tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

Tracks

Movie
BiographyDrama

[54/100]   

A-Film
11/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some time ago we tried to convince our readers to buy a ticket for a very unusual film. Some weeks later we noticed that Tracks wasn’t exactly what you’d call a hit. With this movie now being released on both DVD and Blu-ray we won’t change our words (of course not!), but maybe you can change your mind? The truth however forces us to tell that not everybody will like Tracks. It’s even more difficult to convince people to watch a film that deals about (hmmm) camels! That was marketing wise probably the biggest problem. Shame!

In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.

Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!

Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!

Tracks is out on DVD and Blu-ray on A-Film. A tip? We already told you, not?

 

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


NL

Een tijdje geleden probeerden we onze lezers warm te maken om eens een bioscoopkaartje voor een zeer ongewone film te kopen. Ondertussen verdween Tracks in geen tijd uit de bioscoopcomplexen, maar dat betekent geenszins dat we onze woorden nu deze prent op Blu-ray is uitgebracht moeten veranderen. De waarheid gebiedt ons evenwel om te zeggen dat Tracks zeker geen spek voor ieders bek is! Want wie wil er nu een film over kamelen zien? Juist, bijna niemand dus en dat is waarschijnlijk ook het grote struikelblok om deze film een degelijke marketing te bezorgen. Jammer.

Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de aandacht van de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.

Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.

Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!

Deze niet alledaagse, maar zeker fijne film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray en dit door A-Film.

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks

 

Next reviews
NEONSOL • Citadel
• UNFORGETTABLE -SEASON 2
RITHY PANH • The Missing Picture
METROLAND • Thalys
PAUL W.S. ANDERSON • Pompeii
• APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1
THREE WINTERS • Chroma
DAVID GROVIC • The Bag Man
GARETH EDWARDS • Godzilla
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • What I don't see

 

Other reviews from JOHN CURRAN
JOHN CURRAN • FILM: Tracks

 

Same combination of genres: BIOGRAPHY + DRAMA
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ANGELINA JOLIE • Unbroken
JEAN-MARC VALLEE • Dallas Buyers Club
OLIVIER DAHAN • Grace Of Monaco
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
LEE DANIELS • The Butler
ROB EPSTEIN & JEFFREY FRIEDMAN • Lovelace
STEVEN SODERBERGH • Behind The Candelabra

 

Same genre: BIOGRAPHY
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
CLINT EASTWOOD • American Sniper
JAMES MARSH • The Theory Of Everything
MORTEN TYDLUM • The Imitation Game
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA • Tucker: The Man And His Dreams

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap