tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia

ROBERT LUKETIC

Paranoia

Movie
Crime

[55/100]   

E1
21/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Fans from the handsome Liam Hemsworth won’t probably find that easy a positive note about this thriller. Once you start watching, you know why. The film can count on an impressive cast, but you can’t see not one scene in where their talents are used. Nah good, Ford won’t loose his sleep about this as he plays on automatic pilot and is just cashing in.


If you know who’s behind the camera then it’s no surprise. The name of Robert Luketic didn’t ring immediately a bell, but thanks to IMDb we found out that he’s the maker of crap like Legally Blonde, Win A Date With Tad Hamilton and Monster-in-Law. At a certain moment the man thought he could make a thriller too, and after 21 he’s back with another misser.

The script is based on a novel by Joseph Finder and starts nice. The current world we’re living is hard. That’s something that rookie Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) knows. The young guy works in a company for smartphones. After ruining his presentation, he’s sacked by the arrogant CEO Nicholas Wyatt (Gary Oldman). Adam wants revenge and at the same eve he spends lots of money with the company’s creditcards at the local disco. Nicholas finds this out and puts Adam for a choice: or he’ll be turned over the FBI or he will be spying in the competitive company led by Jock Goddard (Harrison Ford).

A story you heard before. Any trained filmmaker would at least be able to make a decent film with this, but not Robert Luketic. He tries but his directing is uninspired and very dull. That’s a pity for Harrison Ford, but especially for Gary Oldman who deserves better. The sole talent Amber Heard owns are her looks and Liam Hemsworth can’t act, just like his brother Chris (Thor).

Paranoia is released on E1 and is out on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
21/02/2014


NL

Fans van knapperd Liam Hemsworth zullen het behoorlijk moeilijk hebben om ook maar één positief woord over deze thriller op het net te vinden. Terecht, de film pakt wel uit met een indrukwekkende sterrencast, toch benutten de makers in geen enkele scène hun vakkundigheid. Hoofdrolspeler Harrison Ford (met kaalkop!) zal het wellicht allemaal worst wezen. Voor hem is Paranoia niet meer dan een routineuze klus die hem wat extra poen oplevert, wel zit de filmfan met een gedrocht opgezadeld.


Maar ja, wat wil je als de regisseur van dienst ene Robert Luketic is? Neen, we wisten het ook niet meteen uit ons hoofd, maar door wat opzoekingwerk kwamen we er vrij snel achter dat deze mijnheer de maker is van missers als Legally Blonde, Win A Date With Tad Hamilton en Monster-in-Law. Op een bepaald moment dacht deze regisseur dat hij ook een thriller in elkaar kon boksen en kwam met de oersaaie 21 op de proppen. Met zijn nieuwste vehikel heeft Luketic opnieuw bewezen dat hij maar beter achter de camera's wegblijft.



Het verhaal dat op een schrijfsel van Joseph Finder is gebaseerd, begint nochtans aardig. De huidige maatschappij is bikkelhard, in het bedrijfsleven is het dan ook pompen of verzuipen. Dat heeft carrièrejager Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) maar al te goed begrepen. De jonge knaap werkt voor een bedrijf dat ingenieuze smartphones op de markt brengt. Wanneer hij de presentatie van zijn nieuwste project naar de haaien helpt wordt hij samen met zijn medewerkers door de arrogante bedrijfsleider Nicholas Wyatt (Gary Oldman) de laan uitgestuurd. Adam zint op wraak en dezelfde avond spendeert hij in de disco tonnen geld met creditcards van het bedrijf. De sluwe Nicholas komt daar natuurlijk achter en stelt Adam voor de keuze. Of hij licht de FBI in of Adam gaat voortaan spioneren bij het concurrerende bedrijf van Jock Goddard (Harrison Ford).


Een verhaaltje dat je inderdaad al eens eerder hebt gehoord. Nochtans zou iedere cineast met zo'n gegeven op zijn minst een routineuze klus uit zijn mouw kunnen toveren, maar zelfs daar slaagt Robert Luketic niet in. De regie is houterig, en vooral oersaai. Luketic probeert wel een paar hippe trucs in dit lichtgewicht te lassen, alleen werken ze niet. Dat is jammer voor zowel Harrison Ford als (en vooral) Gary Oldman die echt wel beter verdient dan dat! Het enige talent dat Amber Heard bezit is haar knappe snoetje. En wat Liam Hemsworth betreft. Tja, die kan net als zijn broer Chris (Thor) niet acteren.


Paranoia pakt wel uit met grote namen. Die doen wel wat ze moeten doen (Oldman zelfs beter dan dat!), toch lost de film door zijn ongeïnspireerde regie en slappe script geen enkele verwachting in.


Paranoia is nu uitgebracht door E1 en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
21/02/2014


21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia 21/02/2014 : ROBERT LUKETIC - Paranoia

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel