tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

ALLAN MOYLE

Empire Records

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[62/100]   

Warner Home Video
16/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I had my doubts whether I would classify Empire Records as a classic or a cult movie. But you know, a classic automatically refers to something good and with cult you can go in any direction, as in all honesty: this movie isn’t good, you can even say it’s rather bad!

Yeah I know. I should have seen it by the cover, but because Empire Records is often cited as the equal from the magnificent High Fidelity I thought I’d give it a go. The only thing these Empire-people have in common with the guys from the Stephen Frears-movie is that they look down on those who know nothing about some records. For the rest, we never hope to enter Empire Records! The shop is a small one, but there’s a huge danger of the competitors. A big chain wants to buy Empire Records.

On paper this comedy by Allan Moyle (the man who made the classic Times Square and that other music hit Pump Up The Volume) seems nice, but the mediocre performances destroy all the magic. The soundtrack is a nice choice from Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards and even Daniel Johnston. That’s indeed the most positive thing you can say about it. That, and the fact that Renée Zellweger never looked so horny as here. But for the rest, up to the next store!

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


NL

Het was eventjes twijfelen of ik Empire Records als klassieker of cultfilm zou onderverdelen. Maar goed, een klassieker impliceert iets goed, terwijl je met cult alle richtingen uit kan. Want tja, deze komedie is eigenlijk zeer matig (om niet te zeggen slecht).

Wist ik dat dan niet? Hmmm, het hoesje spreekt wel boekdelen maar omdat deze prent vaak wordt aangeprezen als de evenknie van (de geniale!) High Fidelity besloot ik hem toch een kans te geven. Het enige wat de verkopers met de winkel uit de film van Stephen Frears gemeen hebben is dat het allemaal arrogante kwallen zijn die neerkijken op klanten als ze iets niet weten van een bepaalde plaat. Voor de rest hopen we er geen voetstap binnen te zetten. Empire Records is zo’n kleine platenboer waar de muziek primeert op de verkoopcijfers. De concurrentie loert en de winkel dreigt te worden opgekocht door een grote keten.

Op papier klinkt deze komedie van Allan Moyle (man van de klassieker Times Square en die andere muziekhit Pump Up The Volume) best leuk, maar de debiele vertolkingen maken alles om zeep. De muziekkeuze is een bonte mengeling van Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards en zelfs Daniel Johnston. Dat is eigenlijk het enige pluspunt en ook dat Renée Zellweger er nooit zo geil uitzag als hier, maar voor de rest: naar de volgende winkel!

Empire Records is nog vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd via Warner.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat