tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire

CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN

En solitaire

Movie
Drama

[70/100]   

Belga Films
11/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A man alone in a boat. Haven't we seen this already in last year's magnificent All Is Lost by Robert Redford? We did, but En Solitaire is different though. Some claim that this is a so- called feelgoodmovie (something you can't say about Redford's tour de force!) and so we also know what to expect. And there's more, as this is a French movie, and since Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (and in a lesser way the overrated Intouchables), we all know that they can make such movies like no one else!

The movie is about the Vendée Globe, a prestigious contest in where people have to sail around the world. There's one condition though: they have to do everything by themselves (including the reparations) and most of all they must be alone on board. Due to pure luck Yann Karmedec (François Cluzet, yes him from Intouchables!) can participate. There's even more, he seems to be the first to reach the finish. A dream that got splattered when young Mano Ixa (Samy Seghir) climbs unnoticed on board. Mano dreams of becoming a professional football player and he wants to reach France. What will Yann do now his own dream comes in danger?

En Solitaire is a light movie that stands on the excellent performance from Cluzet and the breathtaking images that are taken all around the world. If you dig some pages about sailing (we do that too!) you can read that some things are quite impossible, but as we know nothing about boats, we better stick to the cinematographic aspect. Offenstein never digs deep into his characters. For example we know nothing about the background from the young Mano. His message is clear (and naïve): hold on to your dreams and you'll get what you want. No need to tell that the finale is quite mellow, but if you close your eyes for this then En Solitaire is a good alibi for an entertaining film evening. Even if we recommend you to put All Is Lost on top of your pile.

En Solitaire is out on Belga Films, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/03/2014


NL

Een man alleen in een bootje. Hebben we dat verleden jaar al niet eens eerder in de fantastische tour de force van Robert Redford die All Is Lost is gezien? Ja dus, alleen is dit debuut van Christophe Offenstein iets geheel anders. Critici durven al eens het gevreesde woord feelgoodfilm in de mond te nemen, waarmee je meteen ook weet uit welk vaatje deze prent tapt. Gelukkig gaat het om een Franse productie, want sinds Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (en in veel mindere mate de overgewaardeerde Intouchables), weten we dat de Fransen daar een patent op hebben.


Het gehele verhaal draait om de Vendée Globe, een prestigieuze zeilwedstrijd. De deelnemers moeten een zeiltocht rond de wereld maken. De grote voorwaarde is wel dat zij alles zelf doen (inclusief herstellingen) en vooral dat zij alleen aan boord zijn. Een van de deelnemers is Yann Karmedec (François Cluzet, jawel uit Intouchables!). Yann kan door een stom toeval deelnemen aan deze wedstrijd. Meer zelfs, alles ziet er naar uit dat hij als eerste de eindmeet zal halen. Een jonge Mauritaniër Mano Ixa (Samy Seghir) gooit echter roet in het eten. Zonder dat Yann het weet, klimt hij aan boord. De jonge verstekeling droomt ervan om profvoetballer te worden en wil naar Frankrijk. Mooie dromen, maar daarmee komt wel die van Yann in het gedrang, hij is immers niet meer alleen en kan dus worden gediskwalificeerd.


En Solitaire is een zeer lichte film die vooral wordt rechtgehouden door de excellente vertolking van Cluzet en de vele adembenemende natuuropnames. Als je bepaalde commentaren op zeilpagina's raadpleegt (dat doen wij dus ook!), kan je tussen de regels lezen dat het allemaal iets te gemakkelijk is om waar te zijn. Maar goed, wij kunnen amper een roeibootje onder controle houden, dus houden we het maar op het cinematografische aspect.


Offenstein diept zijn karakters niet uit, zo komen we bijna niets te weten over de achtergrond van de verstekeling. Offensteins boodschap is duidelijk (en ook naïef): hou vast aan je dromen en je komt er wel. Het slot is dan ook niet gespaard gebleven van een hoge dosis meligheid, maar als je dat met de mantel der liefde kan bedekken is En Solitaire al bij al een leuk alibi voor een onschuldige filmavond. Ook al leg je All Is Lost maar beter bovenaan de stapel.


En Solitaire is nu uit op Belga Films, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/03/2014


11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire 11/03/2014 : CHRISTOPHE OFFENSTEIN - En solitaire

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)