tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

CARL FRANKLIN

Bless me, Ultima

Movie
World Cinema

[61/100]   

SONY SPHE
10/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it seems strange that a movie like Bless Me,Ultima has been released on Sony. You don't identify such a major with world cinema that deals about spirituality, but that has a lot to do with Christy Walton who is famous in America because of the Wal-Mart-chain. Christy was so fascinated by the novel from Rudolfo Anaya that she financed the whole project. The makers had a huge freedom. They were allowed to work with a cast of unknowns and it was no problem either that the movie had an alternative look.


The story is set in New Mexico during the 40's and is narrated by the young Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). His three brothers are fighting at the front. He's not alone as the old Ultima (Miriam Colon) joins the family. This old lady is a very strange one though. She has powers that can heal sick people, therefore some think Ultima is a witch. Whatever the truth is, Antonio builds up a very strong friendship with her. The curandera introduces him to strong spiritual forces and so the young guy is having doubts about his belief in catholicism.


Just another story that made Christians going awol. Just like some wants to forbid now Noah from Darren Aronofsky, some wanted to ban Rudolfo Anaya's book. Their plan didn't work. Not only became the novel one of the milestones in Chicano literature, it also became a movie. This picture by Carl Franklin is dominated by the breathtaking cinematography by Paula Huidobro and the excellent performances by both Luke Ganalon and Miriam Colon. Due to its subject, Bless Me, Ultima isn't exactly what you would call an easy film to digest. Apart from that, it's a wonderful example that meaningful and different cinema can have its place on a major.


Bless Me,Ultima is released on Sony op DVD.

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


NL

Misschien vind je het vreemd dat een film als Bless Me,Ultima op Sony werd uitgebracht. Het is inderdaad geen alledaags feit dat wereldcinema over spiritualiteit een major haalt, maar dat heeft alles te maken met de steenrijke Christy Walton die in Amerika bekend is van de Wal-Mart-ketens. Christy was zo in de ban van de gelijknamige roman van Rudolfo Anaya dat ze er heel wat geld tegenaan gooide om de verfilming mogelijk te maken. De makers mochten zeer ver gaan. Christy vond het geen probleem dat de cast uit onbekenden bestond, het werd zelfs getolereerd dat de prent alternatieve kantjes vertoonde.


Het verhaal speelt zich af in het New Mexico tijdens de jaren 40 en wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de jonge Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). Zijn drie oudere broers zijn naar het front getrokken, gelukkig voor hem wordt de eenzaamheid verbroken wanneer Ultima (Miriam Colon) op het familietoneel verschijnt. Deze stokoude vrouw bezit vreemde gaven waardoor zij doodzieke mensen plotseling weer kerngezond kan maken. Sommige dorpelingen vertrouwen het zaakje niet en beschouwen Ultima als een oude heks. De jonge Antonio beleeft een hechte vriendschap met de curandera. De oude vrouw laat hem kennis maken met krachten van de spirituele wereld. Het gevolg daarvan is dat de jonge kerel begint te twijfelen aan zijn eigen katholieke geloof dat er door zijn ouders is ingepompt.


Wederom dus een verhaal dat sommige christenen de gordijnen injaagt. Net zoals sommige moraalridders dat vandaag met Aronofsky's versie van Noah willen, probeerden ook enkele individuen destijds om het boek van Rudolfo Anaya te bannen. Het is hun uiteindelijk niet gelukt, want het boek werd één van de belangrijkste werken uit de Chicano-literatuur en is vandaag zelfs een film geworden. De verfilming van Carl Franklin valt vooral op door de adembenemende fotografie van Paula Huidobro en de schitterende vertolkingen van zowel Luke Ganalon als Miriam Colon. Wegens het onderwerp is Bless Me, Ultima geen gemakkelijke brok geworden, wel een prachtvoorbeeld dat diepgravende cinema ook op een major kan.


Bless Me,Ultima is nu uit via Sony op dvd.

 

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)