tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list

MAGGIE CAREY

The to do list

Movie
Comedy

[65/100]   

SONY SPHE
11/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it has something to do with our age, but retro-comedies are no longer limited to the 80’s, there are the 90’s too. Because yes, they also belong to a past that is very far away…. The To Do List is a vulgar (but enormously funny) teen comedy that is set in 1993. It was the age in where grungebands let us believe that hippies were the new thing, till Kurt Cobain blew himself a bullet through the head. But good, this new movie by Maggie Carey (no relation with you know who) is not about changing the world, but the discovery of sex.


Brandy Klark (Aubrey Plaza) is the nerd at school. The teenager gets the highest points, but for her classmates she’s nothing but the fave target of bully’s. Before she starts university, Aubrey has set up a to do list. The list contains all different sex acts she wants to explore before she’s turning 18. As we’re good educated we really don’t want to tell you what’s on the list, all we can reveal is that Brandy has a quite vivid fantasy. It’s certainly not easy to achieve the goals as not only she’s a virgin, Brandy is also extremely unpopular with the boys.


Let us be honest: these type of movies have their pro’s and con’s. We hardly dare to use the term film, but it’s certainly sure that this movie is extremely funny. The funniest element from this comedy is that it’s made from the point of view from a girl, cos admit it: in movies it are usually boys who are dreaming about how to lose their virginiality, not? Apart from that, there’s something wrong with the casting though. Aubrey Plaza is funny and plays her role well, but it’s a bit unusual to see a 29-year old woman performing a teenager from high school.


The To Do List is now out on DVD through Sony. And no, you don’t have to feel any shame as after all you watched Porky’s too, not?

Didier BECU
11/02/2014


NL

Het zal wel iets met onze ouderdom te maken hebben, maar anno 2014 worden er niet alleen retrokomedies over de jaren 80 gedraaid, maar ook over de jaren 90. Want tja, ook die behoren allang tot het verleden. The To Do List is een vulgaire (maar dolkomische) tienerkomedie die zich in 1993 afspeelt. Het tijdperk waarin grungegroepen tieners deden geloven dat het hippietijdperk volop terug was, tot op het moment dat Kurt Cobain een kogel door zijn hoofd joeg! Maar goed, deze film van Maggie Carey (bij ons weten geen familie van!) gaat niet over het geloof in een betere wereld, maar wel over seks.


Brandy Klark (Aubrey Plaza) is het sulletje van de middelbare school. De tiener behaalt wel de allerbeste punten, maar voor haar klasgenoten is zij gewoon een wereldvreemd meisje dat om de haverklap moet worden gepest. Alvorens zij naar de universiteit trekt wil Aubrey eerst een to-do-lijstje afwerken. De Himalaya beklimmen staat er niet in, wel is het een waslijst van allerlei vreemde standjes die Aubrey wil uitproberen. Wij zijn christelijk opgevoed, dus pennen wij deze variaties niet neer! Als maagd valt zo’n lijstje uitvoeren niet mee, zeker niet als je weinig populair bent bij de jongens.


Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen. Dat soort komedies zal altijd zijn voor- en zijn tegenstanders hebben. Zelf durven we nauwelijks de term film te gebruiken, wel staat het als een paal boven water dat The To Do List ontzettend grappig is. Leuk is ook dat deze sekskomedie gemaakt is vanuit het standpunt van een meisje. Wel is er iets grondig mis met de casting, want ook al is Aubrey Plaza best leuk om naar te kijken, is het allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend dat men een 29-jarige een 17-jarige tiener laat vertolken.


The To Do List is nu uit op dvd via Sony. En neen, u hoeft zich daar niet voor te schamen...per slot van rekening keek u ook ooit naar Porky's, niet waar? 

Didier BECU
11/02/2014


11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap