tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre

CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES

Sorority Party Massacre

MovieCult movies
Horror

[55/100]   

Splendid Films
12/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps Sorority Party Massacre is not old enough to be graced as cult, but we guess that every movie with porn legend Ron Jeremy is cult. And if that’s not the case then we can justify ourselves by saying that this movie is based on all the ingredients from great slasher movies.

These words have to tell you everything about the whole story. Because yes, the script has an inferior role. In a deserted little village (Grizzly Cove, for your information) young babes are trained to take part of some miss-election. A police inspector from a great city discovers that every year a girl disappears over there. Because the corps can’t handle the extremely violent, ultra nervous Watts (Thomas Downey), his chief sends him to the place to clear the case. Revealing more would mean killing the thin story completely!

Nah good, there’s no around who buys a slasher movie for its story, not? And if you ever did, we feel pity for you! A good slasher movie has to contain lots of tension, be bloody and even a bit comical. Chris W. Freeman and Justin Jones certainly haven’t forgotten the third element!

Ed O'Ross (who you might remember as Nikolai from Six Feet Under) is excellent as the dumb sheriff, Ron Jeremy hilarious as the irritant colleague and even if Thomas Downey is breaking the world record of overacting, he stays funny too! Those who like to see some nude flesh will enjoy this horror flick too, but tension wise it’s a downer!

Sorority Party Massacre contains lots of great jokes, but the makers have forgotten to introduce the characters and so nobody gives a damn if they actually make it to the end or not! The movie isn’t original either, the best example is the opening scene that looks like a complete (cheap) rip off from Scream.

And yet, even if we’re not that kind about Sorority Party Massacre, we consider it as a tip, simply because it’s one of the most hilarious movies from last years!

Sorority Party Massacre is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Splendid Films.

 

Didier BECU
12/09/2014


NL

Sorority Party Massacre is misschien nog niet oud genoeg om met de cultstempel te worden bekroond, maar we veronderstellen dat elke film met pornolegende Ron Jeremy sowieso een heel klein beetje cult is. En mocht dat niet zo zijn, dan kunnen we je troosten met de gedachte dat de film in ieder geval uit de grootste slashercultprenten puurt.

Deze woorden moeten je eigenlijk nu al duidelijk maken dat het verhaal niet de minste rol speelt. In een godvergeten gat (Grizzly Cove) worden meisjes opgeleid om één of andere missverkiezing te winnen. Een politie-inspecteur uit een grote stad ontdekt dat er daar jaarlijks een meisje verdwijnt. Omdat het korps de brutale Watts (Thomas Downey) niet meer de baas kan wordt de opwindende vlegel naar het vissersdorpje gestuurd om de zaak uit te klaren. Meer vertellen we niet, want anders blijft er helemaal niets meer van het flinterdunne verhaaltje over!

Nu goed, omdat er geen mens een slasherfilm in huis halt wegens het verhaal (doe je dat wel, dan hebben we eerder medelijden met je!) is dat ook geen gemis. Een slasherfilm moet spannend, bloederig en komisch zijn. Vooral het derde element zijn Chris W. Freeman en Justin Jones niet vergeten!

Ed O'Ross (die je misschien nog kent als Nikolai uit Six Feet Under) is heerlijk als onbeholpen sheriff, Ron Jeremy dolkomisch als irritant ettertje en ook al is Thomas Downey het wereldrecord overacting aan het verbreken blijft ook hij grappig. Ook de liefhebbers van bloot vlees komen ruimschoots aan hun trekken (ha!), maar met de spanning is het heel wat minder gesteld. Sorority Party Massacre zit wel boordevol grappen, maar de makers vonden het niet nodig om de personages enigszins voor te stellen waardoor je het geen moer kan schelen wie het einde haalt of niet. Origineel kun je de film al evenmin noemen, zo lijkt bijv. de openingsscène net iets te veel op die van Scream.

En toch, ondanks al deze kritiek raden wij Sorority Party Massacre aan. Ten minste als je van dolkomische pulp houdt!

Sorority Party Massacre is vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd en Blu-ray via Splendid Films.

Didier BECU
12/09/2014


12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre 12/09/2014 : CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES - Sorority Party Massacre

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence