tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter

DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN

Gimme Shelter

MovieMovie classics
Documentary

[85/100]   

A-Film
26/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

"All I can ask you San Francisco is like the whole thing. This could be the most beautiful evening we've had this winter. Let's get it together. I can't do any more than just ask you, beg you, to keep it together”. These are the words from Mick Jagger in December 1969 in Altamont Speedway in California when he started performing Sympathy For The Devil. All in vain as some minutes later the first dead was a fact. The free concert (along with The Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, The Flying Burrito Brothers and Ike & Tina Turner) should have been the celebration of the flower children. It was their raised middle finger to the government that only understood the words of war. Four years after Woodstock the hippie dream got smashed. The balance was outrageous: four fans were killed.


It was a coincidence, but during those fatal moments Albert & David Maysles and Charlotte Zwerin were around to film everything. Later the three were accused that their presence made things only worse, some even blamed the Rolling Stones for it. In the end everyone found his favourite scapegoat, but today all what is left is Gimme Shelter, in where you can see the killing. A movie that is considered by many as one of the best (if not the best!) rock documentaries ever.


Everyone who takes himself seriously must admit that now the Rolling Stones have become a circus act. In 1969 Jagger and co were simply the best rockand around. The Beatles were almost gone, but the Stones made a killer album named Let It Bleed. America was conquered and to celebrate that, the band wanted to organize a free gig in Altamont. From the very first moment the authorities weren’t keen on having a new Woodstock in their backgarden, but in the end the fatal party took place. The security was given to Hells Angels. In trade for free beer the bikers would keep it a safe event, but they were never able to control 300.000 (mostly high) music fans. When the band members see afterwards the deadly images they’re in shock. How could they give a go for this crazy event? It’s a miracle only 4 people were killed.


The makers don’t ask the question who is guilty for this tragedy. The camera is the witness and everybody can see that there was simply no control possible. Thousands of people are caught in a web of chaos from fear and violence. All we see is a scared band, and years later a documentary to never forget.


Gimme Shelter is now out on DVD on A-Film.

Didier BECU
26/06/2014


NL

"All I can ask you San Francisco is like the whole thing. This could be the most beautiful evening we've had this winter. Let's get it together. I can't do any more than just ask you, beg you, to keep it together”. Dat waren de woorden van Mick Jagger toen hij in December 1969 in de Altamont Speedway in Californië het nummer Sympathy For The Devil begon. Jaggers smeekbede mocht evenwel niet baten, enkele minuten later viel de eerste dode. Het gratis concert (samen met The Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, The Flying Burrito Brothers en Ike & Tina Turner) zou de kers op de taart voor de generatie van de bloemenkinderen moeten worden. Een opgeheven middelvinger naar de regering die met zijn oorlog in Vietnam alleen maar de taal van de wapens spreekt. Vier jaar na Woodstock kwam er door dit gratis concert evenwel een brutaal einde aan de hippiedroom. De balans was zwaar: vier doden.


Het toeval wil dat op dat fatale moment ook daar de broertjes Albert en David Maysles en Charlotte Zwerin rondliepen. Drie documentairemakers die het gehele chaotische gebeuren op film hebben vastgelegd. Later werd hun nog in de schoenen geschoven dat hun aanwezigheid het geweld alleen maar aanwakkerde, sommige beschuldigden zelfs de Rolling Stones. Uiteindelijk heeft iedereen wel zijn zondebok gevonden, maar voor het nageslacht blijft er Gimme Shelter over, waar de moord is te zien. Een film die door velen (terecht) als één van de beste (misschien wel de beste) rockdocumentaires wordt aangezien.


Wie eerlijk is met zichzelf moet toegeven dat vandaag de Rolling Stones slechts op bejaarde marionetten uit een attractiepark lijken (men noemt hun concerten tegenwoordig niet voor niets familie-uitstapjes), maar in 1969 waren Jagger en co nog de beste rockgroep ter wereld. The Beatles waren al lang uitgeblust, maar de Stones hadden het monster Let It Bleed uit. Amerika was veroverd en plots had de rockgroep het idee om in Altamont een gratis concert te geven. De autoriteiten zagen zo’n volksverhuizing niet zitten, maar uiteindelijk ging het feestje toch door. De beveiliging werd in handen gegeven aan de Hells Angels. In ruil voor gratis bier zouden zij er voor zorgen dat alles veilig zou verlopen. Een goedkoop, maar ridicuul idee. De vechtersbazen waren niet in staat om 300.000 uitbundige muziekliefhebbers (die bovendien waren gedrogeerd) in toom te houden. Wanneer de bandleden achteraf de beelden kijken zijn ze verbijsterd. Hoe hadden ze dit ooit kunnen goedkeuren? Het dodental is hoog, maar het is een mirakel dat er niet meer vielen.


De documentairemakers lassen geen schuldvraag in. De camera is de enige getuige en wat hij registreert is duidelijk: duizenden mensen (inclusief de bandleden) zitten gevangen in een web van chaos en geweld. Al wat rest zijn beelden van een doodsbange groep, en een documentaire om nooit te vergeten.


Gimme Shelter is vanaf nu op dvd via A-Film verkrijgbaar.

Didier BECU
26/06/2014


26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter 26/06/2014 : DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN - Gimme Shelter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design