tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

KADIR BALCI

Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Movie
Comedy

[64/100]   

Paradiso
19/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It makes no sense that Flemish filmmakers copy Hollywood, simply because the result is often downright laughable. No, it is better to make cinema about real life, something that also understood Kadir Balci. At times it seems like Marry Me is a sequel to his debut, because just like in Turquaze it is about the clash between two cultures. The bickering (with often violent outbursts) mainly takes place during the wedding banquet because the comedy offers you a look inside 48 hours in the life of a couple newlyweds.

After just three months teacher Jurgen (Dries Sutter) knows that his colleague Sibel (Sirin Zahed) is the woman of his life. The families are less happy with the choice. Can a Turkish woman make a Flemish boy happy? Or can a Fleming protect a Turkish woman? These are indeed clichés that we're daily confronted with. You can write books about this issue, but the Ghent-based filmmaker solves this in an almost burlesque manner. That's not without real danger, because by the use of stereotypical characters (the macho brother to name one.) the real messages might go away. Despite the subject, it clearly wasn't Balci's intention to change the world, but simply show that prejudices are usually based on lies.

It was clearly the intention to create a feel-good movie with a Flemish-Turkish touch. And yes, when the public rushes for this kind of movies that are made in America, why not one in Flanders? The high realism (the actors could be your neighbours) of the performances put the movie above the average level. It is not art, but certainly entertaining. Now out on DVD at Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

NL

Het heeft geen zin dat Vlaamse cineasten met Hollywood concurreren, gewoonweg omdat het resultaat vaak ronduit lachwekkend is. Neen, het is beter om cinema te maken die uit het leven is gegrepen en in het geval van Kadir Balci draait zoiets bijna automatisch op een volkse film uit. Bij momenten lijkt het wel alsof Trouw Met Mij een sequel is van zijn debuut, want net als in Turquaze gaat het hier ook over de clash tussen twee culturen. Het gekibbel (met vaak gewelddadige uitbarstingen) speelt zich grotendeels in een parochiale kring af omdat de komedie je een blik biedt op 48 uur uit het leven van een koppel jonggehuwden.

Na amper drie maanden weet leraar Jurgen (Dries de Sutter) dat zijn collega Sibel (Sirin Zahed) de vrouw van zijn leven is. De families zijn minder gelukkig met de keuze. Kan een Turkse vrouw een Vlaamse jongen gelukkig maken? Of kan die Vlaming de Turkse wel beschermen? Het zijn clichés die dagelijks de revue passeren en Balci heeft er dan ook een komedie rond opgebouwd. Je zou over deze problematiek ellenlange boeken kunnen schrijven, maar de Gentse cineast lost dat op een bijna burleske manier op. Echt zonder gevaar is dat niet, want door het gebruik van stereotiepe karakters (de macho broer bijv.) dreigen alle boodschappen de mist in te gaan. Ondanks het onderwerp is het wellicht Balcis bedoeling niet om de wereld te verbeteren, maar gewoon op een volkse manier aantonen dat vooroordelen meestal op leugens zijn gebaseerd.

Op cinematografisch vlak valt deze productie nauwelijks op. Het was dan ook overduidelijk de bedoeling om een feelgoodfilm te realiseren met een Vlaams-Turks kantje. En tja, als de bioscoopzalen stormlopen voor dit soort Amerikaanse producties, waarom zou dat in Vlaanderen niet mogen? Dankzij het hoge realisme (de acteurs konden je buurman/vrouw zijn) zijn de vertolkingen boven het gemiddelde niveau. Kunst is het niet (misschien zelfs niet echt film), wel degelijk entertainment. Nu uit op Paradiso op dvd.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death