tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

JONAS GOVAERTS

Welp

MovieCinema
HorrorSlasher 30/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re not from Flanders, then I guess it’s hard to come up with a commercial movie title (unless you’re a movie buff). It's a hard reality that the Dutch part of Belgium makes quite a lot of movies, some are even proud of them, but in a way you just feel that most miss the plot. We won’t bore you with the subjects Flemish directors are coming up with, but believe us: most of them are so silly that you feel ashamed about them. According to the press we don’t have to hide the very first Flemish horror movie in film history: Welp. That already is a false statement, as the press has ignored the complete filmography of Rob Van Eyck or Alias by Jan Verheyen, but you can’t blame director Jonas Govaerts for that. Nah, you even have to be grateful that there’s finally some cinematographer around who dares to do something different, even if Welp probably wouldn't be noticed if it wasn’t a Flemish production!

The story is about a gang of young scouts entering the deep woods to discover a psychopath and his disturbed son. You don’t need to know more about it, as Govaerts is just using the slasher-recipe like we know it from American classic releases. The point is that the director did a good job. Of course there are some minor points to come up with. It’s obvious that the young cinematographer adores The Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Stand By Me, but he wanted more than just a Flemish version of his favourites. The final ten minutes may be a bit of a disappointment (you just feel that he wanted to force it), but due to Govaerts’ enthusiasm and magnificent performances by Titus De Voogdt and the young Maurice Luijten, Welp caused a bomb on the Flemish landscape and believe us: we need it!

Welp has its hilarious and creepy moments and because of Evelien Bosmans even sexy ones. You know which ingredients are used, but they’re nonetheless delicious!

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


NL

De laatste maanden zijn we door de Vlaamse cinema zo ontgoocheld dat we met moeite een bioscoopzaal durven binnenstappen als er een film van eigen bodem wordt getoond. We hebben het echt wel gehad met amateurvoetballers of godbetert duivenmelkers. Maar voor een twaalfjarige jongen die in een afgelegen bos de psychopaat uithangt hebben we wel nog een kaartje over!

Aan media-interesse had regisseur Jonas Govaerts geen gebrek. Er is natuurlijk de (dwaze) discussie over het feit of twaalfjarige kinderen naar gruwel in de cinema mogen kijken of niet. Maar Welp zou naar het schijnt ook de allereerste Vlaamse horrorfilm zijn. Vreemd genoeg zijn filmkenners het oeuvre van Rob Van Eyck of Alias van Jan Verheyen vergeten, in ieder geval is Welp wel de eerste bibberprent met jongeren in de hoofdrol.

Een scoutsgroep trekt met z'n leiders naar een afgelegen plek in de Waalse Ardennen en wordt daar geconfronteerd met een moorddadige stroper en zijn al even vreemd zoontje. Meer vertellen we je niet, dat alleen zou je naar de bioscoop moet leiden. Niet dat Welp een wereldwonder is, want dat is het niet! Zo wacht Gevaerts enorm lang vooraleer de gruwelpoppen aan het dansen gaan (ook al is er van verveling voordien geen sprake!), is het duidelijk dat hij alles heeft geprobeerd om een Vlaamse Leatherface uit zijn mouw te schudden en is het einde zelfs veel te geforceerd. Welp is vooral een verademing in het dorre Vlaamse filmlandschap. Mocht Welp geen Vlaamse film zijn, dan zou hij misschien door het hoge aanbod niet eens opvallen, maar nu doet hij dat wel mede dankzij de sublieme vertolkingen van Titus De Voogdt en de jonge Maurice Luijten.

Welp is komisch, angstaanjagend, gedurfd en door Evelien Bosmans zelfs sexy. Je moet geen filmkenner zijn om te zien waar Gevaerts zijn mosterd heeft gehaald, maar het is wel zeer lekkere!

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp 30/10/2014 : JONAS GOVAERTS - Welp

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams