tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN

THE HONOURABLE WOMAN

MovieTV series

Just Bridge
30/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The sympathetic Maggie Gyllenhaal is starring now in a series too. It is a pity that The Honourable Woman will only last one season, but the beauty got a Golden Globe for it. That is not surprising, as of course she is a brilliant actress, but this espionage series is written and directed by Hugo Blick, who previously won both the heart of the public and the press with The Shadow Line. With The Honourable Woman, Sundance Channel and the BBC joined forces, and if you combine all these names then you automatically have the term "quality series".

The subject of this series (the conflict between Palestine and Israel) is perhaps not exactly the kind of production you want to watch for entertainment, but you get high quality instead. Gyllenhaal plays the role of Nessa Stein. As a child, she lost her mother at birth. Later on she saw how her father was gunned down by the PLO. A normal person would be full of hatred, but not Jessica. Together with her brother Ephra (Andrew Buchan) she launches a family business in the UK that tries to reconcile Israel and Palestine. Because of this noble gesture, Jessica ids given the title of baroness, but soon things are going very bad!

After Nessa makes a business contract with Samir Meshal, the Palestinian businessman is shot and also the son of Ephra's nanny is kidnapped. Nessa and Ephra are facing troubled times, as they also have to deal with both the British and US intelligence services, which want to know everything about the Stein Group.

It is not an easy topic, but you don’t have to be a Middle East specialist to follow this story. In a genious way, the creators mix politics, espionage and action with a scenario that captivates the viewer from the first to the last second. Add one of the world's best actresses in the lead role, and you can only conclude that this is a tip!

Didier BECU
30/08/2015


NL

De sympathieke Maggie Gyllenhaal kunnen we vanaf nu ook in een serie aan het werk zien. Jammer genoeg loopt The Honourable Woman slechts voor één seizoen, maar de knappe Maggie behaalde er wel een Golden Globe mee. Dat hoeft je niet te verwonderen, natuurlijk is ze een briljante actrice, maar deze spionagereeks is geschreven en geregisseerd door Hugo Blick, die eerder met The Shadow Line zowel het hart van publiek als de pers veroverde. Voor The Honourable Woman sloegen Sundance Channel en de BBC de handen in elkaar, en als je al deze namen met elkaar combineert, dan kom je uiteindelijk op de term “kwaliteitsserie” uit.

Het onderwerp van deze serie (het eeuwenlange conflict tussen Palestina en Israel) is misschien niet meteen een hapklare brok voor de doorsnee popcornvreter, wel krijg je er hoogstaande kwaliteit voor in de plaats. Gyllenhaal vertolkt de rol van Nessa Stein. Als kind verloor zij niet alleen haar moeder bij de geboorte, maar zag ze ook hoe haar vader door de PLO werd neergeknald. Een normaal mens zou vol haat zitten, maar niet Jessica. Samen met haar broer Ephra (Andrew Buchan) start ze vanuit Groot-Brittannië een familiebedrijf dat Israël met Palestina wil proberen te verzoenen. Door dit nobele gebaar krijgt Jessica een adellijke titel, maar het blijven geen acht afleveringen zonder gevaar voor de barones!

Nadat Nessa met Samir Meshal een contract afsluit, gaan de poppen aan het dansen. Het duurt niet lang vooraleer de Palestijnse zakenman wordt neergeschoten, en ook het zoontje van Ephra’s kinderoppas wordt gekidnapt. Het worden voor Nessa en Ephra bange tijden, bovendien hebben de twee af te rekenen met zowel de Britse als de Amerikaanse geheime diensten, die alles over de Stein Group willen weten.

Het is wel geen gemakkelijk onderwerp, maar je moet geen Rudi Vranckx zijn om dit verhaal vlot te kunnen volgen. Op ingenieuze wijze hebben de makers politiek, spionage en actie gemengd met een scenario dat van de eerste tot de laatste seconde boeit, ook al weet je eigenlijk nooit voor wie je partij moet kiezen. Als je daarenboven nog eens één van ’s werelds beste actrices in de hoofdrol ziet, kan je niet anders dan besluiten: tip!

Didier BECU
30/08/2015


30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN 30/08/2015 :  - THE HONOURABLE WOMAN

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)