tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire

CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN

En solitaire

Movie
Drama

[70/100]   

Belga Films
11/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A man alone in a boat. Haven't we seen this already in last year's magnificent All Is Lost by Robert Redford? We did, but En Solitaire is different though. Some claim that this is a so- called feelgoodmovie (something you can't say about Redford's tour de force!) and so we also know what to expect. And there's more, as this is a French movie, and since Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (and in a lesser way the overrated Intouchables), we all know that they can make such movies like no one else!

The movie is about the Vendée Globe, a prestigious contest in where people have to sail around the world. There's one condition though: they have to do everything by themselves (including the reparations) and most of all they must be alone on board. Due to pure luck Yann Karmedec (François Cluzet, yes him from Intouchables!) can participate. There's even more, he seems to be the first to reach the finish. A dream that got splattered when young Mano Ixa (Samy Seghir) climbs unnoticed on board. Mano dreams of becoming a professional football player and he wants to reach France. What will Yann do now his own dream comes in danger?

En Solitaire is a light movie that stands on the excellent performance from Cluzet and the breathtaking images that are taken all around the world. If you dig some pages about sailing (we do that too!) you can read that some things are quite impossible, but as we know nothing about boats, we better stick to the cinematographic aspect. Offenstein never digs deep into his characters. For example we know nothing about the background from the young Mano. His message is clear (and naïve): hold on to your dreams and you'll get what you want. No need to tell that the finale is quite mellow, but if you close your eyes for this then En Solitaire is a good alibi for an entertaining film evening. Even if we recommend you to put All Is Lost on top of your pile.

En Solitaire is out on Belga Films, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/03/2014


NL

Een man alleen in een bootje. Hebben we dat verleden jaar al niet eens eerder in de fantastische tour de force van Robert Redford die All Is Lost is gezien? Ja dus, alleen is dit debuut van Christophe Offenstein iets geheel anders. Critici durven al eens het gevreesde woord feelgoodfilm in de mond te nemen, waarmee je meteen ook weet uit welk vaatje deze prent tapt. Gelukkig gaat het om een Franse productie, want sinds Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (en in veel mindere mate de overgewaardeerde Intouchables), weten we dat de Fransen daar een patent op hebben.


Het gehele verhaal draait om de Vendée Globe, een prestigieuze zeilwedstrijd. De deelnemers moeten een zeiltocht rond de wereld maken. De grote voorwaarde is wel dat zij alles zelf doen (inclusief herstellingen) en vooral dat zij alleen aan boord zijn. Een van de deelnemers is Yann Karmedec (François Cluzet, jawel uit Intouchables!). Yann kan door een stom toeval deelnemen aan deze wedstrijd. Meer zelfs, alles ziet er naar uit dat hij als eerste de eindmeet zal halen. Een jonge Mauritaniër Mano Ixa (Samy Seghir) gooit echter roet in het eten. Zonder dat Yann het weet, klimt hij aan boord. De jonge verstekeling droomt ervan om profvoetballer te worden en wil naar Frankrijk. Mooie dromen, maar daarmee komt wel die van Yann in het gedrang, hij is immers niet meer alleen en kan dus worden gediskwalificeerd.


En Solitaire is een zeer lichte film die vooral wordt rechtgehouden door de excellente vertolking van Cluzet en de vele adembenemende natuuropnames. Als je bepaalde commentaren op zeilpagina's raadpleegt (dat doen wij dus ook!), kan je tussen de regels lezen dat het allemaal iets te gemakkelijk is om waar te zijn. Maar goed, wij kunnen amper een roeibootje onder controle houden, dus houden we het maar op het cinematografische aspect.


Offenstein diept zijn karakters niet uit, zo komen we bijna niets te weten over de achtergrond van de verstekeling. Offensteins boodschap is duidelijk (en ook naïef): hou vast aan je dromen en je komt er wel. Het slot is dan ook niet gespaard gebleven van een hoge dosis meligheid, maar als je dat met de mantel der liefde kan bedekken is En Solitaire al bij al een leuk alibi voor een onschuldige filmavond. Ook al leg je All Is Lost maar beter bovenaan de stapel.


En Solitaire is nu uit op Belga Films, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/03/2014


11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger