tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

05/01/2012 : SOLOLUST - Total Loss

SOLOLUST

Total Loss

MusicVinyl
Dark PopMinimal

[75/100]   

Enfant Terrible
05/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Time for a few singles from Enfant Terrible! This Dutch label was one of the first to focus on minimal electro and have released quite a few gems so far (from minimal to lo-fi and new wave). They are very open minded and one cannot compare releases from Agent Side Grinder (lo-fi industrial) or Black Ice (gothrock) with Kim Ki O (indie) or Tobias Bernstrup (synthpop).

Sololust is Peter Baarends and apart from a demo CD-r, this is his first release. A-side "Total Loss" is a good wave-pop song driven by deep basses and warm synths. The peculiar hoarse (and processed) vocals, unlike the usual icy, distant vocals we tend to hear so much in this genre, are refreshing in this sometimes stuffy environment. He still sings in a controlled way but you can also hear an indie-like voice (Stone Roses?) in there. Imagine that being blended with great minimal pop and you know this is a special 7" that's just begging to be discovered!

The b-side "Sight Shuffle" is a gloomy, repetitive instrumental track with some cello's and violins. You could say it sounds like In The Nursery on a poppy day... Again limited and in orange vinyl so be fast or be late!

More good stuff from Petit Enfant, one of the sub-labels of Enfant Terrible!

Enfant Terrible

Chris KONINGS
05/01/2012


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell