tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy

LUC BESSON

Lucy

Movie
Action

[73/100]   

Belga Films
01/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps not everyone agrees, but we dare say that Scarlett Johansson is the finest Hollywood actress of the moment. No, not just because she looks so incredibly sexy, but because the blonde is created for the silver screen. All her movies (whether it is something light like Don Jon, or a prestigious arthouse movie like Under The Skin), Johansson always knows how to get the attention, and she does it again in Lucy by Luc Besson.

No, you read that right: after countless vehicles Besson has managed to come up with a good movie, even though some may find it pretentious! The concept is based on the old question what would happen if someone used his brain for 100%. In the case of Besson the result is no Einstein, but a hyper-intelligent fighting machine. The package (well, in a manner of speaking) comes with Lucy (Scarlett Johansson) who becomes against her will a drug courier. Mafia boss Mr. Jang (Choi Min-sik) sews a strange blue powder in her belly. Lucy can escape, but the bag is ruptured and gives the blonde supernatural powers.

Bullshit, do you think? That might be true for the story, nevertheless Besson made a visually stunning film that is (a little) reminiscent to (yes!) Under The Skin. Besson does not feel embarrassed to compare his film with Kubrick's 2001: A Space Oddysey, the fact is that Lucy impresses. Of course there are times when Besson can’t control himself, eg. the chase scene in pure Taxi-style and downright unnecessary. Apart from that, Lucy is probably the best action movie of the year. In fact, Lucy is even more than that, it is sublime entertainment and visually stunning too! Incredible that we would write such a thing still on a Luc Besson movie!

Lucy is out on DVD and Blu-ray via Belga Films.

Didier BECU
01/12/2014


NL

Misschien is niet iedereen het ernee eens, toch zullen er maar weinig mensen morren als we stellen dat Scarlett Johansson de heerlijkste Hollywoodactrice van het moment is. Neen, niet alleen omdat ze zo ontzettend sexy oogt, ook omdat de blondine gewoon geschapen is voor het witte doek. In alle prenten (of het nu een niemendalletje is zoals Don Jon of een prestigieuze arthouseprent met sciencefictiontrekjes zoals Under The Skin), Johansson weet steeds hoe ze de aandacht moet trekken en dat doet ze ook in Lucy van Luc Besson.

Neen, verslik je maar niet in je koffie, je leest het goed: Luc Besson is er na ontelbare vehikels zo waar in geslaagd om de wereld opnieuw een goede film te schenken, ook al zullen sommigen het een pretentieuze bedoening vinden! Het concept is gebaseerd op de aloude vraag wat er zou gebeuren mocht iemand zijn hersenen voor 100% gebruiken. In het geval van Besson levert dat geen Einstein op, wel een hyperintelligente vechtmachine. Het omhulsel (nou ja) is Lucy (Scarlett Johansson) die tegen haar wil in drugkoerier wordt. Net als bij drie andere pineuten, naait mafiabaas Mr. Jang (Choi Min-sik) een vreemd blauw poeder in haar buik. Lucy kan wel ontsnappen, maar het zakje is opengebarsten waardoor de blondine over superkrachten beschikt en dus geen katje is om zonder handschoenen aan te pakken.

Lulkoek, denk je? Dat geldt misschien wel voor het verhaal, toch heeft Besson het op een visueel verbluffende wijze ingekleed die (een beetje) aan (jawel) Under The Skin doet denken. Besson geneert zich wel niet om in interviews zijn film met Kubricks 2001:A Space Oddysey te vergelijken, feit is wel dat het imponeert. Natuurlijk zijn er momenten waarop Besson zich niet kan beheersen, zo is bijv. de achtervolgingsscène in pure Taxi-stijl ronduit overbodig, toch is Lucy waarschijnlijk de beste actiefilm van het jaar. In feite is Lucy zelfs meer dan dat, popcornverslavende tieners zouden Lucy wel eens de grond durven in te boren, maar wat ons betreft is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht. Lucy is subliem entertainment en nog visueel verbluffend ook! Ja, dat we zoiets nog over een Luc Besson-film zouden schrijven!

Lucy is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Belga Films.

Didier BECU
01/12/2014


01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings