tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins

DANIEL STAMM

13 Sins

Movie
Horror

[55/100]   

E1
21/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this. You’re sitting in your car and get a phone call in where a voice demands you to beat a fly to death and then eat it. If you do this then you’ll find a huge sum of money on your bank account. Agreed, you have to be a die-hard vegetarian to say no to this, but most people would simply agree, not? Elliott Brindle (Mark Webber) takes the offer as well as he can use the money. The poor guy has just been sacked, his wife is pregnant and to top it all he has to take care about his mentally handicapped brother. The poor guy doesn’t realise that he’s involved in a web of sadistic dirty games. He is forced to fulfil 13 sins and the further the game gets, the more extreme the tasks become! If he refuses he not only looses the money, the game leader will also inform the police.

Rich people who abuse the poor for playing dirty games is nothing new, just think of The Hunger Games. But still, the director who previously made The Last Exorcism has come up with a fresh movie. The sins are bloody, but quite original. There’s a lot of tension going around, even if Stamm looses himself in the end by adding too many plots that are not quite logic. The acting is decent and in all honesty, that’s another rare thing in horror movies, not?

So to be short: the remake of the Thai horror classic 13: Game Of Death from 2006 is a tip, even if Stamm simply hopes to profit from the torture porn-genre.

13 Sins is now out on DVD and Blu-ray on E1.

Didier BECU
21/08/2014


NL

Stel je voor. Je zit in je wagen en krijgt een telefoontje waarin je wordt gevraagd om een vlieg dood te slaan en die vervolgens op te eten. Doe je dat dan heb je binnen een paar luttele seconden een grote som geld op je bankrekening staan. Toegegeven, fervente vegetariërs zouden misschien serieus twijfelen aan deze opdracht, maar de meeste mensen zouden het voorstel gretig aannemen. Zo ook Elliott Brindle (Mark Webber), vooral omdat hij het geld zeer goed kan gebruiken. De kerel is net ontslagen, zijn gezin wordt weldra uitgebreid en op de koop toe moet hij zich ook nog bekommeren over zijn geestelijk gehandicapte broer. Wel weet de pineut niet dat hij daardoor in een web van sadistische spelletjes is gewikkeld. In totaal moet hij 13 opdrachten uitvoeren die gaandeweg het spel meer en meer extreem worden. Weigert hij om verder te gaan, dan verliest hij in een oogwenk alles en wordt de politie ingelicht over zijn daden.

Rijke mensen die arme drommels manipuleren voor het spelen van perverse spelletjes is niks nieuws, denk maar aan The Hunger Games. Desalniettemin weet regisseur Daniel Stamm die eerder het lauwe The Last Exorcism draaide dit veel gebruikte horrorgegeven op een vrij originele manier in filmvorm te gieten. De opdrachten zijn bloederig, maar origineel. De film is spannend, ofschoon Stamm in de finale de trappers verliest door net iets te veel onlogische plotwendingen in zijn verhaal te stoppen. En zelfs het acteerniveau is tamelijk hoog en dat is ook niet zo’n vanzelfsprekend iets in de horrorwereld.

Kortom deze remake van de Thaise 13: Game Of Death uit 2006 is een aanrader, zelfs indien je huivert bij de gedachte dat Stamm gewoon op de gevreesde martelporno-wagen springt!

Didier BECU
21/08/2014


21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE