tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes

JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA

La confrérie des larmes

Movie
Crime

[63/100]   

Filmfreaks
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the Benelux we probably will always remember Jérémie Renier from his roles in those excellent Dardenne-movies. The icecold crook who sold his own child (L’enfant) will be forever in our brains. In France he’s on his way to make it as a superstar, just like that other Belgian: Benoit Poelvoorde. That’s of course a dangerous thing. Just look at the recent filmography from Poelvoorde and you know what we mean! So far Renier only played in decent movies, and that’s probably due to his gangster’s face. The cherry on the cake was of course Cloclo, the Claude François-biography.


In his newest movie La Confrérie Des Larmes you won’t find much glam though. In this macabre thriller from Jean-Baptiste Andrea (a Frenchman who made with Dead End his debut in America), Renier plays a cop who lost it all. Gabriel Chevalier loves to gamble, likes the booze, but most of all he has to take care of his revolting teenage daughter Juliette (Mélusine Mayance). When everything seems hopeless, he gets unexpected the job of his life. He has to deliver worldwide black briefcases and earns a lot of money with that. The sole condition is that he never may open these as the content has to remain a secret.


Of course we won’t spoil the pleasure by giving the plot away. All we can say about it, is that it’s a surprising one, but also totally unbelievable. But good, this is cinema and in movies everything’s possible. It just takes a while before the audience get sucked into the story and that’s due to the slow directing that could be better. But there’s of course the outstanding Jérémie Renier who saves this French picture from mediocrity.


La Confrérie Des Larmes is an unusual thriller with some acts of suspense and great acting. The movie is out on Filmfreaks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


NL

In de Lage Landen zullen we Jérémie Renier wellicht voor altijd als de karakterkop uit de excellente Dardenne-films herinneren. De snoodaard die zonder omzien zijn eigen kind verkoopt (L’enfant) staat immers voor altijd in ons geheugen gegrift. In Frankrijk is hij evenwel, net als onze landgenoot Benoit Poelvoorde, aardig op weg om een superster te worden. Daarin schuilt natuurlijk ook een gevaar. Kijk gewoon eens naar Poelvoordes filmografie en je weet wat we daarmee bedoelen. Renier heeft, wellicht dankzij zijn boeventronie, tot nu toe in leuke films gespeeld met natuurlijk voorop Cloclo, de Claude François-biografie.


In zijn nieuwste prent La Confrérie Des Larmes valt er heel wat minder glamour te bespeuren. In deze macabere thriller van Jean-Baptiste Andrea (een Fransman die met Dead End meteen zijn debuut in Amerika mocht maken) speelt Renier de aan lager wal geraakte politieman Gabriel Chevalier. Hij houdt van gokken, zit regelmatig aan de fles, maar als weduwnaar moet hij vooral voor zijn opstandige tienerdochter Juliette (Mélusine Mayance) zorgen. Als alles er hopeloos uitziet, krijgt hij plots de job van zijn leven. Hij moet overal in de wereld aktetassen afleveren en wordt er nog dik voor betaald! Het enige wat hij niet mag doen is zo’n koffertje openen, de inhoud blijft immers voor altijd geheim.


Uiteraard gaan we de plot niet verklappen. Wel kunnen we je vertellen dat die tegelijkertijd verrassend, maar helaas ook totaal ongeloofwaardig is. Maar goed, het is en blijft cinema en in deze wereld is nu eenmaal alles mogelijk. Wel duurt het een tijdje vooraleer de kijker volledig in de ban is van het verhaal, en dat komt vooral door de trage regie die toch wat beter kon. Gelukkig staat daar opnieuw een schitterende Jérémie Renier tegenover die deze Franse prent van de middelmaat redt.


La Confrérie Des Larmes is een ongewone thriller met een paar suspenserijke scènes. De film is zowel op dvd als Blu-ray beschikbaar.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes

Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery