tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre

CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES

Sorority Party Massacre

MovieCult movies
Horror

[55/100]   

Splendid Films
12/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps Sorority Party Massacre is not old enough to be graced as cult, but we guess that every movie with porn legend Ron Jeremy is cult. And if that’s not the case then we can justify ourselves by saying that this movie is based on all the ingredients from great slasher movies.

These words have to tell you everything about the whole story. Because yes, the script has an inferior role. In a deserted little village (Grizzly Cove, for your information) young babes are trained to take part of some miss-election. A police inspector from a great city discovers that every year a girl disappears over there. Because the corps can’t handle the extremely violent, ultra nervous Watts (Thomas Downey), his chief sends him to the place to clear the case. Revealing more would mean killing the thin story completely!

Nah good, there’s no around who buys a slasher movie for its story, not? And if you ever did, we feel pity for you! A good slasher movie has to contain lots of tension, be bloody and even a bit comical. Chris W. Freeman and Justin Jones certainly haven’t forgotten the third element!

Ed O'Ross (who you might remember as Nikolai from Six Feet Under) is excellent as the dumb sheriff, Ron Jeremy hilarious as the irritant colleague and even if Thomas Downey is breaking the world record of overacting, he stays funny too! Those who like to see some nude flesh will enjoy this horror flick too, but tension wise it’s a downer!

Sorority Party Massacre contains lots of great jokes, but the makers have forgotten to introduce the characters and so nobody gives a damn if they actually make it to the end or not! The movie isn’t original either, the best example is the opening scene that looks like a complete (cheap) rip off from Scream.

And yet, even if we’re not that kind about Sorority Party Massacre, we consider it as a tip, simply because it’s one of the most hilarious movies from last years!

Sorority Party Massacre is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Splendid Films.

 

Didier BECU
12/09/2014


NL

Sorority Party Massacre is misschien nog niet oud genoeg om met de cultstempel te worden bekroond, maar we veronderstellen dat elke film met pornolegende Ron Jeremy sowieso een heel klein beetje cult is. En mocht dat niet zo zijn, dan kunnen we je troosten met de gedachte dat de film in ieder geval uit de grootste slashercultprenten puurt.

Deze woorden moeten je eigenlijk nu al duidelijk maken dat het verhaal niet de minste rol speelt. In een godvergeten gat (Grizzly Cove) worden meisjes opgeleid om één of andere missverkiezing te winnen. Een politie-inspecteur uit een grote stad ontdekt dat er daar jaarlijks een meisje verdwijnt. Omdat het korps de brutale Watts (Thomas Downey) niet meer de baas kan wordt de opwindende vlegel naar het vissersdorpje gestuurd om de zaak uit te klaren. Meer vertellen we niet, want anders blijft er helemaal niets meer van het flinterdunne verhaaltje over!

Nu goed, omdat er geen mens een slasherfilm in huis halt wegens het verhaal (doe je dat wel, dan hebben we eerder medelijden met je!) is dat ook geen gemis. Een slasherfilm moet spannend, bloederig en komisch zijn. Vooral het derde element zijn Chris W. Freeman en Justin Jones niet vergeten!

Ed O'Ross (die je misschien nog kent als Nikolai uit Six Feet Under) is heerlijk als onbeholpen sheriff, Ron Jeremy dolkomisch als irritant ettertje en ook al is Thomas Downey het wereldrecord overacting aan het verbreken blijft ook hij grappig. Ook de liefhebbers van bloot vlees komen ruimschoots aan hun trekken (ha!), maar met de spanning is het heel wat minder gesteld. Sorority Party Massacre zit wel boordevol grappen, maar de makers vonden het niet nodig om de personages enigszins voor te stellen waardoor je het geen moer kan schelen wie het einde haalt of niet. Origineel kun je de film al evenmin noemen, zo lijkt bijv. de openingsscène net iets te veel op die van Scream.

En toch, ondanks al deze kritiek raden wij Sorority Party Massacre aan. Ten minste als je van dolkomische pulp houdt!

Sorority Party Massacre is vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd en Blu-ray via Splendid Films.

Didier BECU
12/09/2014


12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat