first song. After a brief interlude of a monotone synth sound that evokes an atmosphere of chilly plains, we return to purgatory.

Abnegate begins with a dissonant sounding piano and has a gothic feel. Then the guitars are doing the theme of the piano piece, 13 minutes long. The song uses the double bass drums frequently, which fits in well, I just think the sound could be better. For the rest there is nothing wrong with the production of this album.

Descend is the shortest song and has some nice drum. Osmosis begins almost ambient-like. Imagine yourself in an underwater world. A very beautiful song which goes up and down. Now and then they go back to the atmosphere of the intro. Halfway the song a piano jumps in, a harpsichord sounding synth and a violin. A beautiful piece of work to finish.

Musically this is, in my opinion anyway, one of the strongest debut albums in this genre: a lot of variety, atmosphere and a good piece of work by a band that is trying to avoid the clichés.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


NL

Voor de liefhebbers van doom metal die tevens melodie en verscheidenheid in de muziek appreciëren, is het debuut van Mesmur een must: 52 minuten geraffineerde, zwartgallige muziek die uit de krochten van de onderwereld komen en doorkruist zijn met fijne melodieën verdeeld over 5 songs: dat is het debuutalbum van deze Amerikaanse band.

The Deprivation is het openingsnummer. Al van bij het begin wordt de toon gezet. Een zware riff opent het nummer. Meteen merk je ook dat dit gezelschap meerdere lagen in zijn muziek legt. Onder de zware riff hoor je synths en sfeervolle geluiden die samenvloeien met een fijne gitaarsneer. Dan gaat de song over in een bijna middeleeuws gitaargetokkel om dan met het gezang alles open te trekken. Een haast progressieve aanpak, maar wel in een doom metaljasje dus.

Lapse gaat een versnelling hoger, maar blijft netjes de verschillende ingrediënten combineren vazn het eerste nummer. Halfweg het nummer valt alles stil. Na een kort intermezzo van een monotoon synthgeluid dat de sfeer van kille vlaktes oproept, keren we terug naar het vagevuur.

Abnegate begint met een dissonant klinkende piano en heeft wat gotisch. Daarna komen de gitaren aan bod die het thema van het pianostuk voor een stuk hernemen om pas na bijna 13 minuten af te sluiten. Er wordt in de song veelvuldig gebruik gemaakt van de dubbele basdrums, dat past daar goed bij, alleen vind ik de klank ervan minder. Het klinkt net als een kartonnen doos. Voor de rest is er niets mis met de productie van dit album.

Descend is de kortste song en heeft een aantal leuke drumpartijen. Osmosis begint haast ambient-achtig. Je waant je in een onderwaterwereld: een heel mooi nummer dat wat op en neer gaat. Nu en dan keren ze bijna terug naar de beginsfeer van de intro. Halfweg zorgt een piano, een klavecimbel- klinkende synth met een viool, voor een mooie break vooraleer de tweede helft van start gaat. Een mooie werkstukje als afsluiter.

Muzikaal is dit, naar mijn mening toch, een van de sterkere debuutalbums in dit genre: veel afwisseling, sfeer en een goede productie van een band die probeert de platgetreden paden te vermijden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/12/2014


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo