tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

JONAS GOVAERTS

Welp

Movie
Horror

[76/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
31/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It feels strange to write it down, but the best horror film of recent months comes from Flanders! The movie halls presented this gem with the message that Cub (Welp) is the first Flemish slasher movie, and although director Jonas Govaerts immediately added in interviews that they forgot The Antwerp Killer and The Pencil Murders (and in our opinion Alias by ​​Jan Verheyen too). One thing is certain though: Cub is the first good Flemish slasher film, and even more than that!

A scout group goes to the Ardennes and faces a murderous poacher and his strange son. We won’t tell you more, except that there is a lot of blood (ha!) and that this Flemish production contains lots of scenes that are not for sissies (yes, we are referring to the one with the dog!).

Cub is not a masterpiece, but it works and it is a relief in the Flemish film scene. Perhaps Gevaerts waits a bit too long to start with the horror, but there is no question of boredom. It is obvious where this director took his inspiration from. Many scenes seem indeed lifted from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (although Cub remains very original) and the (sublime) score of Steve Moore is clearly inspired by one Mr. John Carpenter. We admit that if this was not a Flemish film, we won’t probably have noticed it, because Govaerts does nothing new, but he does something new in Belgium and that is daring! And of course we don't forget the sublime performances of Titus De Voogdt and the young Maurice Luijten.

Cub is comical, eerie, daring and with Evelien Bosmans even sexy. Watch it if you dare!

Now out on DVD and Blu-ray on Dutch Film Works.

 

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


NL

Het voelt vreemd aan om het neer te pennen, maar de beste horrorfilm van de afgelopen maanden komt uit Vlaanderen! De film werd de zalen ingestuurd met de boodschap dat dit de allereerste Vlaamse slasherfilm zou zijn, en alhoewel regisseur Jonas Govaerts er meteen in interviews aan toevoegde dat men zowel The Antwerp Killer als De Potloodmoorden (en wat ons betreft ook Alias van Jan Verheyen) was vergeten, is één ding zeker: Welp is de allereerste goede Vlaamse slasherfilm, en meer dan dat! En dat is fantastisch filmnieuws, want we hebben het hier wel gehad met films over amateurvoetballers of duivenmelkers. De tijd is rijp voor het verhaal van een twaalfjarige jongen die in een afgelegen bos de psychopaat uithangt!

Aan media-interesse had regisseur Jonas Govaerts geen gebrek. Er is natuurlijk de (dwaze) discussie over het feit of twaalfjarige kinderen naar gruwel in de cinema mogen kijken of niet, en ook was er een opmerkelijke passage tijdens het Filmfestival van Gent. En het heeft allemaal geloond, want Welp trok heel wat kijkers naar de bioscoop en nu is er dus de dvd- en Blu-rayrelease op Dutch Film Works.

Een scoutsgroep trekt met z'n leiders naar een afgelegen plek in de Waalse Ardennen en wordt daar geconfronteerd met een moorddadige stroper en zijn al even vreemd zoontje. Meer vertellen doen we niet, behalve dat er zeer veel bloed zal vloeien en dat deze Vlaamse productie heel wat scènes bevat waarover mietjes het nog lang zullen hebben. Niet dat Welp een wereldwonder is, want dat is het niet! Zo wacht Gevaerts net iets te lang om met de gruwel te voorschijn te komen, maar van verveling is er geen sprake. Het is overduidelijk waar de Vlaming zijn mosterd haalt, zo zijn heel wat scènes bijna identiek aan die van The Texas Chainsaw Massacre en is de (sublieme) score van Steve Moore duidelijk geïnspireerd door ene John Carpenter. Welp is een verademing in het dorre Vlaamse filmlandschap. Toegegeven, mocht dit geen Vlaamse film zijn, dan zou hij misschien door het hoge aanbod niet eens opvallen, nu doet hij dat wel, mede dankzij de sublieme vertolkingen van Titus De Voogdt en de jonge Maurice Luijten.

Welp is komisch, angstaanjagend, gedurfd en wegens Evelien Bosmans zelfs sexy. Kijken (als je durft!)

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 31/03/2015 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)