tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

KADIR BALCI

Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Movie
Comedy

[64/100]   

Paradiso
19/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It makes no sense that Flemish filmmakers copy Hollywood, simply because the result is often downright laughable. No, it is better to make cinema about real life, something that also understood Kadir Balci. At times it seems like Marry Me is a sequel to his debut, because just like in Turquaze it is about the clash between two cultures. The bickering (with often violent outbursts) mainly takes place during the wedding banquet because the comedy offers you a look inside 48 hours in the life of a couple newlyweds.

After just three months teacher Jurgen (Dries Sutter) knows that his colleague Sibel (Sirin Zahed) is the woman of his life. The families are less happy with the choice. Can a Turkish woman make a Flemish boy happy? Or can a Fleming protect a Turkish woman? These are indeed clichés that we're daily confronted with. You can write books about this issue, but the Ghent-based filmmaker solves this in an almost burlesque manner. That's not without real danger, because by the use of stereotypical characters (the macho brother to name one.) the real messages might go away. Despite the subject, it clearly wasn't Balci's intention to change the world, but simply show that prejudices are usually based on lies.

It was clearly the intention to create a feel-good movie with a Flemish-Turkish touch. And yes, when the public rushes for this kind of movies that are made in America, why not one in Flanders? The high realism (the actors could be your neighbours) of the performances put the movie above the average level. It is not art, but certainly entertaining. Now out on DVD at Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

NL

Het heeft geen zin dat Vlaamse cineasten met Hollywood concurreren, gewoonweg omdat het resultaat vaak ronduit lachwekkend is. Neen, het is beter om cinema te maken die uit het leven is gegrepen en in het geval van Kadir Balci draait zoiets bijna automatisch op een volkse film uit. Bij momenten lijkt het wel alsof Trouw Met Mij een sequel is van zijn debuut, want net als in Turquaze gaat het hier ook over de clash tussen twee culturen. Het gekibbel (met vaak gewelddadige uitbarstingen) speelt zich grotendeels in een parochiale kring af omdat de komedie je een blik biedt op 48 uur uit het leven van een koppel jonggehuwden.

Na amper drie maanden weet leraar Jurgen (Dries de Sutter) dat zijn collega Sibel (Sirin Zahed) de vrouw van zijn leven is. De families zijn minder gelukkig met de keuze. Kan een Turkse vrouw een Vlaamse jongen gelukkig maken? Of kan die Vlaming de Turkse wel beschermen? Het zijn clichés die dagelijks de revue passeren en Balci heeft er dan ook een komedie rond opgebouwd. Je zou over deze problematiek ellenlange boeken kunnen schrijven, maar de Gentse cineast lost dat op een bijna burleske manier op. Echt zonder gevaar is dat niet, want door het gebruik van stereotiepe karakters (de macho broer bijv.) dreigen alle boodschappen de mist in te gaan. Ondanks het onderwerp is het wellicht Balcis bedoeling niet om de wereld te verbeteren, maar gewoon op een volkse manier aantonen dat vooroordelen meestal op leugens zijn gebaseerd.

Op cinematografisch vlak valt deze productie nauwelijks op. Het was dan ook overduidelijk de bedoeling om een feelgoodfilm te realiseren met een Vlaams-Turks kantje. En tja, als de bioscoopzalen stormlopen voor dit soort Amerikaanse producties, waarom zou dat in Vlaanderen niet mogen? Dankzij het hoge realisme (de acteurs konden je buurman/vrouw zijn) zijn de vertolkingen boven het gemiddelde niveau. Kunst is het niet (misschien zelfs niet echt film), wel degelijk entertainment. Nu uit op Paradiso op dvd.

Didier BECU
19/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me 19/04/2015 : KADIR BALCI - Trouw Met Mij/Marry Me

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)