tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II

BABAK NAJAFI

Snabba Cash II

Movie
Crime

[66/100]   

Lumire
04/11/2013, Didier BECU

EN

We suppose we don’t have to repeat it any longer, but if you’re looking for decent crime movies (or even more for series), you can find plenty of them in Northern Europe. Having said that, Snabba Cash is something totally different, even if it has the same quality. Snabba Cash II is the second part of a trilogy which is based on the books by Jens Lapidus. In Sweden these adaptions are quite popular and even Hollywood is looking around the corner as main actor Joel Kinnaman is the man for the new Robocop.

Snabba Cash can be best compared with those crime movies Guy Ritchie used to make before he discovered the adventures by Sherlock Holmes. So yes, we’re talking about great masterpieces like Layer Cake, or even more Snatch. You know, those type of movies which features different crimes but that are all leading to one surprising plot.

With such a style you’re having a very interesting movie, but for the reviewer it’s rather hard to come up with a decent description, but we're going to give it a try. Johan Westlund (Joel Kinnaman) is sent to jail, but in a way you can’t categorize him as a typical criminal (even if he’s not really a pussy to deal with). Everything was meant to be that he would become an important person in the financial world as he was a brilliant student in economics, but due to some unexpected things he turned into a crook. Because of his good behavior, he’s released from prison under strict terms, but once again he chooses the bad path by listening to the advice of his former cellmate Mrado (Dragomir Mrsic). Mrado found out that the weak link in Radovan’s chain (Dejan Cukic) is his bookkeeper who’s addicted to gambling. A brilliant plan on paper, but from the very first second Johan got involved in an endless spiral of extreme violence acts.

Snabba Cash II remembered me of the excellent Pusher-trilogy by Nicolas Winding Refn and that’s only a good thing. The violence is extremely brutal and even if it’s hard to have feelings for the protagonists, you’ll be sitting at the edge of your chair. The many unexpected plots lead the viewer from one surprise to another. Decent acting, a quite brilliant directing job and a genius script make Snabba Cash II an unmissable crime movie. It wouldn’t surprise me if in the city of angels they’re not already talking about some remake!

Snabba Cash II is from now availble on dvd and in the Benelux it’s distributed by Lumière.

Didier BECU
04/11/2013


NL

We veronderstellen dat we het niet meer moeten herhalen, maar wie op zoek is naar degelijke misdaadfilms (en natuurlijk ook series) vindt tegenwoordig meer dan genoeg zijn gading in het hoge Noorden. Toch tapt Snabba Cash uit een heel ander vaatje, alhoewel het gelukkig om dezelfde kwaliteit gaat. Snabba Cash II is het tweede luik uit een trilogie die is gebaseerd op de boeken van Jens Lapidus. In thuisland Zweden is deze filmreeks enorm populair en ook Hollywood lonkt, want hoofdrolspeler Joel Kinnamanwordt is ondertussen klaargestoomd om de nieuwe Robocop te gaan spelen. Snabba Cash kun je in feite het best vergelijken met de misdaadfilms waarop Guy Ritchie ooit een patent had. Dus ja, we hebben het over ingenieuze werkjes als Layer Cake of (nog meer) Snatch waarin verschillende boeven één of ander misdrijf plegen, om dan op het einde te zien dat het eigenlijk om één geheel gaat.

Met zo’n aanpak heb je wel een heel interessante film, maar dat maakt het er voor de recensent niet bepaald gemakkelijker op. Johan Westlund (Joel Kinnaman) is niet echt het prototype van een echte boef. Ooit zag het er naar uit dat deze student bedrijfskunde het ver zou schoppen in de financiële wereld, maar door een samenloop van allerlei omstandigheden zit hij vast in de cel. Wegens zijn goed gedrag mag hij vervroegd uit de gevangenis, toch laat hij zich overhalen door celmaat Mrado (Dragomir Mrsic) om opnieuw het slechte pad te kiezen. De-kop-van-jut is maffiabaas Radovan (Dejan Cukic). Mrado weet dat zijn gokverslaafde boekhouder de zwakke schakel van de ketting is. Op papier lijkt dat een zeer mooi plan, maar al vanaf de eerste seconde raakt Johan verwikkelt in een spiraal van extreem geweld.

Snabba Cash II herinnerde mij vooral aan de Pusher-films van Nicolas Winding Refn en zoiets is natuurlijk alleen maar een voordeel! Het geweld is hondsbrutaal en alhoewel het moeilijk is om echt medelijden te voelen voor deze boefjes zit je toch anderhalf uur op het puntje van je zetel. De vele (onverwachte) plotwendingen zorgen ervoor dat je van de ene verbazing in de andere valt. Degelijke acteerprestatie, een strakke regie en een ingenieus scenario zorgen er dan ook voor dat Snabba Cash II een niet te missen misdaadfilm is. Als daar maar geen remake van komt!

Snabba Cash II is vanaf nu op dvd verkrijgbaar en wordt in de Benelux door Lumière uitgegeven.

Didier BECU
04/11/2013


04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II 04/11/2013 : BABAK NAJAFI - Snabba Cash II

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
03
44 years of Staircase Mystery - Siouxsie And The Banshees release their second single!
22
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker († March 22, 2019)
22
03
Today, exactly 34 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 43 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 35 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 33 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

22
03
THE OTHER SUPPORT THE 69 EYES
Bochum Zeche
22
03
THE 69 EYES
Bochum Zeche
19
03
FIX8:SED8
Bahnhof Langendreer BOCHUM
19
03
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bahnhof Langendreer BOCHUM
25
02
SUICIDE COMMANDO
International EBM day 2023
25
02
FIX8-SED8
International EBM day 2023
25
02
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
International EBM day 2023

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
ALVAR
SteelWerks (Live 2016)
25
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE
24
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
23
03
VOITH
New single for VOITH: Falling in Love with you agian
22
03
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
21
03
B-52'S
Rock Lobster
20
03
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars