tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : SPEAR OF DESTINY - The Singles Collection

SPEAR OF DESTINY

The Singles Collection

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[95/100]   

Cherry Red Records
26/07/2012, Didier BECU

How does a band feel if you say they’re the most underrated band in the world? Right, you can say they’re kind of flattered but at the same time you have to add the magic (or do I have to say tragic?) word “if”. Cos if they were not underrated, they would not only have made a fortune, but they could have been proud that a whole nation is singing their hymns while having a shower, not? A crazy remark I know, but listen twice (or even once) to “So in love with you” and I bet you’ll sing it the next time you’re entering the bathroom.

So yes, Spear Of Destiny, the band fronted by Kirk Brandon, is oh so underrated, even if they have a huge loyal following in the UK but outside they mean nothing, at least not to the big masses who keep on claiming that Theatre Of Hate (Kirks previous band) were so much better as they’re not, they were simply two different (genius) bands with the same singer. When choosing the genre for their music, I thought the best thing to do is call ‘em dark pop as they’re a band that knows what a timeless refrain means, but at the same there’s a morbid twist in their music.

 As a dedicated fan I should say this album has no sense as you simply have to own all the albums they released but of course this is a Cherry Red-release and they always offer a bit extra, not? This time, you get (apart from the singles) an extra disc containing all those rare 12” versions. For the youngsters among you: a 12” was a black vinyl record that has to be played at 45 rpm and contained an extended version that meant more than the 10 extended remixes you get on CD-singles these days.

For one minute I was planning to end my review with the words that I’m so in love with them (hence their hit) but for the most underrated band in the world that’s far too simple to say, not? Genius stuff that you have to embrace and no, dad, they don’t make ‘em like this anymore these days. Shame.

Didier BECU
26/07/2012


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders