tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : SPEAR OF DESTINY - The Singles Collection

SPEAR OF DESTINY

The Singles Collection

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[95/100]   

Cherry Red Records
26/07/2012, Didier BECU

How does a band feel if you say they’re the most underrated band in the world? Right, you can say they’re kind of flattered but at the same time you have to add the magic (or do I have to say tragic?) word “if”. Cos if they were not underrated, they would not only have made a fortune, but they could have been proud that a whole nation is singing their hymns while having a shower, not? A crazy remark I know, but listen twice (or even once) to “So in love with you” and I bet you’ll sing it the next time you’re entering the bathroom.

So yes, Spear Of Destiny, the band fronted by Kirk Brandon, is oh so underrated, even if they have a huge loyal following in the UK but outside they mean nothing, at least not to the big masses who keep on claiming that Theatre Of Hate (Kirks previous band) were so much better as they’re not, they were simply two different (genius) bands with the same singer. When choosing the genre for their music, I thought the best thing to do is call ‘em dark pop as they’re a band that knows what a timeless refrain means, but at the same there’s a morbid twist in their music.

 As a dedicated fan I should say this album has no sense as you simply have to own all the albums they released but of course this is a Cherry Red-release and they always offer a bit extra, not? This time, you get (apart from the singles) an extra disc containing all those rare 12” versions. For the youngsters among you: a 12” was a black vinyl record that has to be played at 45 rpm and contained an extended version that meant more than the 10 extended remixes you get on CD-singles these days.

For one minute I was planning to end my review with the words that I’m so in love with them (hence their hit) but for the most underrated band in the world that’s far too simple to say, not? Genius stuff that you have to embrace and no, dad, they don’t make ‘em like this anymore these days. Shame.

Didier BECU
26/07/2012


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start