tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : SPEAR OF DESTINY - The Singles Collection

SPEAR OF DESTINY

The Singles Collection

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[95/100]   

Cherry Red Records
26/07/2012, Didier BECU

How does a band feel if you say they’re the most underrated band in the world? Right, you can say they’re kind of flattered but at the same time you have to add the magic (or do I have to say tragic?) word “if”. Cos if they were not underrated, they would not only have made a fortune, but they could have been proud that a whole nation is singing their hymns while having a shower, not? A crazy remark I know, but listen twice (or even once) to “So in love with you” and I bet you’ll sing it the next time you’re entering the bathroom.

So yes, Spear Of Destiny, the band fronted by Kirk Brandon, is oh so underrated, even if they have a huge loyal following in the UK but outside they mean nothing, at least not to the big masses who keep on claiming that Theatre Of Hate (Kirks previous band) were so much better as they’re not, they were simply two different (genius) bands with the same singer. When choosing the genre for their music, I thought the best thing to do is call ‘em dark pop as they’re a band that knows what a timeless refrain means, but at the same there’s a morbid twist in their music.

 As a dedicated fan I should say this album has no sense as you simply have to own all the albums they released but of course this is a Cherry Red-release and they always offer a bit extra, not? This time, you get (apart from the singles) an extra disc containing all those rare 12” versions. For the youngsters among you: a 12” was a black vinyl record that has to be played at 45 rpm and contained an extended version that meant more than the 10 extended remixes you get on CD-singles these days.

For one minute I was planning to end my review with the words that I’m so in love with them (hence their hit) but for the most underrated band in the world that’s far too simple to say, not? Genius stuff that you have to embrace and no, dad, they don’t make ‘em like this anymore these days. Shame.

Didier BECU
26/07/2012


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR