tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

CARL FRANKLIN

Bless me, Ultima

Movie
World Cinema

[61/100]   

SONY SPHE
10/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it seems strange that a movie like Bless Me,Ultima has been released on Sony. You don't identify such a major with world cinema that deals about spirituality, but that has a lot to do with Christy Walton who is famous in America because of the Wal-Mart-chain. Christy was so fascinated by the novel from Rudolfo Anaya that she financed the whole project. The makers had a huge freedom. They were allowed to work with a cast of unknowns and it was no problem either that the movie had an alternative look.


The story is set in New Mexico during the 40's and is narrated by the young Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). His three brothers are fighting at the front. He's not alone as the old Ultima (Miriam Colon) joins the family. This old lady is a very strange one though. She has powers that can heal sick people, therefore some think Ultima is a witch. Whatever the truth is, Antonio builds up a very strong friendship with her. The curandera introduces him to strong spiritual forces and so the young guy is having doubts about his belief in catholicism.


Just another story that made Christians going awol. Just like some wants to forbid now Noah from Darren Aronofsky, some wanted to ban Rudolfo Anaya's book. Their plan didn't work. Not only became the novel one of the milestones in Chicano literature, it also became a movie. This picture by Carl Franklin is dominated by the breathtaking cinematography by Paula Huidobro and the excellent performances by both Luke Ganalon and Miriam Colon. Due to its subject, Bless Me, Ultima isn't exactly what you would call an easy film to digest. Apart from that, it's a wonderful example that meaningful and different cinema can have its place on a major.


Bless Me,Ultima is released on Sony op DVD.

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


NL

Misschien vind je het vreemd dat een film als Bless Me,Ultima op Sony werd uitgebracht. Het is inderdaad geen alledaags feit dat wereldcinema over spiritualiteit een major haalt, maar dat heeft alles te maken met de steenrijke Christy Walton die in Amerika bekend is van de Wal-Mart-ketens. Christy was zo in de ban van de gelijknamige roman van Rudolfo Anaya dat ze er heel wat geld tegenaan gooide om de verfilming mogelijk te maken. De makers mochten zeer ver gaan. Christy vond het geen probleem dat de cast uit onbekenden bestond, het werd zelfs getolereerd dat de prent alternatieve kantjes vertoonde.


Het verhaal speelt zich af in het New Mexico tijdens de jaren 40 en wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de jonge Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). Zijn drie oudere broers zijn naar het front getrokken, gelukkig voor hem wordt de eenzaamheid verbroken wanneer Ultima (Miriam Colon) op het familietoneel verschijnt. Deze stokoude vrouw bezit vreemde gaven waardoor zij doodzieke mensen plotseling weer kerngezond kan maken. Sommige dorpelingen vertrouwen het zaakje niet en beschouwen Ultima als een oude heks. De jonge Antonio beleeft een hechte vriendschap met de curandera. De oude vrouw laat hem kennis maken met krachten van de spirituele wereld. Het gevolg daarvan is dat de jonge kerel begint te twijfelen aan zijn eigen katholieke geloof dat er door zijn ouders is ingepompt.


Wederom dus een verhaal dat sommige christenen de gordijnen injaagt. Net zoals sommige moraalridders dat vandaag met Aronofsky's versie van Noah willen, probeerden ook enkele individuen destijds om het boek van Rudolfo Anaya te bannen. Het is hun uiteindelijk niet gelukt, want het boek werd één van de belangrijkste werken uit de Chicano-literatuur en is vandaag zelfs een film geworden. De verfilming van Carl Franklin valt vooral op door de adembenemende fotografie van Paula Huidobro en de schitterende vertolkingen van zowel Luke Ganalon als Miriam Colon. Wegens het onderwerp is Bless Me, Ultima geen gemakkelijke brok geworden, wel een prachtvoorbeeld dat diepgravende cinema ook op een major kan.


Bless Me,Ultima is nu uit via Sony op dvd.

 

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap