tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

FILM: Tracks

MovieCinema
Biography
A-Film
27/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you already noticed this for quite a time, but not only wants Peek-A-Boo to inform you about the alternative musicscene, since shortly we also have added the wonderful world from the movies to that. And there’s nothing that can stop us. Apart from informing you about what’s hot on the DVD-market, we also will focus on what’s going on at the silver screen. The first movie that is put in the spotlight is Tracks.


This movie about camels (hmmm, yes!) will be in the Belgian theatres from 2nd July on and is recommended for fans of nature movies. Forget your dirty thoughts as we’re talking about real nature movies!


In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.


Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!


Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!


Tracks is distributed by A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


NL

Je hebt het wellicht al een tijdje gemerkt (en dat kan ook niet anders!) maar Peek-A-Boo wil onze lezers niet alleen onderdompelen in de wereld van de alternatieve muziek, ook het medium film heeft sinds kort bij ons zijn vaste stek gevonden. We doen daar nog een schepje bovenop, want naast informatie over wat er zich op de dvd-markt afspeelt, richten wij voortaan ook onze ogen op het witte doek.

Tracks is meteen de prent die de spits mag afbijten. Deze kamelenfilm (hmm, jawel!) loopt vanaf 2 juli in onze zalen en is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van natuurfilms. Neen, we hebben het niet over blote billen, maar wel over de echte natuur!


Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.


Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.


Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!


Tracks is uitgebracht via A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS