tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

JONAS GOVAERTS

Welp

Movie
Horror

[76/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
31/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It feels strange to write it down, but the best horror film of recent months comes from Flanders! The movie halls presented this gem with the message that Cub (Welp) is the first Flemish slasher movie, and although director Jonas Govaerts immediately added in interviews that they forgot The Antwerp Killer and The Pencil Murders (and in our opinion Alias by ​​Jan Verheyen too). One thing is certain though: Cub is the first good Flemish slasher film, and even more than that!

A scout group goes to the Ardennes and faces a murderous poacher and his strange son. We won’t tell you more, except that there is a lot of blood (ha!) and that this Flemish production contains lots of scenes that are not for sissies (yes, we are referring to the one with the dog!).

Cub is not a masterpiece, but it works and it is a relief in the Flemish film scene. Perhaps Gevaerts waits a bit too long to start with the horror, but there is no question of boredom. It is obvious where this director took his inspiration from. Many scenes seem indeed lifted from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (although Cub remains very original) and the (sublime) score of Steve Moore is clearly inspired by one Mr. John Carpenter. We admit that if this was not a Flemish film, we won’t probably have noticed it, because Govaerts does nothing new, but he does something new in Belgium and that is daring! And of course we don't forget the sublime performances of Titus De Voogdt and the young Maurice Luijten.

Cub is comical, eerie, daring and with Evelien Bosmans even sexy. Watch it if you dare!

Now out on DVD and Blu-ray on Dutch Film Works.

 

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


NL

Het voelt vreemd aan om het neer te pennen, maar de beste horrorfilm van de afgelopen maanden komt uit Vlaanderen! De film werd de zalen ingestuurd met de boodschap dat dit de allereerste Vlaamse slasherfilm zou zijn, en alhoewel regisseur Jonas Govaerts er meteen in interviews aan toevoegde dat men zowel The Antwerp Killer als De Potloodmoorden (en wat ons betreft ook Alias van Jan Verheyen) was vergeten, is één ding zeker: Welp is de allereerste goede Vlaamse slasherfilm, en meer dan dat! En dat is fantastisch filmnieuws, want we hebben het hier wel gehad met films over amateurvoetballers of duivenmelkers. De tijd is rijp voor het verhaal van een twaalfjarige jongen die in een afgelegen bos de psychopaat uithangt!

Aan media-interesse had regisseur Jonas Govaerts geen gebrek. Er is natuurlijk de (dwaze) discussie over het feit of twaalfjarige kinderen naar gruwel in de cinema mogen kijken of niet, en ook was er een opmerkelijke passage tijdens het Filmfestival van Gent. En het heeft allemaal geloond, want Welp trok heel wat kijkers naar de bioscoop en nu is er dus de dvd- en Blu-rayrelease op Dutch Film Works.

Een scoutsgroep trekt met z'n leiders naar een afgelegen plek in de Waalse Ardennen en wordt daar geconfronteerd met een moorddadige stroper en zijn al even vreemd zoontje. Meer vertellen doen we niet, behalve dat er zeer veel bloed zal vloeien en dat deze Vlaamse productie heel wat scènes bevat waarover mietjes het nog lang zullen hebben. Niet dat Welp een wereldwonder is, want dat is het niet! Zo wacht Gevaerts net iets te lang om met de gruwel te voorschijn te komen, maar van verveling is er geen sprake. Het is overduidelijk waar de Vlaming zijn mosterd haalt, zo zijn heel wat scènes bijna identiek aan die van The Texas Chainsaw Massacre en is de (sublieme) score van Steve Moore duidelijk geïnspireerd door ene John Carpenter. Welp is een verademing in het dorre Vlaamse filmlandschap. Toegegeven, mocht dit geen Vlaamse film zijn, dan zou hij misschien door het hoge aanbod niet eens opvallen, nu doet hij dat wel, mede dankzij de sublieme vertolkingen van Titus De Voogdt en de jonge Maurice Luijten.

Welp is komisch, angstaanjagend, gedurfd en wegens Evelien Bosmans zelfs sexy. Kijken (als je durft!)

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine