tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : THREE WINTERS - Chroma

THREE WINTERS

Chroma

MusicCD
Electro PopKrautrockSoundtrack

[87/100]   

Termo Records
09/09/2014, Didier BECU

Good music doesn’t need words. Wagner or Bach could express with the use of notes emotions, words simply can’t. That is exactly what goes through your mind when hearing the debut Chroma of Three Winters: the Oslo based electronica trio of Kim Sølve, Anders B. Lars and Fredrik Frøislie. Well, they use words, but you won’t understand any of them as they’re all performed with vocoders.

The debut from these Norwegians is a blast. A masterpiece! Great words indeed, but that happens when your electronic music is based on artists like John Carpenter, Goblin, Vangelis, Tangerine Dream or Giorgio Moroder!

All songs have a certain style you’re familiar with: be it the soundtrack of a John Carpenter-movie or an Argento-giallo, but these three musicians are clever enough to come up with real own compositions, not rip-offs.

You can surely say it’s all bombastic, even Wagner-esque!

Chroma takes you back into time without sounding outdated, a retro sound that sounds fresh! They have a Krautock-atmosphere without sounding too complicated. I mean, you can hear some Can in here, but the tracks are perfect for the dancefloor.

They’re the kind of band that let you realise that we need to pick up Spiral by Vangelis again rather than the newest Coldplay. It probably has something to do with my fascination for Dario Argento and Carpenter but this album has already a place in my Top 10 of 2014.

 Chroma is released on 19 September 2014 through Termo Records.

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


 

Next reviews
DAVID GROVIC • The Bag Man
GARETH EDWARDS • Godzilla
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • What I don't see
MINIUT MACHINE • Live and Destroy
DON MICHAEL PAUL • Jarhead 2 Field Of Fire
EDOUARD MOLINARO • MOVIE CLASSICS : La Cage Aux Folles
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Tallest Peak
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets