tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list

MAGGIE CAREY

The to do list

Movie
Comedy

[65/100]   

SONY SPHE
11/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it has something to do with our age, but retro-comedies are no longer limited to the 80’s, there are the 90’s too. Because yes, they also belong to a past that is very far away…. The To Do List is a vulgar (but enormously funny) teen comedy that is set in 1993. It was the age in where grungebands let us believe that hippies were the new thing, till Kurt Cobain blew himself a bullet through the head. But good, this new movie by Maggie Carey (no relation with you know who) is not about changing the world, but the discovery of sex.


Brandy Klark (Aubrey Plaza) is the nerd at school. The teenager gets the highest points, but for her classmates she’s nothing but the fave target of bully’s. Before she starts university, Aubrey has set up a to do list. The list contains all different sex acts she wants to explore before she’s turning 18. As we’re good educated we really don’t want to tell you what’s on the list, all we can reveal is that Brandy has a quite vivid fantasy. It’s certainly not easy to achieve the goals as not only she’s a virgin, Brandy is also extremely unpopular with the boys.


Let us be honest: these type of movies have their pro’s and con’s. We hardly dare to use the term film, but it’s certainly sure that this movie is extremely funny. The funniest element from this comedy is that it’s made from the point of view from a girl, cos admit it: in movies it are usually boys who are dreaming about how to lose their virginiality, not? Apart from that, there’s something wrong with the casting though. Aubrey Plaza is funny and plays her role well, but it’s a bit unusual to see a 29-year old woman performing a teenager from high school.


The To Do List is now out on DVD through Sony. And no, you don’t have to feel any shame as after all you watched Porky’s too, not?

Didier BECU
11/02/2014


NL

Het zal wel iets met onze ouderdom te maken hebben, maar anno 2014 worden er niet alleen retrokomedies over de jaren 80 gedraaid, maar ook over de jaren 90. Want tja, ook die behoren allang tot het verleden. The To Do List is een vulgaire (maar dolkomische) tienerkomedie die zich in 1993 afspeelt. Het tijdperk waarin grungegroepen tieners deden geloven dat het hippietijdperk volop terug was, tot op het moment dat Kurt Cobain een kogel door zijn hoofd joeg! Maar goed, deze film van Maggie Carey (bij ons weten geen familie van!) gaat niet over het geloof in een betere wereld, maar wel over seks.


Brandy Klark (Aubrey Plaza) is het sulletje van de middelbare school. De tiener behaalt wel de allerbeste punten, maar voor haar klasgenoten is zij gewoon een wereldvreemd meisje dat om de haverklap moet worden gepest. Alvorens zij naar de universiteit trekt wil Aubrey eerst een to-do-lijstje afwerken. De Himalaya beklimmen staat er niet in, wel is het een waslijst van allerlei vreemde standjes die Aubrey wil uitproberen. Wij zijn christelijk opgevoed, dus pennen wij deze variaties niet neer! Als maagd valt zo’n lijstje uitvoeren niet mee, zeker niet als je weinig populair bent bij de jongens.


Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen. Dat soort komedies zal altijd zijn voor- en zijn tegenstanders hebben. Zelf durven we nauwelijks de term film te gebruiken, wel staat het als een paal boven water dat The To Do List ontzettend grappig is. Leuk is ook dat deze sekskomedie gemaakt is vanuit het standpunt van een meisje. Wel is er iets grondig mis met de casting, want ook al is Aubrey Plaza best leuk om naar te kijken, is het allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend dat men een 29-jarige een 17-jarige tiener laat vertolken.


The To Do List is nu uit op dvd via Sony. En neen, u hoeft zich daar niet voor te schamen...per slot van rekening keek u ook ooit naar Porky's, niet waar? 

Didier BECU
11/02/2014


11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list 11/02/2014 : MAGGIE CAREY - The to do list

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real