tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man

DAVID GROVIC

The Bag Man

Movie
Crime

[50/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
08/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We could start this review by wondering how Robert De Niro (or John Cusack) ended up in such a production. But let’s not do that and let us give The Bag Man a chance. If you don’t count the potential (De Niro used to stayed one of the greatest actors from his generation) and the amateurism from director David Grovic then you can conclude that The Bag Man is a nice neo noir that can compete with many other B-movies, even if you will forget the day after that you’ve seen him.

Jack (John Cusack) is a crook who takes all the jobs he can get, as long as they serve him money. His newest job comes from mob moss Dagna (Robert De Niro). Jack has to pick up a bag and deliver it back to Dragna. The sole condition is that Jack may not look inside the bag to see the content. The man is more than happy as never before in his life he has earned his dollars so easy! But you get nothing for free in this life and when the bag man stops at the Oasis-motel things are getting very wrong. Jack meets the weirdest creatures you can think of and they all seem to have a huge interest in the bag. There is the handsome hooker Rivka (Rebecca Da Costa), a couple of mad pimps, a freaky motel owner (Crispin Glover) and some sadistic cops!

After a short time you’ll notice that Grovic is looking for that missing link between Tarantino and Lynch, but the debuting director simply has not the talent that is required for such a job. The problem is not De Niro who is (once again) acting on automatic pilot or the story that’s just too thin. No, it is simply because Grovic has made this crime movie just too dark! It’s a real hard job to see what is actually going on. The only light we notice is the appearance of Rebecca Da Costa who is excellent as femme fatale.

But good, The Bag Man is nice fodder for movie fans who are easily satisfied and who are on the bottom of their list when they’re at the DVD store. Shame about that darkness though!

The Bag Man is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
08/09/2014


NL

We zouden deze recensie kunnen beginnen met ons af te vragen hoe Robert De Niro (of tegenspeler John Cusack) in zo’n productie is beland. Maar laten we dat maar niet doen en The Bag Man een kans gunnen. Als je het potentieel (De Niro blijft nu eenmaal één van de allerbeste acteurs ooit) en het amateuristisch geknoei van regisseur David Grovic niet meerekent dan is The Bag Man een leuke neo noir die bij de grote hoop mag worden gegooid. Je verveelt je niet, maar de dag nadien ben je wel vergeten dat je er anderhalf uur naar hebt gekeken!

Jack (John Cusack) is een misdadiger die alle klusjes aanvaardt zonder er echt over na te denken, zo lang het maar poen oplevert. De nieuwste opdracht komt van maffiabaas Dragna (Robert De Niro). Jack moet een tas ophalen en die dan opnieuw aan Dragna bezorgen. De enige voorwaarde is dat Jack niet in deze tas mag kijken. Jack is in de zevende hemel, want nog nooit heeft hij op zo’n simpele manier zo veel geld verdiend! Je krijg echter niets voor niets in het leven en tijdens een tussenstop in een motel loopt het aardig mis. Jack ontmoet er de meest rare snuiters die allen een grote interesse in de tas blijken te hebben. Zo is er het knappe hoertje Rivka (Rebecca Da Costa), een duo krankzinnige pooiers, een maffe moteleigenaar (Crispin Glover) en een stel sadistische flikken die de tas in hun bezit willen.

Na enkele minuten heb je als kijker vrij vlug door dat Grovic op zoek is naar de ideale bastaard van Tarantino en Lynch, maar de debuterende cineast heeft daar wel niet het nodige talent voor. Boosdoener is niet De Niro die (nog maar eens) op automatische piloot acteert of het verhaal waarin net iets te weinig gebeurt, wel het feit dat Grovic er voor heeft gekozen om zijn misdaadprent bijna volledig in het duister te laten afspelen. Het enige lichtpuntje is Rebecca Da Costa die haar rol als femme fatale overtuigend weet te brengen. Een spijtige zaak, want sommige scènes (bijv. die in het politiekantoor) zijn wel vermakend.

Nu goed, The Bag Man is ideaal geschikt voor filmfans die de lat niet te hoog leggen en tijdens een videotheekbezoek rond zijn met hun lijstje. De duisternis krijg je er gratis bij!

The Bag Man is uit op dvd en Blu-ray op Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
08/09/2014


08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)