tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii

PAUL W.S. ANDERSON

Pompeii

Movie
ActionHistorical

[63/100]   

Entertainment One
09/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Everybody knows Paul W.S. Anderson of course as the lucky bird who can share his bed with Milla Jovovich, but for the cinephile he’s the director who likes to exaggerate. There are lots of examples in his filmography: all the Resident Evil-films, Event Horizon, Alien Vs. Predator or the vehicle The Three Musketeers. With his newest production Pompeii the star direction goes further. With a huge budget in his pocket, Anderson can outlive himself with using all the available 3D-techniques. The result can be summarized as such: cinematographic it’s a failure, but visually seen Pompeii is a blast!

The story about the Roman city that has been destroyed in 79 after Christ by the volcano Vesuvius is a wet dream for every 3D-filmer. Strangely enough, Anderson has made a sort of Gladiator-rip off, at least if you don’t count the spectacular finale! And to please the popcorn lover the director has added a thin romance.

Milo (Kit Harington who you might better know as Jon Snow from Game Of Thrones) witnesses how the cruel senator Corvis (Kiefer Sutherland) murders his family. Milos life is spared, but he is forced to spend his days as a gladiator. The Celt as he’s called in the arenas is a feared contender who one day is moved from Rome to Pompeii. There he falls in love with Cassia (Emily Browning). And by all coincidences, this young heart is promised to (you can never guess it!): Corvis! 

No, Anderson hasn’t spend a long time to come up with this story. But so what? His aim is to please the young film audience, not the critics for whom he can do nothing good! Apart from that, we can say that the acting is rather mediocre. Emily Browning, the beautiful girl from Lemony Snicket's A Series Of Unfortunate Events is not exactly the new Meryl Streep and Kiefer Sutherland seems a bit silly in a toga!

And then there are those effects! For once you can bang your head to the wall if you don’t have some 3D-glasses at home as the visual effects are sublime! Did we hear someone say that this has nothing to do with film art? Well, we wouldn’t want to exchange it with say a Fellini, but Pompeii is impressive! It even makes you forget the silly script and bad acting. Yeah, movies are magic!

Pompeii is out on Blu-ray and DVD on E One.

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


NL

Paul W.S. Anderson kent natuurlijk iedereen omdat hij de gelukkige vogel is die dagelijks zijn bed met Milla Jovovich mag delen, maar de cinefiel die zijn wereld kent, weet natuurlijk ook dat hij bij uitstek de regisseur is die graag overdrijft. Er zijn voorbeelden genoeg daarvan: alle Resident Evil-films, Event Horizon, Alien Vs. Predator of het vehikel The Three Musketeers. Met zijn nieuwste Pompeii gaat hij zo waar nog een stapje verder. Dankzij een torenhoog budget mocht de regisseur zich volop met 3D-effecten uitleven. Het resultaat is dan ook op zo’n manier samen te vatten: cinematografisch een nul op alle fronten, maar qua visueel spektakel bijna ongenaakbaar.

Het verhaal van de Romeinse stad die in het jaar 79 na Christus door de vulkaan Vesuvius volledig werd weggeveegd is een natte droom voor iedere 3D-filmer. Vreemd genoeg maakte Anderson er (ten minste als je de spetterende finale niet meerekent) er in het eerste uur een Gladiator-afkooksel van. En om de popcornliefhebber helemaal in de watten te leggen borduurde de cineast er nog een luchtig liefdesverhaaltje aan vast.

Milo (Kit Harington die je wellicht beter als Jon Snow uit Game Of Thrones kent, ziet hoe zijn familie door de wreedaardige senator Corvis (Kiefer Sutherland) wordt afgeslacht. Milos leven wordt gespaard, maar hij mag wel de rest van zijn dagen als gladiator slijten. De Kelt zoals hij wordt genoemd is een geduchte tegenstander die op een bepaalde dag van Rome naar de arena van Pompeii verhuist. Hij wordt daar verliefd op Cassia (Emily Browning). Het toeval wil dat deze Romeinse schone beloofd is aan....hoe kan je het raden: Corvis!

Neen, lang heeft Anderson niet moeten nadenken over dit verhaaltje. Maar wat zou het? Anderson weet al lang dat hij het jonge bioscooppubliek moet paaien en niet de critici want die lusten zijn werken sowieso niet! Het acteerwerk is op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt flauwtjes. Emily Browning, het mooie meisje uit Lemony Snicket's A Series Of Unfortunate Events is niet meteen de nieuwe Meryl Streep en Kiefer Sutherland ziet er in toga tamelijk potsierlijk uit.

Maar dan zijn er natuurlijk die effecten mijnheer! Voor één keer mag je je kop tegen de muur slaan als je geen 3D-brilletje in je huiskamer hebt liggen want Pompeii is technisch verbluffend. Eens de vulkaan zijn lava heeft gespuwd wordt de kijker letterlijk en figuurlijk onder het pulp bedolven. Riep daar iemand dat zoiets niets met filmkunst heeft te maken? Wel, we zouden er een avondje Fellini niet voor willen missen, maar Pompeii is verdomme indrukwekkend. En zo wordt dat onnozele script en afgrijselijke vertolking nog bijzaak!

Pompeii is nu uit op Blu-ray en dvd via E One. Niet twijfelen, de Blu-ray kopen!

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii 09/09/2014 : PAUL W.S. ANDERSON - Pompeii

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall