tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

KADIR BALCI

Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Movie
Comedy

[64/100]   

Paradiso
19/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It makes no sense that Flemish filmmakers copy Hollywood, simply because the result is often downright laughable. No, it is better to make cinema about real life, something that also understood Kadir Balci. At times it seems like Marry Me is a sequel to his debut, because just like in Turquaze it is about the clash between two cultures. The bickering (with often violent outbursts) mainly takes place during the wedding banquet because the comedy offers you a look inside 48 hours in the life of a couple newlyweds.

After just three months teacher Jurgen (Dries Sutter) knows that his colleague Sibel (Sirin Zahed) is the woman of his life. The families are less happy with the choice. Can a Turkish woman make a Flemish boy happy? Or can a Fleming protect a Turkish woman? These are indeed clichés that we're daily confronted with. You can write books about this issue, but the Ghent-based filmmaker solves this in an almost burlesque manner. That's not without real danger, because by the use of stereotypical characters (the macho brother to name one.) the real messages might go away. Despite the subject, it clearly wasn't Balci's intention to change the world, but simply show that prejudices are usually based on lies.

It was clearly the intention to create a feel-good movie with a Flemish-Turkish touch. And yes, when the public rushes for this kind of movies that are made in America, why not one in Flanders? The high realism (the actors could be your neighbours) of the performances put the movie above the average level. It is not art, but certainly entertaining. Now out on DVD at Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

NL

Het heeft geen zin dat Vlaamse cineasten met Hollywood concurreren, gewoonweg omdat het resultaat vaak ronduit lachwekkend is. Neen, het is beter om cinema te maken die uit het leven is gegrepen en in het geval van Kadir Balci draait zoiets bijna automatisch op een volkse film uit. Bij momenten lijkt het wel alsof Trouw Met Mij een sequel is van zijn debuut, want net als in Turquaze gaat het hier ook over de clash tussen twee culturen. Het gekibbel (met vaak gewelddadige uitbarstingen) speelt zich grotendeels in een parochiale kring af omdat de komedie je een blik biedt op 48 uur uit het leven van een koppel jonggehuwden.

Na amper drie maanden weet leraar Jurgen (Dries de Sutter) dat zijn collega Sibel (Sirin Zahed) de vrouw van zijn leven is. De families zijn minder gelukkig met de keuze. Kan een Turkse vrouw een Vlaamse jongen gelukkig maken? Of kan die Vlaming de Turkse wel beschermen? Het zijn clichés die dagelijks de revue passeren en Balci heeft er dan ook een komedie rond opgebouwd. Je zou over deze problematiek ellenlange boeken kunnen schrijven, maar de Gentse cineast lost dat op een bijna burleske manier op. Echt zonder gevaar is dat niet, want door het gebruik van stereotiepe karakters (de macho broer bijv.) dreigen alle boodschappen de mist in te gaan. Ondanks het onderwerp is het wellicht Balcis bedoeling niet om de wereld te verbeteren, maar gewoon op een volkse manier aantonen dat vooroordelen meestal op leugens zijn gebaseerd.

Op cinematografisch vlak valt deze productie nauwelijks op. Het was dan ook overduidelijk de bedoeling om een feelgoodfilm te realiseren met een Vlaams-Turks kantje. En tja, als de bioscoopzalen stormlopen voor dit soort Amerikaanse producties, waarom zou dat in Vlaanderen niet mogen? Dankzij het hoge realisme (de acteurs konden je buurman/vrouw zijn) zijn de vertolkingen boven het gemiddelde niveau. Kunst is het niet (misschien zelfs niet echt film), wel degelijk entertainment. Nu uit op Paradiso op dvd.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty