tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/11/2012 : VICIOUS PINK - Vicious Pink

VICIOUS PINK

Vicious Pink

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
25/11/2012, Chris KONINGS

Aaah Cherry Red again celebrates the good old 80's wave like they have been doing for the past few years now. The last album I reviewed was one by Sad Lovers And Giants, now I can put my teeth in another synthpop legend. But Vicious Pink were never a real legend, they achieved a cult status thanks to a marvellous mix of "8:15 To Nowhere". They started as backing vocalists for Soft Cell but soon released two singles under their first guise, The Vicious Pink Phenomena. After getting a record deal, they changed their name and released their first and only album in 1986. After that they disappeared from the music scene, however Brian Moss also had a short career with electrorockers Drug Free America.

Here you get the album plus a whole bunch of DJ versions of their biggest hit; "CCCan't You See". It starts with that song and most people that grew up in the 80's will feel right at home. "The Spaceship Is Over There" is a very funky and bubbly song, predating triphop by a number of years. I love Josie Warden's steaming hot and seductive, almost african like voice, it fits well with the luscious percussion. Especially the Extended mix emphasises on those warm and bubbly disco sounds, with subtle effects on her voice and rich percussions, effects and guitars.

The French mix is also loads of fun, the french lyrics add to the warm character. Ebm-like beats and colder effects you can find in the 7" version. The 7" DJ Master mix is a bit weird, the vocals are only on one side of the stereo effect, I guess it's useful for some DJ trickery... And that's the great thing of this album, it's great for DJ's, no less then five remixes and "Blue - Love mix" is actually also a cut down version of CCCan't You See. The only song I have some problems with is "Fetish", I can't really see Josie as a dominatrix...

No album you'll constantly play with that remix overload, but amazing stuff for DJ's. Anyway, VP made a few wonderful songs, too bad they did not add a few cool mixes of "8:15". I mean, "Great Balls Of Fire"??? Yikes!

Cherry Red

Chris KONINGS
25/11/2012


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu