tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

Tracks

Movie
BiographyDrama

[54/100]   

A-Film
11/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some time ago we tried to convince our readers to buy a ticket for a very unusual film. Some weeks later we noticed that Tracks wasn’t exactly what you’d call a hit. With this movie now being released on both DVD and Blu-ray we won’t change our words (of course not!), but maybe you can change your mind? The truth however forces us to tell that not everybody will like Tracks. It’s even more difficult to convince people to watch a film that deals about (hmmm) camels! That was marketing wise probably the biggest problem. Shame!

In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.

Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!

Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!

Tracks is out on DVD and Blu-ray on A-Film. A tip? We already told you, not?

 

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


NL

Een tijdje geleden probeerden we onze lezers warm te maken om eens een bioscoopkaartje voor een zeer ongewone film te kopen. Ondertussen verdween Tracks in geen tijd uit de bioscoopcomplexen, maar dat betekent geenszins dat we onze woorden nu deze prent op Blu-ray is uitgebracht moeten veranderen. De waarheid gebiedt ons evenwel om te zeggen dat Tracks zeker geen spek voor ieders bek is! Want wie wil er nu een film over kamelen zien? Juist, bijna niemand dus en dat is waarschijnlijk ook het grote struikelblok om deze film een degelijke marketing te bezorgen. Jammer.

Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de aandacht van de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.

Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.

Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!

Deze niet alledaagse, maar zeker fijne film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray en dit door A-Film.

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks

 

Next reviews
NEONSOL • Citadel
• UNFORGETTABLE -SEASON 2
RITHY PANH • The Missing Picture
METROLAND • Thalys
PAUL W.S. ANDERSON • Pompeii
• APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1
THREE WINTERS • Chroma
DAVID GROVIC • The Bag Man
GARETH EDWARDS • Godzilla
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • What I don't see

 

Other reviews from JOHN CURRAN
JOHN CURRAN • FILM: Tracks

 

Same combination of genres: BIOGRAPHY + DRAMA
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ANGELINA JOLIE • Unbroken
JEAN-MARC VALLEE • Dallas Buyers Club
OLIVIER DAHAN • Grace Of Monaco
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
LEE DANIELS • The Butler
ROB EPSTEIN & JEFFREY FRIEDMAN • Lovelace
STEVEN SODERBERGH • Behind The Candelabra

 

Same genre: BIOGRAPHY
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
CLINT EASTWOOD • American Sniper
JAMES MARSH • The Theory Of Everything
MORTEN TYDLUM • The Imitation Game
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA • Tucker: The Man And His Dreams

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion