tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

JONAS GOVAERTS

Welp

MovieCinema
HorrorSlasher 30/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re not from Flanders, then I guess it’s hard to come up with a commercial movie title (unless you’re a movie buff). It's a hard reality that the Dutch part of Belgium makes quite a lot of movies, some are even proud of them, but in a way you just feel that most miss the plot. We won’t bore you with the subjects Flemish directors are coming up with, but believe us: most of them are so silly that you feel ashamed about them. According to the press we don’t have to hide the very first Flemish horror movie in film history: Welp. That already is a false statement, as the press has ignored the complete filmography of Rob Van Eyck or Alias by Jan Verheyen, but you can’t blame director Jonas Govaerts for that. Nah, you even have to be grateful that there’s finally some cinematographer around who dares to do something different, even if Welp probably wouldn't be noticed if it wasn’t a Flemish production!

The story is about a gang of young scouts entering the deep woods to discover a psychopath and his disturbed son. You don’t need to know more about it, as Govaerts is just using the slasher-recipe like we know it from American classic releases. The point is that the director did a good job. Of course there are some minor points to come up with. It’s obvious that the young cinematographer adores The Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Stand By Me, but he wanted more than just a Flemish version of his favourites. The final ten minutes may be a bit of a disappointment (you just feel that he wanted to force it), but due to Govaerts’ enthusiasm and magnificent performances by Titus De Voogdt and the young Maurice Luijten, Welp caused a bomb on the Flemish landscape and believe us: we need it!

Welp has its hilarious and creepy moments and because of Evelien Bosmans even sexy ones. You know which ingredients are used, but they’re nonetheless delicious!

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


NL

De laatste maanden zijn we door de Vlaamse cinema zo ontgoocheld dat we met moeite een bioscoopzaal durven binnenstappen als er een film van eigen bodem wordt getoond. We hebben het echt wel gehad met amateurvoetballers of godbetert duivenmelkers. Maar voor een twaalfjarige jongen die in een afgelegen bos de psychopaat uithangt hebben we wel nog een kaartje over!

Aan media-interesse had regisseur Jonas Govaerts geen gebrek. Er is natuurlijk de (dwaze) discussie over het feit of twaalfjarige kinderen naar gruwel in de cinema mogen kijken of niet. Maar Welp zou naar het schijnt ook de allereerste Vlaamse horrorfilm zijn. Vreemd genoeg zijn filmkenners het oeuvre van Rob Van Eyck of Alias van Jan Verheyen vergeten, in ieder geval is Welp wel de eerste bibberprent met jongeren in de hoofdrol.

Een scoutsgroep trekt met z'n leiders naar een afgelegen plek in de Waalse Ardennen en wordt daar geconfronteerd met een moorddadige stroper en zijn al even vreemd zoontje. Meer vertellen we je niet, dat alleen zou je naar de bioscoop moet leiden. Niet dat Welp een wereldwonder is, want dat is het niet! Zo wacht Gevaerts enorm lang vooraleer de gruwelpoppen aan het dansen gaan (ook al is er van verveling voordien geen sprake!), is het duidelijk dat hij alles heeft geprobeerd om een Vlaamse Leatherface uit zijn mouw te schudden en is het einde zelfs veel te geforceerd. Welp is vooral een verademing in het dorre Vlaamse filmlandschap. Mocht Welp geen Vlaamse film zijn, dan zou hij misschien door het hoge aanbod niet eens opvallen, maar nu doet hij dat wel mede dankzij de sublieme vertolkingen van Titus De Voogdt en de jonge Maurice Luijten.

Welp is komisch, angstaanjagend, gedurfd en door Evelien Bosmans zelfs sexy. Je moet geen filmkenner zijn om te zien waar Gevaerts zijn mosterd heeft gehaald, maar het is wel zeer lekkere!

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold