tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

KADIR BALCI

Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Movie
Comedy

[64/100]   

Paradiso
19/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It makes no sense that Flemish filmmakers copy Hollywood, simply because the result is often downright laughable. No, it is better to make cinema about real life, something that also understood Kadir Balci. At times it seems like Marry Me is a sequel to his debut, because just like in Turquaze it is about the clash between two cultures. The bickering (with often violent outbursts) mainly takes place during the wedding banquet because the comedy offers you a look inside 48 hours in the life of a couple newlyweds.

After just three months teacher Jurgen (Dries Sutter) knows that his colleague Sibel (Sirin Zahed) is the woman of his life. The families are less happy with the choice. Can a Turkish woman make a Flemish boy happy? Or can a Fleming protect a Turkish woman? These are indeed clichés that we're daily confronted with. You can write books about this issue, but the Ghent-based filmmaker solves this in an almost burlesque manner. That's not without real danger, because by the use of stereotypical characters (the macho brother to name one.) the real messages might go away. Despite the subject, it clearly wasn't Balci's intention to change the world, but simply show that prejudices are usually based on lies.

It was clearly the intention to create a feel-good movie with a Flemish-Turkish touch. And yes, when the public rushes for this kind of movies that are made in America, why not one in Flanders? The high realism (the actors could be your neighbours) of the performances put the movie above the average level. It is not art, but certainly entertaining. Now out on DVD at Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

NL

Het heeft geen zin dat Vlaamse cineasten met Hollywood concurreren, gewoonweg omdat het resultaat vaak ronduit lachwekkend is. Neen, het is beter om cinema te maken die uit het leven is gegrepen en in het geval van Kadir Balci draait zoiets bijna automatisch op een volkse film uit. Bij momenten lijkt het wel alsof Trouw Met Mij een sequel is van zijn debuut, want net als in Turquaze gaat het hier ook over de clash tussen twee culturen. Het gekibbel (met vaak gewelddadige uitbarstingen) speelt zich grotendeels in een parochiale kring af omdat de komedie je een blik biedt op 48 uur uit het leven van een koppel jonggehuwden.

Na amper drie maanden weet leraar Jurgen (Dries de Sutter) dat zijn collega Sibel (Sirin Zahed) de vrouw van zijn leven is. De families zijn minder gelukkig met de keuze. Kan een Turkse vrouw een Vlaamse jongen gelukkig maken? Of kan die Vlaming de Turkse wel beschermen? Het zijn clichés die dagelijks de revue passeren en Balci heeft er dan ook een komedie rond opgebouwd. Je zou over deze problematiek ellenlange boeken kunnen schrijven, maar de Gentse cineast lost dat op een bijna burleske manier op. Echt zonder gevaar is dat niet, want door het gebruik van stereotiepe karakters (de macho broer bijv.) dreigen alle boodschappen de mist in te gaan. Ondanks het onderwerp is het wellicht Balcis bedoeling niet om de wereld te verbeteren, maar gewoon op een volkse manier aantonen dat vooroordelen meestal op leugens zijn gebaseerd.

Op cinematografisch vlak valt deze productie nauwelijks op. Het was dan ook overduidelijk de bedoeling om een feelgoodfilm te realiseren met een Vlaams-Turks kantje. En tja, als de bioscoopzalen stormlopen voor dit soort Amerikaanse producties, waarom zou dat in Vlaanderen niet mogen? Dankzij het hoge realisme (de acteurs konden je buurman/vrouw zijn) zijn de vertolkingen boven het gemiddelde niveau. Kunst is het niet (misschien zelfs niet echt film), wel degelijk entertainment. Nu uit op Paradiso op dvd.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets