tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

ALLAN MOYLE

Empire Records

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[62/100]   

Warner Home Video
16/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I had my doubts whether I would classify Empire Records as a classic or a cult movie. But you know, a classic automatically refers to something good and with cult you can go in any direction, as in all honesty: this movie isn’t good, you can even say it’s rather bad!

Yeah I know. I should have seen it by the cover, but because Empire Records is often cited as the equal from the magnificent High Fidelity I thought I’d give it a go. The only thing these Empire-people have in common with the guys from the Stephen Frears-movie is that they look down on those who know nothing about some records. For the rest, we never hope to enter Empire Records! The shop is a small one, but there’s a huge danger of the competitors. A big chain wants to buy Empire Records.

On paper this comedy by Allan Moyle (the man who made the classic Times Square and that other music hit Pump Up The Volume) seems nice, but the mediocre performances destroy all the magic. The soundtrack is a nice choice from Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards and even Daniel Johnston. That’s indeed the most positive thing you can say about it. That, and the fact that Renée Zellweger never looked so horny as here. But for the rest, up to the next store!

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


NL

Het was eventjes twijfelen of ik Empire Records als klassieker of cultfilm zou onderverdelen. Maar goed, een klassieker impliceert iets goed, terwijl je met cult alle richtingen uit kan. Want tja, deze komedie is eigenlijk zeer matig (om niet te zeggen slecht).

Wist ik dat dan niet? Hmmm, het hoesje spreekt wel boekdelen maar omdat deze prent vaak wordt aangeprezen als de evenknie van (de geniale!) High Fidelity besloot ik hem toch een kans te geven. Het enige wat de verkopers met de winkel uit de film van Stephen Frears gemeen hebben is dat het allemaal arrogante kwallen zijn die neerkijken op klanten als ze iets niet weten van een bepaalde plaat. Voor de rest hopen we er geen voetstap binnen te zetten. Empire Records is zo’n kleine platenboer waar de muziek primeert op de verkoopcijfers. De concurrentie loert en de winkel dreigt te worden opgekocht door een grote keten.

Op papier klinkt deze komedie van Allan Moyle (man van de klassieker Times Square en die andere muziekhit Pump Up The Volume) best leuk, maar de debiele vertolkingen maken alles om zeep. De muziekkeuze is een bonte mengeling van Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards en zelfs Daniel Johnston. Dat is eigenlijk het enige pluspunt en ook dat Renée Zellweger er nooit zo geil uitzag als hier, maar voor de rest: naar de volgende winkel!

Empire Records is nog vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd via Warner.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice