tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list

MAGGIE CAREY

The to do list

Movie
Comedy

[65/100]   

SONY SPHE
11/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it has something to do with our age, but retro-comedies are no longer limited to the 80’s, there are the 90’s too. Because yes, they also belong to a past that is very far away…. The To Do List is a vulgar (but enormously funny) teen comedy that is set in 1993. It was the age in where grungebands let us believe that hippies were the new thing, till Kurt Cobain blew himself a bullet through the head. But good, this new movie by Maggie Carey (no relation with you know who) is not about changing the world, but the discovery of sex.


Brandy Klark (Aubrey Plaza) is the nerd at school. The teenager gets the highest points, but for her classmates she’s nothing but the fave target of bully’s. Before she starts university, Aubrey has set up a to do list. The list contains all different sex acts she wants to explore before she’s turning 18. As we’re good educated we really don’t want to tell you what’s on the list, all we can reveal is that Brandy has a quite vivid fantasy. It’s certainly not easy to achieve the goals as not only she’s a virgin, Brandy is also extremely unpopular with the boys.


Let us be honest: these type of movies have their pro’s and con’s. We hardly dare to use the term film, but it’s certainly sure that this movie is extremely funny. The funniest element from this comedy is that it’s made from the point of view from a girl, cos admit it: in movies it are usually boys who are dreaming about how to lose their virginiality, not? Apart from that, there’s something wrong with the casting though. Aubrey Plaza is funny and plays her role well, but it’s a bit unusual to see a 29-year old woman performing a teenager from high school.


The To Do List is now out on DVD through Sony. And no, you don’t have to feel any shame as after all you watched Porky’s too, not?

Didier BECU
11/02/2014


NL

Het zal wel iets met onze ouderdom te maken hebben, maar anno 2014 worden er niet alleen retrokomedies over de jaren 80 gedraaid, maar ook over de jaren 90. Want tja, ook die behoren allang tot het verleden. The To Do List is een vulgaire (maar dolkomische) tienerkomedie die zich in 1993 afspeelt. Het tijdperk waarin grungegroepen tieners deden geloven dat het hippietijdperk volop terug was, tot op het moment dat Kurt Cobain een kogel door zijn hoofd joeg! Maar goed, deze film van Maggie Carey (bij ons weten geen familie van!) gaat niet over het geloof in een betere wereld, maar wel over seks.


Brandy Klark (Aubrey Plaza) is het sulletje van de middelbare school. De tiener behaalt wel de allerbeste punten, maar voor haar klasgenoten is zij gewoon een wereldvreemd meisje dat om de haverklap moet worden gepest. Alvorens zij naar de universiteit trekt wil Aubrey eerst een to-do-lijstje afwerken. De Himalaya beklimmen staat er niet in, wel is het een waslijst van allerlei vreemde standjes die Aubrey wil uitproberen. Wij zijn christelijk opgevoed, dus pennen wij deze variaties niet neer! Als maagd valt zo’n lijstje uitvoeren niet mee, zeker niet als je weinig populair bent bij de jongens.


Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen. Dat soort komedies zal altijd zijn voor- en zijn tegenstanders hebben. Zelf durven we nauwelijks de term film te gebruiken, wel staat het als een paal boven water dat The To Do List ontzettend grappig is. Leuk is ook dat deze sekskomedie gemaakt is vanuit het standpunt van een meisje. Wel is er iets grondig mis met de casting, want ook al is Aubrey Plaza best leuk om naar te kijken, is het allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend dat men een 29-jarige een 17-jarige tiener laat vertolken.


The To Do List is nu uit op dvd via Sony. En neen, u hoeft zich daar niet voor te schamen...per slot van rekening keek u ook ooit naar Porky's, niet waar? 

Didier BECU
11/02/2014


11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list

Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)