tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire

CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN

En solitaire

Movie
Drama

[70/100]   

Belga Films
11/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A man alone in a boat. Haven't we seen this already in last year's magnificent All Is Lost by Robert Redford? We did, but En Solitaire is different though. Some claim that this is a so- called feelgoodmovie (something you can't say about Redford's tour de force!) and so we also know what to expect. And there's more, as this is a French movie, and since Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (and in a lesser way the overrated Intouchables), we all know that they can make such movies like no one else!

The movie is about the Vendée Globe, a prestigious contest in where people have to sail around the world. There's one condition though: they have to do everything by themselves (including the reparations) and most of all they must be alone on board. Due to pure luck Yann Karmedec (François Cluzet, yes him from Intouchables!) can participate. There's even more, he seems to be the first to reach the finish. A dream that got splattered when young Mano Ixa (Samy Seghir) climbs unnoticed on board. Mano dreams of becoming a professional football player and he wants to reach France. What will Yann do now his own dream comes in danger?

En Solitaire is a light movie that stands on the excellent performance from Cluzet and the breathtaking images that are taken all around the world. If you dig some pages about sailing (we do that too!) you can read that some things are quite impossible, but as we know nothing about boats, we better stick to the cinematographic aspect. Offenstein never digs deep into his characters. For example we know nothing about the background from the young Mano. His message is clear (and naïve): hold on to your dreams and you'll get what you want. No need to tell that the finale is quite mellow, but if you close your eyes for this then En Solitaire is a good alibi for an entertaining film evening. Even if we recommend you to put All Is Lost on top of your pile.

En Solitaire is out on Belga Films, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/03/2014


NL

Een man alleen in een bootje. Hebben we dat verleden jaar al niet eens eerder in de fantastische tour de force van Robert Redford die All Is Lost is gezien? Ja dus, alleen is dit debuut van Christophe Offenstein iets geheel anders. Critici durven al eens het gevreesde woord feelgoodfilm in de mond te nemen, waarmee je meteen ook weet uit welk vaatje deze prent tapt. Gelukkig gaat het om een Franse productie, want sinds Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (en in veel mindere mate de overgewaardeerde Intouchables), weten we dat de Fransen daar een patent op hebben.


Het gehele verhaal draait om de Vendée Globe, een prestigieuze zeilwedstrijd. De deelnemers moeten een zeiltocht rond de wereld maken. De grote voorwaarde is wel dat zij alles zelf doen (inclusief herstellingen) en vooral dat zij alleen aan boord zijn. Een van de deelnemers is Yann Karmedec (François Cluzet, jawel uit Intouchables!). Yann kan door een stom toeval deelnemen aan deze wedstrijd. Meer zelfs, alles ziet er naar uit dat hij als eerste de eindmeet zal halen. Een jonge Mauritaniër Mano Ixa (Samy Seghir) gooit echter roet in het eten. Zonder dat Yann het weet, klimt hij aan boord. De jonge verstekeling droomt ervan om profvoetballer te worden en wil naar Frankrijk. Mooie dromen, maar daarmee komt wel die van Yann in het gedrang, hij is immers niet meer alleen en kan dus worden gediskwalificeerd.


En Solitaire is een zeer lichte film die vooral wordt rechtgehouden door de excellente vertolking van Cluzet en de vele adembenemende natuuropnames. Als je bepaalde commentaren op zeilpagina's raadpleegt (dat doen wij dus ook!), kan je tussen de regels lezen dat het allemaal iets te gemakkelijk is om waar te zijn. Maar goed, wij kunnen amper een roeibootje onder controle houden, dus houden we het maar op het cinematografische aspect.


Offenstein diept zijn karakters niet uit, zo komen we bijna niets te weten over de achtergrond van de verstekeling. Offensteins boodschap is duidelijk (en ook naïef): hou vast aan je dromen en je komt er wel. Het slot is dan ook niet gespaard gebleven van een hoge dosis meligheid, maar als je dat met de mantel der liefde kan bedekken is En Solitaire al bij al een leuk alibi voor een onschuldige filmavond. Ook al leg je All Is Lost maar beter bovenaan de stapel.


En Solitaire is nu uit op Belga Films, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/03/2014


11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before