tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

THEODORE MELFI

St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Comedy
Filmfest Gent
18/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A film festival of course also has to have some movies in his list that are easy to digest, not? Last year we were overwhelmed by Joseph-Gordon Levitt preferring porno over Scarlett Johansson in Don Jon, this year it is veteran Bill Murray who is making us laugh. Even if the final scene might be far too mellow to support, it’s still a fact that St. Vincent probably is the funniest movie you’ll see this year.

Since Lost In Translation directors have discovered that there’s more in Murray than just a (genius) clown. His newest film is another proof that Murray can do everything as he’s performing here a grumpy old man who gambles, drinks, smokes and who is most of all a pain in the ass to live with. His disorganized (but kind of fine) life got interrupted when the divorced Maggie (Melissa McCarthy) becomes his newest neighbor, especially when her 12 year old-son is forced to enter Vincent’s house.

Perhaps St. Vincent is part of that dreadful feelgood movie-category, but the acting is so superb that you actually forget this. You can, just like the main character, bet some money on it that Murray performs the funniest film character from 2014. Also nice to see is Melissa McCarthy (from Bridesmaids and The Heat), simply because for once she’s not playing the rude cliché that she has become. And of course there’s Naomi Watts. You can blame it on me but Watts is always gorgeous, even when she plays a (pregnant!) Russian whore with blonde-pink hair (including the accent!). This film debut from the unknown Theodore Melfi scored well during the opening weekends. A title to pen down in your notebook!

Didier BECU
18/10/2014


NL

Op een filmfestival mag er ook gerust plaats worden gemaakt voor wat lichtere kost. Vorig jaar was dat bijv. Joseph-Gordon Levitt die in Don Jon porno boven Scarlett Johansson verkoos, en in deze editie is het Bill Murray die onze lachspieren masseert. Alhoewel het slot van deze film ronduit verschrikkelijk melig is, is St. Vincent waarschijnlijk de leukste film die je dit jaar in de bios zal kunnen zien.

Sinds Lost In Translation heeft de filmwereld ontdekt dat er meer in Murray zit dan alleen maar een lolbroek. Deze nieuweling is daar opnieuw een mooi bewijs van. Murray vertolkt de rol van Vincent: een oude zeur die zuipt, gokt, rookt en bovendien totaal onuitstaanbaar is. Zijn leven wordt volledig overhoop gegooid als naast hem de gescheiden Maggie (Melissa McCarthy) komt wonen en haar twaalfjarig zoontje noodgedwongen contact met hem zoekt.

St. Vincent valt misschien wel onder de gevreesde feelgood movie-categorie, maar de vertolkingen zijn van zo’n bijzonder hoog niveau dat je dat gauw vergeet. Murray is ronduit subliem en waarschijnlijk het grappigste personage dat je in het filmjaar 2014 zal tegenkomen. De anders zo grofgebekte Melissa McCarthy (je weet wel, het dikkerdje uit Bridesmaids en The Heat) speelt in deze komedie vrij ingetogen en Naomi Watts is heerlijk als Russische (zwangere!) hoer (inclusief het accent). Dit filmdebuut van Theodore Melfi scoorde meteen goed bij de openingsweek in de VS, en dat is dubbel en dik verdiend. In je boekje noteren

Didier BECU
18/10/2014


18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : THEODORE MELFI - St. Vincent (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu