tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

09/10/2018 : KAISER IMAGO - The Whisper Of Darkness

KAISER IMAGO

The Whisper Of Darkness

MusicCD (EP)
Industrial

[70/100]   
09/10/2018, Kevin BURKE

The industrial-goths debut EP ‘The Whisper Of The Darkness’ may have its roots in the past but it does signal the direction he is heading, here Kaiser Imago may not have hit the mark straight away, but he is definitely in the starting blocks ready to take flight.

The first track of the four “Black Fly” straight away hits you as one part early 90s Bono and one part New Order, fully unique in modern times and both interesting and listenable, nostalgia in overdrive strongly planted in the 80s with a 21st century twist.

This theme continues and runs into “Pushing Down” a subtle nod to the Depeche Mode, a very catchy beat whilst driving the song gives it a certain charm of nostalgia, yes, you may feel you heard it before which is done with such style that is wholly listenable. As the track “Spirits” takes off, a more upbeat theme than the two previous, the strong production adds to the collage of sound building to an infectious acoustic guitar sound subtly added to the mix.

The self-titled track “The Whisper Of The Darkness” is the strongest, the vocal is menacing against the soft melodies of synth, the blending here is superb and the dreamy lyrics twisting and turning over the space-age sound makes for a worthwhile four minutes. For a debut release it may not be original but it does hold an air of possibilities, with ingredients that can appeal and perhaps keep that flame burning for the fans of old-school in the 21st century.

Kevin BURKE
09/10/2018


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL