tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong

JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK

The Right Kind Of Wrong

Movie
Romantic

[37/100]   

E1
11/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Jeremiah S. Chechik might have a name that is impossible to pronounce, he’s known though for all the wrong reasons. He’s indeed the man who made the much hated (but in fact not so bad!) Diabolique (the remake from Henri-Georges Clouzot’s classic) and of course one of the biggest flops ever: The Avengers (nah, we’re not talking about the Marvel-collective, but the reboot from the legendary 60’s series from Britain).

Years after having made television series around the clock (from Gossip Girl to Warehouse 13), Jeremiah S. Chechik strikes back with another movie. Not that it made the earth move! Of course they will use the excuse that there’s too much competition around, but the real reason is probably that the movie is far too mellow to make an impact in 2014. Even if there always will be an audience for romantic crap like that!

Without really wanting to, Leo Palamino (Ryan Kwanten) can claim he’s a bit of a star. Once he dreamt of becoming a writer himself, but he only made it as dishwasher. And yet, some people recognize him on the street as he’s the subject of an immense popular book that’s written by his former girlfriend in where is pointed out how he sucked as a boyfriend! Leo never gives up on ladies and this time he got his mind set to Colette (Sara Canning). The only problem is that she’s already taken by toothpaste smile-boy Danny (Ryan McPartlin). After exactly 90 minutes you’ll know if Leo can conquer Colette’s heart or not!

The Right Kind of Wrong has its funny moments what gives a score that’s above the much feared Sarah Jessica Parker-level, but apart from that, the acting sucks. Quite strange as if the leading role is performed by Ryan Kwanten whom you might know as Jason Stackhouse from vampire soap True Blood. Sara Canning who also used to be famous as a vampire in The Vampire Diaries doesn’t impress either. And the story? Well, everyone can make up that!

But good, from the moment you saw the cover of The Right Kind of Wrong you knew that this was a romantic comedy you’ll soon forget, so this time you can judge it by the cover!

Out now on DVD and Blu-ray on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
11/08/2014


NL

De man met de onmogelijke naam, Jeremiah S. Chechik is een vreemde snoeshaan in Hollywood die in zijn carrière heel wat producers de gordijnen heeft ingejaagd. Zo is hij niet alleen de bedenker van Diabolique (de verguisde, maar eigenlijk best te pruimen remake van Henri-Georges Clouzots klassieker) en natuurlijk ook van The Avengers die één van de allergrootste flops ooit is geworden (neen, we hebben het niet over het Marvel-collectief, wel over de verfilming van de legendarische Britse reeks).

Na zich nadien met allerlei televisieseries te hebben beziggehouden (van Gossip Girl tot Warehouse 13) slaat Jeremiah S. Chechik jaren later met een nieuwe film terug. Echt veel aarde heeft het niet aan de dijk gebracht, want The Right Kind Of Wrong verscheen in Europa bijna regelrecht op de dvd-markt. Natuurlijk kan je de torenhoge concurrentie als reden aanhalen, wellicht zal de echte oorzaak wel liggen aan het feit dat deze romantische komedie enigszins vermakelijk is, maar ook net iets te afgelikt om anno 2014 te beklijven (ook al zal er wellicht altijd een publiek voor dit soort onzin bestaan).

Leo Palamino (Ryan Kwanten) is tegen zijn eigen wil een kleine vedette. Het was zijn droom om ooit schrijver te worden, maar hij heeft het niet verder dan tot afwasser geschopt. Wel wordt hij her en der herkend omdat zijn gewezen vriendin Julie (Kristen Hager) een boek over hem heeft geschreven. Neen, het is geen ode, wel over hoe slecht hij als vriendje wel is. Maar Leo geeft niet op. Hij heeft zijn zinnen op Colette (Sara Canning) gezet, alleen is die pas getrouwd met gladjanus Danny (Ryan McPartlin). Na anderhalf uur kom je te weten of Leo Colette kan veroveren of niet!

The Right Kind of Wrong is noch mossel noch vis. Er zitten wel genoeg grappige momenten in de film verwerkt waardoor het gevreesde Sarah Jessica Parker-gehalte net wordt vermeden, anderzijds zijn de acteerprestaties niet bepaald om fier over te zijn. Het gaat nochtans om Ryan Kwanten die je wellicht kent als Jason Stackhouse uit de vampierensoap True Blood. Sara Canning die ook al vampier van dienst was in The Vampire Diaries doet het nauwelijks beter. En het verhaal, tja…eigenlijk kan iedereen dat verzinnen, niet?

Maar goed, je had het wellicht al lang door toen je het hoesje zag. The Right Kind of Wrong is een romantische komedie die je de volgende dag al lang vergeten bent. Een kans geven? Alleen als die partner blijft doordrammen!

Nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
11/08/2014


11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong 11/08/2014 : JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK - The Right Kind Of Wrong

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design