tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes

JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA

La confrérie des larmes

Movie
Crime

[63/100]   

Filmfreaks
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the Benelux we probably will always remember Jérémie Renier from his roles in those excellent Dardenne-movies. The icecold crook who sold his own child (L’enfant) will be forever in our brains. In France he’s on his way to make it as a superstar, just like that other Belgian: Benoit Poelvoorde. That’s of course a dangerous thing. Just look at the recent filmography from Poelvoorde and you know what we mean! So far Renier only played in decent movies, and that’s probably due to his gangster’s face. The cherry on the cake was of course Cloclo, the Claude François-biography.


In his newest movie La Confrérie Des Larmes you won’t find much glam though. In this macabre thriller from Jean-Baptiste Andrea (a Frenchman who made with Dead End his debut in America), Renier plays a cop who lost it all. Gabriel Chevalier loves to gamble, likes the booze, but most of all he has to take care of his revolting teenage daughter Juliette (Mélusine Mayance). When everything seems hopeless, he gets unexpected the job of his life. He has to deliver worldwide black briefcases and earns a lot of money with that. The sole condition is that he never may open these as the content has to remain a secret.


Of course we won’t spoil the pleasure by giving the plot away. All we can say about it, is that it’s a surprising one, but also totally unbelievable. But good, this is cinema and in movies everything’s possible. It just takes a while before the audience get sucked into the story and that’s due to the slow directing that could be better. But there’s of course the outstanding Jérémie Renier who saves this French picture from mediocrity.


La Confrérie Des Larmes is an unusual thriller with some acts of suspense and great acting. The movie is out on Filmfreaks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


NL

In de Lage Landen zullen we Jérémie Renier wellicht voor altijd als de karakterkop uit de excellente Dardenne-films herinneren. De snoodaard die zonder omzien zijn eigen kind verkoopt (L’enfant) staat immers voor altijd in ons geheugen gegrift. In Frankrijk is hij evenwel, net als onze landgenoot Benoit Poelvoorde, aardig op weg om een superster te worden. Daarin schuilt natuurlijk ook een gevaar. Kijk gewoon eens naar Poelvoordes filmografie en je weet wat we daarmee bedoelen. Renier heeft, wellicht dankzij zijn boeventronie, tot nu toe in leuke films gespeeld met natuurlijk voorop Cloclo, de Claude François-biografie.


In zijn nieuwste prent La Confrérie Des Larmes valt er heel wat minder glamour te bespeuren. In deze macabere thriller van Jean-Baptiste Andrea (een Fransman die met Dead End meteen zijn debuut in Amerika mocht maken) speelt Renier de aan lager wal geraakte politieman Gabriel Chevalier. Hij houdt van gokken, zit regelmatig aan de fles, maar als weduwnaar moet hij vooral voor zijn opstandige tienerdochter Juliette (Mélusine Mayance) zorgen. Als alles er hopeloos uitziet, krijgt hij plots de job van zijn leven. Hij moet overal in de wereld aktetassen afleveren en wordt er nog dik voor betaald! Het enige wat hij niet mag doen is zo’n koffertje openen, de inhoud blijft immers voor altijd geheim.


Uiteraard gaan we de plot niet verklappen. Wel kunnen we je vertellen dat die tegelijkertijd verrassend, maar helaas ook totaal ongeloofwaardig is. Maar goed, het is en blijft cinema en in deze wereld is nu eenmaal alles mogelijk. Wel duurt het een tijdje vooraleer de kijker volledig in de ban is van het verhaal, en dat komt vooral door de trage regie die toch wat beter kon. Gelukkig staat daar opnieuw een schitterende Jérémie Renier tegenover die deze Franse prent van de middelmaat redt.


La Confrérie Des Larmes is een ongewone thriller met een paar suspenserijke scènes. De film is zowel op dvd als Blu-ray beschikbaar.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes 12/03/2014 : JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA - La confrérie des larmes

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline