tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : THREE WINTERS - Chroma

THREE WINTERS

Chroma

MusicCD
Electro PopKrautrockSoundtrack

[87/100]   

Termo Records
09/09/2014, Didier BECU

Good music doesn’t need words. Wagner or Bach could express with the use of notes emotions, words simply can’t. That is exactly what goes through your mind when hearing the debut Chroma of Three Winters: the Oslo based electronica trio of Kim Sølve, Anders B. Lars and Fredrik Frøislie. Well, they use words, but you won’t understand any of them as they’re all performed with vocoders.

The debut from these Norwegians is a blast. A masterpiece! Great words indeed, but that happens when your electronic music is based on artists like John Carpenter, Goblin, Vangelis, Tangerine Dream or Giorgio Moroder!

All songs have a certain style you’re familiar with: be it the soundtrack of a John Carpenter-movie or an Argento-giallo, but these three musicians are clever enough to come up with real own compositions, not rip-offs.

You can surely say it’s all bombastic, even Wagner-esque!

Chroma takes you back into time without sounding outdated, a retro sound that sounds fresh! They have a Krautock-atmosphere without sounding too complicated. I mean, you can hear some Can in here, but the tracks are perfect for the dancefloor.

They’re the kind of band that let you realise that we need to pick up Spiral by Vangelis again rather than the newest Coldplay. It probably has something to do with my fascination for Dario Argento and Carpenter but this album has already a place in my Top 10 of 2014.

 Chroma is released on 19 September 2014 through Termo Records.

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


 

Next reviews
DAVID GROVIC • The Bag Man
GARETH EDWARDS • Godzilla
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • What I don't see
MINIUT MACHINE • Live and Destroy
DON MICHAEL PAUL • Jarhead 2 Field Of Fire
EDOUARD MOLINARO • MOVIE CLASSICS : La Cage Aux Folles
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Tallest Peak
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus