tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce

MICHAEL CURTIZ

Mildred Pierce

MovieMovie classics
Film Noir

[85/100]   

Warner Home Video
10/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Many readers will of course think that we are talking about the highly acclaimed HBO series starring Kate Winslet when mentioning Mildred Pierce. Although a brilliant series, just like everything else that Ms. Winslet did, we want to draw your attention to the film noir version of 1945. Meanwhile, we can’t imagine this classic without the icy, anxious look of Joan Crawford. And yet, if it depended on director Michael Curtiz, Grawford would never have played the lead role. You might think that a director, who had made Casablanca (a film that is considered by many critics as the best) two years before, would have carte blanche from the studio, but that was (thankfully) not the case.

For the film adaptation of James M. Cain's book, Curtiz preferred Bette Davis, but she refused. The director was saddled up with Joan Crawford, one of the few actresses who survived the silent movies. He tried in vain to get Barbara Stanwyck or even Olivia de Havilland, but in vain: Warner Bros. already decided that Crawford, who came from MGM, would perform Mildred Pierce. In lots of biographies you can read that the two never were the perfect working couple, but you won’t notice that on the big screen. At the contrary, Curtiz got everything out of Crawford, who plays a tormented woman who has to conquer the miseries of life, and particularly the deeds of her monstrous, materialistic daughter Veda (Ann Blyth, who got a well-deserved Oscar nomination, but later was known for her roles in musicals).

Some claimed however that Curtiz had not given the novel the treatment it was entitled to, as many elements were skipped in the screenplay. Nevertheless, Mildred Pierce is an indestructible film noir. thanks to both its brilliant photography (by Ernest Halle,r who was also involved in Gone With The Wind) and its fine performances An absolute must see! Casablanca might be seen as the best Curtiz film, for those who pledge their heart to Mildred Pierce, that feeling may change.

Didier BECU
10/03/2015


NL

Heel wat lezers zullen natuurlijk aan de HBO-reeks met Kate Winslet denken als we het over Mildred Pierce hebben. Weliswaar een schitterende reeks, net zoals alles wat mevrouw Winslet doet, maar wij hebben het deze keer toch graag eventjes over de film noir uit 1945. Ondertussen kunnen we ons deze klassieker niet voorstellen zonder de ijzige, angstige blik van Joan Crawford. En toch, mocht het van regisseur Michael Curtiz hebben afgehangen, dan zou zij nooit de hoofdrol hebben gekregen. Je zou misschien vermoeden dat een regisseur, die twee jaar eerder Casablanca draaide (een film die toch door heel wat critici als de allerbeste wordt beschouwd), carte blanche zou krijgen van de studio, maar dat was (gelukkig) niet zo.

Voor de verfilming van James M. Cains boek had Curtiz het liefst Bette Davis in de hoofdrol gezien, maar zij weigerde. De regisseur zat met Joan Crawford (één van de weinige actrices die de stap van de stomme naar de geluidsfilm had overleefd) opgescheept. Hij probeerde tevergeefs om Barbara Stanwyck of zelfs Olivia de Havilland te strikken, maar tevergeefs: Warner Bros. had al lang besloten dat Crawford, die van MGM kwam, Mildred Pierce zou vertolken. In allerlei biografieën kun je lezen dat het tussen de twee niet boterde, toch merk je dat geen seconde op het witte doek. Integendeel, Curtiz haalt alles uit Crawford, die als getormenteerde vrouw moet opboksen tegen alle ellende van het leven en vooral tegen haar monsterachtige, materialistische dochter Veda (Ann Blyth, die hiervoor een welverdiende Oscarnominatie kreeg, maar nadien vooral bekend raakte door haar rollen in musicals).

Men beweerde wel dat Curtiz de roman niet de bewerking had gegeven waarop hij recht had (heel wat elementen zijn in het filmscenario gesneuveld), desalniettemin is Mildred Pierce door zowel de briljante fotografie (Ernest Haller die ook betrokken was bij Gone With The Wind) en de prima vertolkingen een onverwoestbare film noir geworden. Een absolute must see! Soms wordt gemakshalve beweerd dat Casablanca de beste Curtiz-film is, wie zijn hart heeft verpand aan Mildred Pierce, zou evenwel vlug van mening kunnen veranderen.

Didier BECU
10/03/2015


10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce 10/03/2015 : MICHAEL CURTIZ - Mildred Pierce

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)