tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire

EVAN TRAMEL

Black Water Vampire

Movie
Horror

[52/100]   

Image Entertainment
04/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Do you also get the shivers when hearing the word mockumentary? You know, a documentary that is not a documentary. That's of course a genius thing as you can make very cheap movies in such a way. And with a little bit of luck, you can become very rich with it, just like it was the case with the makers of The Blair Witch Project. At least that was so... The clones were becoming worse and the public was fed up with them. In an interview producer Jesse Baget declared that he was surprised that no one has made a mockumentary about a vampire so far. And look he convinced Evan Tramel to shoot such a picture and after 15 days the job was done.


21 December is a very special date for Blackwater Creek in Fawnskin, Washington. Since 1972 every year someone got murdered. Everyone accuses Raymond Banks (Bill Oberst Jr.) of being the serial killer, but local resident Danielle (Danielle Lozeau) doesn't believe this, plus all the victims are bitten in the neck. Danielle tries everything to prevent an innocent man ends up on death row and therefore she mobilises her friends Andrea (Andrea Monier) and Rob (Robin Steffen) to investigate the case. They hire Anthony (Anthony Fanelli) who films everything and of course, as expected, there are some supernatural forces involved in here.

I guess every horror fan has to face the same problem: you'll find gems in the genre, but there's a lot of crap in the big heap. We're not going to tell you that this movie is a masterpiece as no one would believe this. The truth however is that Black Water Vampire is better than the rest. Not because of the CG-effects, as in all honesty they're rather silly. The positive thing about this movie is that the acting is decent and the script is interesting enough to keep our attention for 90 minutes going.


Black Water Vampire is now out on DVD on Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
04/04/2014


NL

Bibbert u ook wanneer u het woord mockumentary hoort? Je weet wel, zo’n documentaire die eigenlijk geen documentaire is. Omdat je zo’n film met een eenvoudig toestel kan opnemen (de toerist die door het woud met zijn camera trekt) zijn deze producties spotgoedkoop. Mits wat geluk kun je er zelfs zoals de makers van The Blair Witch Project stinkend rijk mee worden. Ten minste dat was zo. De klonen werden immers alsmaar slechter waardoor het publiek hun buik vol had van deze gedrochten. In een interview verklaarde producent Jesse Baget dat hij verbaasd was over het feit dat er tot dusver nog geen mockumentary over een vampier was gemaakt. En kijk, hij gaf de opdracht door aan de debuterende regisseur Evan Tramel en na 15 dagen was de klus geklaard.


21 December is een zeer speciale dag voor Blackwater Creek in Fawnskin, Washington. Sinds 1972 wordt daar om de tien jaar een mens vermoord teruggevonden. De arme Raymond Banks (Bill Oberst Jr.) wordt van deze seriemoorden beschuldigd, maar daar gelooft Danielle (Danielle Lozeau) niets van. De slachtoffers hebben immers vreemde beten in de nek. Zij wil voorkomen dat een onschuldige man de doodstraf krijgt en vraagt daarom aan haar vrienden Andrea (Andrea Monier) en Rob (Robin Steffen) om het zaakje uit te pluizen. Ze huren Anthony (Anthony Fanelli) in die alles zal filmen, en jawel....er zijn bovennatuurlijke krachten in het spel.


Iedere griezelfanaat heeft hetzelfde lot: tussen de zeldzame parels zit er ongelooflijk veel rommel. We gaan niet beweren dat Black Water Vampire een meesterwerk is. Wie zou dat trouwens geloven? Wel is deze mockumentary beter dan zijn soortgenoten. Niet wegens de CG-effecten, want die zijn om het beleefd uit te drukken vrij onnozel. Wel wordt er in Black Water Vampire behoorlijk geacteerd en is het script voldoende spannend om de 90 minuten durende filmrit zonder verveling uit te zitten.


Geen verrassingen, maar al bij al een degelijke horrorfilm dus. Liefhebbers kunnen zich Black Water Vampire aanschaffen via het Britse Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
04/04/2014


04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel