tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/11/2014 : THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE - Haunted Summer

THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE

Haunted Summer

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectronics

[84/100]   

Aufnahme + Wiedergabe
17/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

In the summer of 1816 poet Lord Byron invited the novelist couple Percy and Mary Shelley to spend the summer at his villa on Lake Geneva. They fought boredom at Villa “Diodati3” by consuming drugs and partaking in sex and séance sessions. After that experience Mary Shelley went on to write her famous masterpiece Frankenstein. This historical summer inspired The Devil And The Universe. They spent four weeks in a chapel in a forest in Styria to evoke the ghost of that haunted summer of 1816.

The album opens with the title track and it sounds indeed haunted with ominous distorted guitars. Next to the synths, especially the drums contribute to that occult atmosphere. Their drum patterns could be used in a soundtrack for a ritual sacrifice. I can imagine for example women on altars or man in robes. This occult and haunting atmosphere is sustained through the rest of the mainly instrumental album that is topped with well chosen samples that are often referring to witchcraft (as in Stygian and Calling Of The Shades). Some tracks are more danceable, such as The Goathead with tribal drums that remind me of This Morn’Omina. My favourite track is the sinister Phantsmagoria that has a cinematic feel with the use of strings and soundscapes. The album ends with a dark ambient track: Gipfelrausch. You can hear field recordings of birds and goat bells.

As bonus tracks you get Womb Of The Night (with a fantastic bass line) and Elisa Fields. These tracks appeared earlier on the limited 12” single What Time Is Love?

Ashley Dayour recently released a great album with Whispers In The Shadows and now delivers another great album with the goats.

Benny CALUWE
17/11/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu