tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man

DAVID GROVIC

The Bag Man

Movie
Crime

[50/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
08/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We could start this review by wondering how Robert De Niro (or John Cusack) ended up in such a production. But let’s not do that and let us give The Bag Man a chance. If you don’t count the potential (De Niro used to stayed one of the greatest actors from his generation) and the amateurism from director David Grovic then you can conclude that The Bag Man is a nice neo noir that can compete with many other B-movies, even if you will forget the day after that you’ve seen him.

Jack (John Cusack) is a crook who takes all the jobs he can get, as long as they serve him money. His newest job comes from mob moss Dagna (Robert De Niro). Jack has to pick up a bag and deliver it back to Dragna. The sole condition is that Jack may not look inside the bag to see the content. The man is more than happy as never before in his life he has earned his dollars so easy! But you get nothing for free in this life and when the bag man stops at the Oasis-motel things are getting very wrong. Jack meets the weirdest creatures you can think of and they all seem to have a huge interest in the bag. There is the handsome hooker Rivka (Rebecca Da Costa), a couple of mad pimps, a freaky motel owner (Crispin Glover) and some sadistic cops!

After a short time you’ll notice that Grovic is looking for that missing link between Tarantino and Lynch, but the debuting director simply has not the talent that is required for such a job. The problem is not De Niro who is (once again) acting on automatic pilot or the story that’s just too thin. No, it is simply because Grovic has made this crime movie just too dark! It’s a real hard job to see what is actually going on. The only light we notice is the appearance of Rebecca Da Costa who is excellent as femme fatale.

But good, The Bag Man is nice fodder for movie fans who are easily satisfied and who are on the bottom of their list when they’re at the DVD store. Shame about that darkness though!

The Bag Man is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
08/09/2014


NL

We zouden deze recensie kunnen beginnen met ons af te vragen hoe Robert De Niro (of tegenspeler John Cusack) in zo’n productie is beland. Maar laten we dat maar niet doen en The Bag Man een kans gunnen. Als je het potentieel (De Niro blijft nu eenmaal één van de allerbeste acteurs ooit) en het amateuristisch geknoei van regisseur David Grovic niet meerekent dan is The Bag Man een leuke neo noir die bij de grote hoop mag worden gegooid. Je verveelt je niet, maar de dag nadien ben je wel vergeten dat je er anderhalf uur naar hebt gekeken!

Jack (John Cusack) is een misdadiger die alle klusjes aanvaardt zonder er echt over na te denken, zo lang het maar poen oplevert. De nieuwste opdracht komt van maffiabaas Dragna (Robert De Niro). Jack moet een tas ophalen en die dan opnieuw aan Dragna bezorgen. De enige voorwaarde is dat Jack niet in deze tas mag kijken. Jack is in de zevende hemel, want nog nooit heeft hij op zo’n simpele manier zo veel geld verdiend! Je krijg echter niets voor niets in het leven en tijdens een tussenstop in een motel loopt het aardig mis. Jack ontmoet er de meest rare snuiters die allen een grote interesse in de tas blijken te hebben. Zo is er het knappe hoertje Rivka (Rebecca Da Costa), een duo krankzinnige pooiers, een maffe moteleigenaar (Crispin Glover) en een stel sadistische flikken die de tas in hun bezit willen.

Na enkele minuten heb je als kijker vrij vlug door dat Grovic op zoek is naar de ideale bastaard van Tarantino en Lynch, maar de debuterende cineast heeft daar wel niet het nodige talent voor. Boosdoener is niet De Niro die (nog maar eens) op automatische piloot acteert of het verhaal waarin net iets te weinig gebeurt, wel het feit dat Grovic er voor heeft gekozen om zijn misdaadprent bijna volledig in het duister te laten afspelen. Het enige lichtpuntje is Rebecca Da Costa die haar rol als femme fatale overtuigend weet te brengen. Een spijtige zaak, want sommige scènes (bijv. die in het politiekantoor) zijn wel vermakend.

Nu goed, The Bag Man is ideaal geschikt voor filmfans die de lat niet te hoog leggen en tijdens een videotheekbezoek rond zijn met hun lijstje. De duisternis krijg je er gratis bij!

The Bag Man is uit op dvd en Blu-ray op Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
08/09/2014


08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat