tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

FILM: Tracks

MovieCinema
Biography
A-Film
27/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you already noticed this for quite a time, but not only wants Peek-A-Boo to inform you about the alternative musicscene, since shortly we also have added the wonderful world from the movies to that. And there’s nothing that can stop us. Apart from informing you about what’s hot on the DVD-market, we also will focus on what’s going on at the silver screen. The first movie that is put in the spotlight is Tracks.


This movie about camels (hmmm, yes!) will be in the Belgian theatres from 2nd July on and is recommended for fans of nature movies. Forget your dirty thoughts as we’re talking about real nature movies!


In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.


Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!


Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!


Tracks is distributed by A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


NL

Je hebt het wellicht al een tijdje gemerkt (en dat kan ook niet anders!) maar Peek-A-Boo wil onze lezers niet alleen onderdompelen in de wereld van de alternatieve muziek, ook het medium film heeft sinds kort bij ons zijn vaste stek gevonden. We doen daar nog een schepje bovenop, want naast informatie over wat er zich op de dvd-markt afspeelt, richten wij voortaan ook onze ogen op het witte doek.

Tracks is meteen de prent die de spits mag afbijten. Deze kamelenfilm (hmm, jawel!) loopt vanaf 2 juli in onze zalen en is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van natuurfilms. Neen, we hebben het niet over blote billen, maar wel over de echte natuur!


Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.


Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.


Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!


Tracks is uitgebracht via A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis