tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/07/2012 : LARVAE - Exit Strategy

LARVAE

Exit Strategy

MusicCD
Post RockTrip Hop

[60/100]   

Ad Noiseam
11/07/2012, Chris KONINGS

Beside crunching beats, you can also taste some guitars at Ad Noiseam. They come both ways, fucked up doommetal as in Whourkr/Igorrr or soft idm/rock like Raoul Sinier and Larvae here. I digged Raoul's glitchy electrorock so I'm hoping for another great discovery...

Alas, it can't always be sunshine... sure there are lots of layers, nice melodies and numerous clicks and bleeps to be discovered but still, it's not enough to engulf me into their realm. It's sad to say, but I miss some pace or drive, it sluggishly goes on and on. Take Remarkable, there's plenty of earcandy happening but it leaves you waiting for this climax that never comes. Frustrating because I know they're capable to do just that, instead they seem bent on lulling us all to sleep. The Switch finally gets things started with some rougher postrock and I do like the panflute sounds and heavy basses on The Life You Waste May Be Your Own. Another song that holds promise is N-1, but they could use some remixes to make it more lively. I'd love to hear what Millimetric, Somatic Responses or The_Empath would make of that...

Quitter descends back into darkness and the melancholic keyboards work well with the sporadic guitar drones. Maybe a bit short to really get into, a ten minute version would've been a perfect ending for an album that grows. Unfortunately the last two songs aren't boiling over with ideas and fit the stereotypical post rock view, so they fail to end on a good note.

A mixed bag, I can't say I'm impressed. I'm not asking they make it as extreme as Sunn O))), but a sharper edge might prove useful.

Chris KONINGS
11/07/2012


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg