tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II

BABAK NAJAFI

Snabba Cash II

Movie
Crime

[66/100]   

Lumire
04/11/2013, Didier BECU

EN

We suppose we don’t have to repeat it any longer, but if you’re looking for decent crime movies (or even more for series), you can find plenty of them in Northern Europe. Having said that, Snabba Cash is something totally different, even if it has the same quality. Snabba Cash II is the second part of a trilogy which is based on the books by Jens Lapidus. In Sweden these adaptions are quite popular and even Hollywood is looking around the corner as main actor Joel Kinnaman is the man for the new Robocop.

Snabba Cash can be best compared with those crime movies Guy Ritchie used to make before he discovered the adventures by Sherlock Holmes. So yes, we’re talking about great masterpieces like Layer Cake, or even more Snatch. You know, those type of movies which features different crimes but that are all leading to one surprising plot.

With such a style you’re having a very interesting movie, but for the reviewer it’s rather hard to come up with a decent description, but we're going to give it a try. Johan Westlund (Joel Kinnaman) is sent to jail, but in a way you can’t categorize him as a typical criminal (even if he’s not really a pussy to deal with). Everything was meant to be that he would become an important person in the financial world as he was a brilliant student in economics, but due to some unexpected things he turned into a crook. Because of his good behavior, he’s released from prison under strict terms, but once again he chooses the bad path by listening to the advice of his former cellmate Mrado (Dragomir Mrsic). Mrado found out that the weak link in Radovan’s chain (Dejan Cukic) is his bookkeeper who’s addicted to gambling. A brilliant plan on paper, but from the very first second Johan got involved in an endless spiral of extreme violence acts.

Snabba Cash II remembered me of the excellent Pusher-trilogy by Nicolas Winding Refn and that’s only a good thing. The violence is extremely brutal and even if it’s hard to have feelings for the protagonists, you’ll be sitting at the edge of your chair. The many unexpected plots lead the viewer from one surprise to another. Decent acting, a quite brilliant directing job and a genius script make Snabba Cash II an unmissable crime movie. It wouldn’t surprise me if in the city of angels they’re not already talking about some remake!

Snabba Cash II is from now availble on dvd and in the Benelux it’s distributed by Lumière.

Didier BECU
04/11/2013


NL

We veronderstellen dat we het niet meer moeten herhalen, maar wie op zoek is naar degelijke misdaadfilms (en natuurlijk ook series) vindt tegenwoordig meer dan genoeg zijn gading in het hoge Noorden. Toch tapt Snabba Cash uit een heel ander vaatje, alhoewel het gelukkig om dezelfde kwaliteit gaat. Snabba Cash II is het tweede luik uit een trilogie die is gebaseerd op de boeken van Jens Lapidus. In thuisland Zweden is deze filmreeks enorm populair en ook Hollywood lonkt, want hoofdrolspeler Joel Kinnamanwordt is ondertussen klaargestoomd om de nieuwe Robocop te gaan spelen. Snabba Cash kun je in feite het best vergelijken met de misdaadfilms waarop Guy Ritchie ooit een patent had. Dus ja, we hebben het over ingenieuze werkjes als Layer Cake of (nog meer) Snatch waarin verschillende boeven één of ander misdrijf plegen, om dan op het einde te zien dat het eigenlijk om één geheel gaat.

Met zo’n aanpak heb je wel een heel interessante film, maar dat maakt het er voor de recensent niet bepaald gemakkelijker op. Johan Westlund (Joel Kinnaman) is niet echt het prototype van een echte boef. Ooit zag het er naar uit dat deze student bedrijfskunde het ver zou schoppen in de financiële wereld, maar door een samenloop van allerlei omstandigheden zit hij vast in de cel. Wegens zijn goed gedrag mag hij vervroegd uit de gevangenis, toch laat hij zich overhalen door celmaat Mrado (Dragomir Mrsic) om opnieuw het slechte pad te kiezen. De-kop-van-jut is maffiabaas Radovan (Dejan Cukic). Mrado weet dat zijn gokverslaafde boekhouder de zwakke schakel van de ketting is. Op papier lijkt dat een zeer mooi plan, maar al vanaf de eerste seconde raakt Johan verwikkelt in een spiraal van extreem geweld.

Snabba Cash II herinnerde mij vooral aan de Pusher-films van Nicolas Winding Refn en zoiets is natuurlijk alleen maar een voordeel! Het geweld is hondsbrutaal en alhoewel het moeilijk is om echt medelijden te voelen voor deze boefjes zit je toch anderhalf uur op het puntje van je zetel. De vele (onverwachte) plotwendingen zorgen ervoor dat je van de ene verbazing in de andere valt. Degelijke acteerprestatie, een strakke regie en een ingenieus scenario zorgen er dan ook voor dat Snabba Cash II een niet te missen misdaadfilm is. Als daar maar geen remake van komt!

Snabba Cash II is vanaf nu op dvd verkrijgbaar en wordt in de Benelux door Lumière uitgegeven.

Didier BECU
04/11/2013


04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf