tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man

DAVID GROVIC

The Bag Man

Movie
Crime

[50/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
08/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We could start this review by wondering how Robert De Niro (or John Cusack) ended up in such a production. But let’s not do that and let us give The Bag Man a chance. If you don’t count the potential (De Niro used to stayed one of the greatest actors from his generation) and the amateurism from director David Grovic then you can conclude that The Bag Man is a nice neo noir that can compete with many other B-movies, even if you will forget the day after that you’ve seen him.

Jack (John Cusack) is a crook who takes all the jobs he can get, as long as they serve him money. His newest job comes from mob moss Dagna (Robert De Niro). Jack has to pick up a bag and deliver it back to Dragna. The sole condition is that Jack may not look inside the bag to see the content. The man is more than happy as never before in his life he has earned his dollars so easy! But you get nothing for free in this life and when the bag man stops at the Oasis-motel things are getting very wrong. Jack meets the weirdest creatures you can think of and they all seem to have a huge interest in the bag. There is the handsome hooker Rivka (Rebecca Da Costa), a couple of mad pimps, a freaky motel owner (Crispin Glover) and some sadistic cops!

After a short time you’ll notice that Grovic is looking for that missing link between Tarantino and Lynch, but the debuting director simply has not the talent that is required for such a job. The problem is not De Niro who is (once again) acting on automatic pilot or the story that’s just too thin. No, it is simply because Grovic has made this crime movie just too dark! It’s a real hard job to see what is actually going on. The only light we notice is the appearance of Rebecca Da Costa who is excellent as femme fatale.

But good, The Bag Man is nice fodder for movie fans who are easily satisfied and who are on the bottom of their list when they’re at the DVD store. Shame about that darkness though!

The Bag Man is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
08/09/2014


NL

We zouden deze recensie kunnen beginnen met ons af te vragen hoe Robert De Niro (of tegenspeler John Cusack) in zo’n productie is beland. Maar laten we dat maar niet doen en The Bag Man een kans gunnen. Als je het potentieel (De Niro blijft nu eenmaal één van de allerbeste acteurs ooit) en het amateuristisch geknoei van regisseur David Grovic niet meerekent dan is The Bag Man een leuke neo noir die bij de grote hoop mag worden gegooid. Je verveelt je niet, maar de dag nadien ben je wel vergeten dat je er anderhalf uur naar hebt gekeken!

Jack (John Cusack) is een misdadiger die alle klusjes aanvaardt zonder er echt over na te denken, zo lang het maar poen oplevert. De nieuwste opdracht komt van maffiabaas Dragna (Robert De Niro). Jack moet een tas ophalen en die dan opnieuw aan Dragna bezorgen. De enige voorwaarde is dat Jack niet in deze tas mag kijken. Jack is in de zevende hemel, want nog nooit heeft hij op zo’n simpele manier zo veel geld verdiend! Je krijg echter niets voor niets in het leven en tijdens een tussenstop in een motel loopt het aardig mis. Jack ontmoet er de meest rare snuiters die allen een grote interesse in de tas blijken te hebben. Zo is er het knappe hoertje Rivka (Rebecca Da Costa), een duo krankzinnige pooiers, een maffe moteleigenaar (Crispin Glover) en een stel sadistische flikken die de tas in hun bezit willen.

Na enkele minuten heb je als kijker vrij vlug door dat Grovic op zoek is naar de ideale bastaard van Tarantino en Lynch, maar de debuterende cineast heeft daar wel niet het nodige talent voor. Boosdoener is niet De Niro die (nog maar eens) op automatische piloot acteert of het verhaal waarin net iets te weinig gebeurt, wel het feit dat Grovic er voor heeft gekozen om zijn misdaadprent bijna volledig in het duister te laten afspelen. Het enige lichtpuntje is Rebecca Da Costa die haar rol als femme fatale overtuigend weet te brengen. Een spijtige zaak, want sommige scènes (bijv. die in het politiekantoor) zijn wel vermakend.

Nu goed, The Bag Man is ideaal geschikt voor filmfans die de lat niet te hoog leggen en tijdens een videotheekbezoek rond zijn met hun lijstje. De duisternis krijg je er gratis bij!

The Bag Man is uit op dvd en Blu-ray op Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
08/09/2014


08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man 08/09/2014 : DAVID GROVIC - The Bag Man

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes