tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

ALLAN MOYLE

Empire Records

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[62/100]   

Warner Home Video
16/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I had my doubts whether I would classify Empire Records as a classic or a cult movie. But you know, a classic automatically refers to something good and with cult you can go in any direction, as in all honesty: this movie isn’t good, you can even say it’s rather bad!

Yeah I know. I should have seen it by the cover, but because Empire Records is often cited as the equal from the magnificent High Fidelity I thought I’d give it a go. The only thing these Empire-people have in common with the guys from the Stephen Frears-movie is that they look down on those who know nothing about some records. For the rest, we never hope to enter Empire Records! The shop is a small one, but there’s a huge danger of the competitors. A big chain wants to buy Empire Records.

On paper this comedy by Allan Moyle (the man who made the classic Times Square and that other music hit Pump Up The Volume) seems nice, but the mediocre performances destroy all the magic. The soundtrack is a nice choice from Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards and even Daniel Johnston. That’s indeed the most positive thing you can say about it. That, and the fact that Renée Zellweger never looked so horny as here. But for the rest, up to the next store!

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


NL

Het was eventjes twijfelen of ik Empire Records als klassieker of cultfilm zou onderverdelen. Maar goed, een klassieker impliceert iets goed, terwijl je met cult alle richtingen uit kan. Want tja, deze komedie is eigenlijk zeer matig (om niet te zeggen slecht).

Wist ik dat dan niet? Hmmm, het hoesje spreekt wel boekdelen maar omdat deze prent vaak wordt aangeprezen als de evenknie van (de geniale!) High Fidelity besloot ik hem toch een kans te geven. Het enige wat de verkopers met de winkel uit de film van Stephen Frears gemeen hebben is dat het allemaal arrogante kwallen zijn die neerkijken op klanten als ze iets niet weten van een bepaalde plaat. Voor de rest hopen we er geen voetstap binnen te zetten. Empire Records is zo’n kleine platenboer waar de muziek primeert op de verkoopcijfers. De concurrentie loert en de winkel dreigt te worden opgekocht door een grote keten.

Op papier klinkt deze komedie van Allan Moyle (man van de klassieker Times Square en die andere muziekhit Pump Up The Volume) best leuk, maar de debiele vertolkingen maken alles om zeep. De muziekkeuze is een bonte mengeling van Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards en zelfs Daniel Johnston. Dat is eigenlijk het enige pluspunt en ook dat Renée Zellweger er nooit zo geil uitzag als hier, maar voor de rest: naar de volgende winkel!

Empire Records is nog vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd via Warner.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before