tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

CARL FRANKLIN

Bless me, Ultima

Movie
World Cinema

[61/100]   

SONY SPHE
10/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it seems strange that a movie like Bless Me,Ultima has been released on Sony. You don't identify such a major with world cinema that deals about spirituality, but that has a lot to do with Christy Walton who is famous in America because of the Wal-Mart-chain. Christy was so fascinated by the novel from Rudolfo Anaya that she financed the whole project. The makers had a huge freedom. They were allowed to work with a cast of unknowns and it was no problem either that the movie had an alternative look.


The story is set in New Mexico during the 40's and is narrated by the young Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). His three brothers are fighting at the front. He's not alone as the old Ultima (Miriam Colon) joins the family. This old lady is a very strange one though. She has powers that can heal sick people, therefore some think Ultima is a witch. Whatever the truth is, Antonio builds up a very strong friendship with her. The curandera introduces him to strong spiritual forces and so the young guy is having doubts about his belief in catholicism.


Just another story that made Christians going awol. Just like some wants to forbid now Noah from Darren Aronofsky, some wanted to ban Rudolfo Anaya's book. Their plan didn't work. Not only became the novel one of the milestones in Chicano literature, it also became a movie. This picture by Carl Franklin is dominated by the breathtaking cinematography by Paula Huidobro and the excellent performances by both Luke Ganalon and Miriam Colon. Due to its subject, Bless Me, Ultima isn't exactly what you would call an easy film to digest. Apart from that, it's a wonderful example that meaningful and different cinema can have its place on a major.


Bless Me,Ultima is released on Sony op DVD.

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


NL

Misschien vind je het vreemd dat een film als Bless Me,Ultima op Sony werd uitgebracht. Het is inderdaad geen alledaags feit dat wereldcinema over spiritualiteit een major haalt, maar dat heeft alles te maken met de steenrijke Christy Walton die in Amerika bekend is van de Wal-Mart-ketens. Christy was zo in de ban van de gelijknamige roman van Rudolfo Anaya dat ze er heel wat geld tegenaan gooide om de verfilming mogelijk te maken. De makers mochten zeer ver gaan. Christy vond het geen probleem dat de cast uit onbekenden bestond, het werd zelfs getolereerd dat de prent alternatieve kantjes vertoonde.


Het verhaal speelt zich af in het New Mexico tijdens de jaren 40 en wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de jonge Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). Zijn drie oudere broers zijn naar het front getrokken, gelukkig voor hem wordt de eenzaamheid verbroken wanneer Ultima (Miriam Colon) op het familietoneel verschijnt. Deze stokoude vrouw bezit vreemde gaven waardoor zij doodzieke mensen plotseling weer kerngezond kan maken. Sommige dorpelingen vertrouwen het zaakje niet en beschouwen Ultima als een oude heks. De jonge Antonio beleeft een hechte vriendschap met de curandera. De oude vrouw laat hem kennis maken met krachten van de spirituele wereld. Het gevolg daarvan is dat de jonge kerel begint te twijfelen aan zijn eigen katholieke geloof dat er door zijn ouders is ingepompt.


Wederom dus een verhaal dat sommige christenen de gordijnen injaagt. Net zoals sommige moraalridders dat vandaag met Aronofsky's versie van Noah willen, probeerden ook enkele individuen destijds om het boek van Rudolfo Anaya te bannen. Het is hun uiteindelijk niet gelukt, want het boek werd één van de belangrijkste werken uit de Chicano-literatuur en is vandaag zelfs een film geworden. De verfilming van Carl Franklin valt vooral op door de adembenemende fotografie van Paula Huidobro en de schitterende vertolkingen van zowel Luke Ganalon als Miriam Colon. Wegens het onderwerp is Bless Me, Ultima geen gemakkelijke brok geworden, wel een prachtvoorbeeld dat diepgravende cinema ook op een major kan.


Bless Me,Ultima is nu uit via Sony op dvd.

 

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16