tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes

JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA

La confrérie des larmes

Movie
Crime

[63/100]   

Filmfreaks
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the Benelux we probably will always remember Jérémie Renier from his roles in those excellent Dardenne-movies. The icecold crook who sold his own child (L’enfant) will be forever in our brains. In France he’s on his way to make it as a superstar, just like that other Belgian: Benoit Poelvoorde. That’s of course a dangerous thing. Just look at the recent filmography from Poelvoorde and you know what we mean! So far Renier only played in decent movies, and that’s probably due to his gangster’s face. The cherry on the cake was of course Cloclo, the Claude François-biography.


In his newest movie La Confrérie Des Larmes you won’t find much glam though. In this macabre thriller from Jean-Baptiste Andrea (a Frenchman who made with Dead End his debut in America), Renier plays a cop who lost it all. Gabriel Chevalier loves to gamble, likes the booze, but most of all he has to take care of his revolting teenage daughter Juliette (Mélusine Mayance). When everything seems hopeless, he gets unexpected the job of his life. He has to deliver worldwide black briefcases and earns a lot of money with that. The sole condition is that he never may open these as the content has to remain a secret.


Of course we won’t spoil the pleasure by giving the plot away. All we can say about it, is that it’s a surprising one, but also totally unbelievable. But good, this is cinema and in movies everything’s possible. It just takes a while before the audience get sucked into the story and that’s due to the slow directing that could be better. But there’s of course the outstanding Jérémie Renier who saves this French picture from mediocrity.


La Confrérie Des Larmes is an unusual thriller with some acts of suspense and great acting. The movie is out on Filmfreaks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


NL

In de Lage Landen zullen we Jérémie Renier wellicht voor altijd als de karakterkop uit de excellente Dardenne-films herinneren. De snoodaard die zonder omzien zijn eigen kind verkoopt (L’enfant) staat immers voor altijd in ons geheugen gegrift. In Frankrijk is hij evenwel, net als onze landgenoot Benoit Poelvoorde, aardig op weg om een superster te worden. Daarin schuilt natuurlijk ook een gevaar. Kijk gewoon eens naar Poelvoordes filmografie en je weet wat we daarmee bedoelen. Renier heeft, wellicht dankzij zijn boeventronie, tot nu toe in leuke films gespeeld met natuurlijk voorop Cloclo, de Claude François-biografie.


In zijn nieuwste prent La Confrérie Des Larmes valt er heel wat minder glamour te bespeuren. In deze macabere thriller van Jean-Baptiste Andrea (een Fransman die met Dead End meteen zijn debuut in Amerika mocht maken) speelt Renier de aan lager wal geraakte politieman Gabriel Chevalier. Hij houdt van gokken, zit regelmatig aan de fles, maar als weduwnaar moet hij vooral voor zijn opstandige tienerdochter Juliette (Mélusine Mayance) zorgen. Als alles er hopeloos uitziet, krijgt hij plots de job van zijn leven. Hij moet overal in de wereld aktetassen afleveren en wordt er nog dik voor betaald! Het enige wat hij niet mag doen is zo’n koffertje openen, de inhoud blijft immers voor altijd geheim.


Uiteraard gaan we de plot niet verklappen. Wel kunnen we je vertellen dat die tegelijkertijd verrassend, maar helaas ook totaal ongeloofwaardig is. Maar goed, het is en blijft cinema en in deze wereld is nu eenmaal alles mogelijk. Wel duurt het een tijdje vooraleer de kijker volledig in de ban is van het verhaal, en dat komt vooral door de trage regie die toch wat beter kon. Gelukkig staat daar opnieuw een schitterende Jérémie Renier tegenover die deze Franse prent van de middelmaat redt.


La Confrérie Des Larmes is een ongewone thriller met een paar suspenserijke scènes. De film is zowel op dvd als Blu-ray beschikbaar.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth