tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

FILM: Tracks

MovieCinema
Biography
A-Film
27/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you already noticed this for quite a time, but not only wants Peek-A-Boo to inform you about the alternative musicscene, since shortly we also have added the wonderful world from the movies to that. And there’s nothing that can stop us. Apart from informing you about what’s hot on the DVD-market, we also will focus on what’s going on at the silver screen. The first movie that is put in the spotlight is Tracks.


This movie about camels (hmmm, yes!) will be in the Belgian theatres from 2nd July on and is recommended for fans of nature movies. Forget your dirty thoughts as we’re talking about real nature movies!


In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.


Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!


Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!


Tracks is distributed by A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


NL

Je hebt het wellicht al een tijdje gemerkt (en dat kan ook niet anders!) maar Peek-A-Boo wil onze lezers niet alleen onderdompelen in de wereld van de alternatieve muziek, ook het medium film heeft sinds kort bij ons zijn vaste stek gevonden. We doen daar nog een schepje bovenop, want naast informatie over wat er zich op de dvd-markt afspeelt, richten wij voortaan ook onze ogen op het witte doek.

Tracks is meteen de prent die de spits mag afbijten. Deze kamelenfilm (hmm, jawel!) loopt vanaf 2 juli in onze zalen en is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van natuurfilms. Neen, we hebben het niet over blote billen, maar wel over de echte natuur!


Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.


Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.


Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!


Tracks is uitgebracht via A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles