tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana

MARC FITOUSSI

Copacabana

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseDrama

[79/100]   

Cinťart
09/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We never said that we would use the category “classic” exclusively for big names. Don’t get us wrong. We adore the works from Hitchcock or Fellini (of course!), but from time to time we’d like to guide our readers to productions that have been ignored.

Thanks to the clever tax shelter-system it is possible these days that small filmmakers can do their thing. Agreed, it also causes an enormous heap of movies that nobody actually sees, or only a small number. Is it in Copacabana a case of ignorance? Who knows, fact is that this Belgian-French production is a delirious comedy that sometimes turns out to be black.

I’ve already written it more than once on our pages, but for me Isabelle Huppert is the best European actress you can find. Once again the red haired diva marks this movie by Marc Fitoussi with her own unique acting style, even if the rest of the cast impresses as well.

Babou (Isabelle Huppert) dreams about Copacabana, but all she sees when looking through the window is the grey area from Tourcoing. Things aren’t going well between her and her daughter (performed by Lolita Chammah who is in real life also her daughter). The mature lady is so upset that she searchs her luck in Ostend where she finds a tricky job as a saleswoman. Not everything goes as planned. There’s the anger from colleagues, but she also has her moment of luck in the arms of Bart (Jurgen Delnaet whom you might know from Aanrijding in Moscou).

So for another time the queen of arthouse chooses a boulevard comedy (she can do that, just think of Mon Pire Cauchemar). But then again director Marc Fitoussi uses a lot of social criticism (according to him, he’s influenced by the earlier works of Milos Forman) that Copacabana more looks like a Dardenne-nightmare. Life is hard and you’ll never forget that one minute in here. It’s a bit strange to notice that the name of Veerle Dobbelaere is printed as big as the one from Huppert on the poster, while the Flemish actress only appears some minutes. I guess that’s the power of tax shelter.

Copacabana is released by Cinéart on DVD.

Didier BECU
09/08/2014


NL

We hebben nooit beweerd dat de categorie “filmklassieker” alleen maar aan grote namen zou worden geschonken. Niet dat we er vies van zijn, hoe kan een mens immers een Hitchcock of een Fellini vergeten? Toch willen we ook films een kans gunnen die om de één of andere reden bij het grote publiek niet zijn aangeslagen.

Dankzij het ingenieuze taks shelter-systeem blijft het vooralsnog mogelijk dat ook kleinere cineasten hun ding doen. Toegegeven, het filmrijk doet er zijn voordeel mee, toch ontstaat er op deze manier ook een enorme berg films waar niemand de moeite voor doet om ze te bekijken. Een overaanbod of onwetendheid? Voor deze Frans-Belgische productie zullen we het maar op het laatste houden want Copacabana is een heerlijke komedie met een gitzwart kantje.

Ik heb er ondertussen op onze pagina’s al lang geen geheim van gemaakt (waarom zou ik?) dat Isabelle Huppert met verve de beste Europese actrice is en ook deze film van Marc Fitoussi zet ze volledig naar haar hand, ofschoon de rest van de cast ook imponeert. De knappe roodharige vertolkt de rol van Babou. Ze droomt wel over Copacabana, maar het enige wat ze door haar raam ziet is het allesbehalve charmante Tourcoing. Met haar dochter (Lolita Chammah, in werkelijkheid ook de dochter van Huppert) loopt het evenmin goed en daarom zoekt de werkloze vrouw haar heil in Oostende waar ze op dubieuze wijze toeristen moet overhalen om een appartement te huren. Ondanks de vele tegenslagen en de nijd van collega’s ontmoet ze Jurgen Delnaet (jawel, de vrachtwagenchauffeur uit Aanrijding in Moscou).

Deze keer kiest Huppert dus niet voor arthouse waarvan zij al jaren de koningin van is, maar net zoals in Mon Pire Couchemar voor een boulevardkomedie die er op bepaalde momenten weliswaar eerder als een Dardenne-nachtmerrie uitziet. Het leven is bikkelhard, maar regisseur Marc Fitoussi omzeilt dit door af en toe zijn film een vrolijke inslag te geven, en dat werkt! Vreemd is evenwel dat de naam van Veerle Dobbelaere dezelfde grootte als die van Huppert op de affiche heeft staan, maar eigenlijk nauwelijks in beeld komt. De macht van de taks shelter, juist ja.

Copacabana is uitgebracht door Cinéart op dvd en heeft tegenwoordig zelfs verdiend een plaatsje in de Cinéart-collectie gekregen.

Didier BECU
09/08/2014


09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana 09/08/2014 : MARC FITOUSSI - Copacabana

 

Next reviews
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
JOHN KROKIDAS • Kill Your Darlings
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
DAVID LOWERY • Ain't Them Body Saints
MARIE AMACHOUKELI, CLAIRE BURGER AND SAM THEIS • Soon in the theatres: Party Girl (A-Film)
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
AKIVA GOLDSMAN • Winter's Tale

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Ang√®le Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creaci√≥

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Gi√¶ver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • L√°szl√≥ Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amen√°bar: Regression

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
‚Äč

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face