tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : SPEAR OF DESTINY - The Singles Collection

SPEAR OF DESTINY

The Singles Collection

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[95/100]   

Cherry Red Records
26/07/2012, Didier BECU

How does a band feel if you say they’re the most underrated band in the world? Right, you can say they’re kind of flattered but at the same time you have to add the magic (or do I have to say tragic?) word “if”. Cos if they were not underrated, they would not only have made a fortune, but they could have been proud that a whole nation is singing their hymns while having a shower, not? A crazy remark I know, but listen twice (or even once) to “So in love with you” and I bet you’ll sing it the next time you’re entering the bathroom.

So yes, Spear Of Destiny, the band fronted by Kirk Brandon, is oh so underrated, even if they have a huge loyal following in the UK but outside they mean nothing, at least not to the big masses who keep on claiming that Theatre Of Hate (Kirks previous band) were so much better as they’re not, they were simply two different (genius) bands with the same singer. When choosing the genre for their music, I thought the best thing to do is call ‘em dark pop as they’re a band that knows what a timeless refrain means, but at the same there’s a morbid twist in their music.

 As a dedicated fan I should say this album has no sense as you simply have to own all the albums they released but of course this is a Cherry Red-release and they always offer a bit extra, not? This time, you get (apart from the singles) an extra disc containing all those rare 12” versions. For the youngsters among you: a 12” was a black vinyl record that has to be played at 45 rpm and contained an extended version that meant more than the 10 extended remixes you get on CD-singles these days.

For one minute I was planning to end my review with the words that I’m so in love with them (hence their hit) but for the most underrated band in the world that’s far too simple to say, not? Genius stuff that you have to embrace and no, dad, they don’t make ‘em like this anymore these days. Shame.

Didier BECU
26/07/2012


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination