tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/11/2012 : VICIOUS PINK - Vicious Pink

VICIOUS PINK

Vicious Pink

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
25/11/2012, Chris KONINGS

Aaah Cherry Red again celebrates the good old 80's wave like they have been doing for the past few years now. The last album I reviewed was one by Sad Lovers And Giants, now I can put my teeth in another synthpop legend. But Vicious Pink were never a real legend, they achieved a cult status thanks to a marvellous mix of "8:15 To Nowhere". They started as backing vocalists for Soft Cell but soon released two singles under their first guise, The Vicious Pink Phenomena. After getting a record deal, they changed their name and released their first and only album in 1986. After that they disappeared from the music scene, however Brian Moss also had a short career with electrorockers Drug Free America.

Here you get the album plus a whole bunch of DJ versions of their biggest hit; "CCCan't You See". It starts with that song and most people that grew up in the 80's will feel right at home. "The Spaceship Is Over There" is a very funky and bubbly song, predating triphop by a number of years. I love Josie Warden's steaming hot and seductive, almost african like voice, it fits well with the luscious percussion. Especially the Extended mix emphasises on those warm and bubbly disco sounds, with subtle effects on her voice and rich percussions, effects and guitars.

The French mix is also loads of fun, the french lyrics add to the warm character. Ebm-like beats and colder effects you can find in the 7" version. The 7" DJ Master mix is a bit weird, the vocals are only on one side of the stereo effect, I guess it's useful for some DJ trickery... And that's the great thing of this album, it's great for DJ's, no less then five remixes and "Blue - Love mix" is actually also a cut down version of CCCan't You See. The only song I have some problems with is "Fetish", I can't really see Josie as a dominatrix...

No album you'll constantly play with that remix overload, but amazing stuff for DJ's. Anyway, VP made a few wonderful songs, too bad they did not add a few cool mixes of "8:15". I mean, "Great Balls Of Fire"??? Yikes!

Cherry Red

Chris KONINGS
25/11/2012


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start