tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

JONAS GOVAERTS

Welp

MovieCinema
HorrorSlasher 30/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re not from Flanders, then I guess it’s hard to come up with a commercial movie title (unless you’re a movie buff). It's a hard reality that the Dutch part of Belgium makes quite a lot of movies, some are even proud of them, but in a way you just feel that most miss the plot. We won’t bore you with the subjects Flemish directors are coming up with, but believe us: most of them are so silly that you feel ashamed about them. According to the press we don’t have to hide the very first Flemish horror movie in film history: Welp. That already is a false statement, as the press has ignored the complete filmography of Rob Van Eyck or Alias by Jan Verheyen, but you can’t blame director Jonas Govaerts for that. Nah, you even have to be grateful that there’s finally some cinematographer around who dares to do something different, even if Welp probably wouldn't be noticed if it wasn’t a Flemish production!

The story is about a gang of young scouts entering the deep woods to discover a psychopath and his disturbed son. You don’t need to know more about it, as Govaerts is just using the slasher-recipe like we know it from American classic releases. The point is that the director did a good job. Of course there are some minor points to come up with. It’s obvious that the young cinematographer adores The Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Stand By Me, but he wanted more than just a Flemish version of his favourites. The final ten minutes may be a bit of a disappointment (you just feel that he wanted to force it), but due to Govaerts’ enthusiasm and magnificent performances by Titus De Voogdt and the young Maurice Luijten, Welp caused a bomb on the Flemish landscape and believe us: we need it!

Welp has its hilarious and creepy moments and because of Evelien Bosmans even sexy ones. You know which ingredients are used, but they’re nonetheless delicious!

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


NL

De laatste maanden zijn we door de Vlaamse cinema zo ontgoocheld dat we met moeite een bioscoopzaal durven binnenstappen als er een film van eigen bodem wordt getoond. We hebben het echt wel gehad met amateurvoetballers of godbetert duivenmelkers. Maar voor een twaalfjarige jongen die in een afgelegen bos de psychopaat uithangt hebben we wel nog een kaartje over!

Aan media-interesse had regisseur Jonas Govaerts geen gebrek. Er is natuurlijk de (dwaze) discussie over het feit of twaalfjarige kinderen naar gruwel in de cinema mogen kijken of niet. Maar Welp zou naar het schijnt ook de allereerste Vlaamse horrorfilm zijn. Vreemd genoeg zijn filmkenners het oeuvre van Rob Van Eyck of Alias van Jan Verheyen vergeten, in ieder geval is Welp wel de eerste bibberprent met jongeren in de hoofdrol.

Een scoutsgroep trekt met z'n leiders naar een afgelegen plek in de Waalse Ardennen en wordt daar geconfronteerd met een moorddadige stroper en zijn al even vreemd zoontje. Meer vertellen we je niet, dat alleen zou je naar de bioscoop moet leiden. Niet dat Welp een wereldwonder is, want dat is het niet! Zo wacht Gevaerts enorm lang vooraleer de gruwelpoppen aan het dansen gaan (ook al is er van verveling voordien geen sprake!), is het duidelijk dat hij alles heeft geprobeerd om een Vlaamse Leatherface uit zijn mouw te schudden en is het einde zelfs veel te geforceerd. Welp is vooral een verademing in het dorre Vlaamse filmlandschap. Mocht Welp geen Vlaamse film zijn, dan zou hij misschien door het hoge aanbod niet eens opvallen, maar nu doet hij dat wel mede dankzij de sublieme vertolkingen van Titus De Voogdt en de jonge Maurice Luijten.

Welp is komisch, angstaanjagend, gedurfd en door Evelien Bosmans zelfs sexy. Je moet geen filmkenner zijn om te zien waar Gevaerts zijn mosterd heeft gehaald, maar het is wel zeer lekkere!

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven