tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

ALLAN MOYLE

Empire Records

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[62/100]   

Warner Home Video
16/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I had my doubts whether I would classify Empire Records as a classic or a cult movie. But you know, a classic automatically refers to something good and with cult you can go in any direction, as in all honesty: this movie isn’t good, you can even say it’s rather bad!

Yeah I know. I should have seen it by the cover, but because Empire Records is often cited as the equal from the magnificent High Fidelity I thought I’d give it a go. The only thing these Empire-people have in common with the guys from the Stephen Frears-movie is that they look down on those who know nothing about some records. For the rest, we never hope to enter Empire Records! The shop is a small one, but there’s a huge danger of the competitors. A big chain wants to buy Empire Records.

On paper this comedy by Allan Moyle (the man who made the classic Times Square and that other music hit Pump Up The Volume) seems nice, but the mediocre performances destroy all the magic. The soundtrack is a nice choice from Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards and even Daniel Johnston. That’s indeed the most positive thing you can say about it. That, and the fact that Renée Zellweger never looked so horny as here. But for the rest, up to the next store!

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


NL

Het was eventjes twijfelen of ik Empire Records als klassieker of cultfilm zou onderverdelen. Maar goed, een klassieker impliceert iets goed, terwijl je met cult alle richtingen uit kan. Want tja, deze komedie is eigenlijk zeer matig (om niet te zeggen slecht).

Wist ik dat dan niet? Hmmm, het hoesje spreekt wel boekdelen maar omdat deze prent vaak wordt aangeprezen als de evenknie van (de geniale!) High Fidelity besloot ik hem toch een kans te geven. Het enige wat de verkopers met de winkel uit de film van Stephen Frears gemeen hebben is dat het allemaal arrogante kwallen zijn die neerkijken op klanten als ze iets niet weten van een bepaalde plaat. Voor de rest hopen we er geen voetstap binnen te zetten. Empire Records is zo’n kleine platenboer waar de muziek primeert op de verkoopcijfers. De concurrentie loert en de winkel dreigt te worden opgekocht door een grote keten.

Op papier klinkt deze komedie van Allan Moyle (man van de klassieker Times Square en die andere muziekhit Pump Up The Volume) best leuk, maar de debiele vertolkingen maken alles om zeep. De muziekkeuze is een bonte mengeling van Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards en zelfs Daniel Johnston. Dat is eigenlijk het enige pluspunt en ook dat Renée Zellweger er nooit zo geil uitzag als hier, maar voor de rest: naar de volgende winkel!

Empire Records is nog vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd via Warner.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16