tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy

LUC BESSON

Lucy

Movie
Action

[73/100]   

Belga Films
01/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps not everyone agrees, but we dare say that Scarlett Johansson is the finest Hollywood actress of the moment. No, not just because she looks so incredibly sexy, but because the blonde is created for the silver screen. All her movies (whether it is something light like Don Jon, or a prestigious arthouse movie like Under The Skin), Johansson always knows how to get the attention, and she does it again in Lucy by Luc Besson.

No, you read that right: after countless vehicles Besson has managed to come up with a good movie, even though some may find it pretentious! The concept is based on the old question what would happen if someone used his brain for 100%. In the case of Besson the result is no Einstein, but a hyper-intelligent fighting machine. The package (well, in a manner of speaking) comes with Lucy (Scarlett Johansson) who becomes against her will a drug courier. Mafia boss Mr. Jang (Choi Min-sik) sews a strange blue powder in her belly. Lucy can escape, but the bag is ruptured and gives the blonde supernatural powers.

Bullshit, do you think? That might be true for the story, nevertheless Besson made a visually stunning film that is (a little) reminiscent to (yes!) Under The Skin. Besson does not feel embarrassed to compare his film with Kubrick's 2001: A Space Oddysey, the fact is that Lucy impresses. Of course there are times when Besson can’t control himself, eg. the chase scene in pure Taxi-style and downright unnecessary. Apart from that, Lucy is probably the best action movie of the year. In fact, Lucy is even more than that, it is sublime entertainment and visually stunning too! Incredible that we would write such a thing still on a Luc Besson movie!

Lucy is out on DVD and Blu-ray via Belga Films.

Didier BECU
01/12/2014


NL

Misschien is niet iedereen het ernee eens, toch zullen er maar weinig mensen morren als we stellen dat Scarlett Johansson de heerlijkste Hollywoodactrice van het moment is. Neen, niet alleen omdat ze zo ontzettend sexy oogt, ook omdat de blondine gewoon geschapen is voor het witte doek. In alle prenten (of het nu een niemendalletje is zoals Don Jon of een prestigieuze arthouseprent met sciencefictiontrekjes zoals Under The Skin), Johansson weet steeds hoe ze de aandacht moet trekken en dat doet ze ook in Lucy van Luc Besson.

Neen, verslik je maar niet in je koffie, je leest het goed: Luc Besson is er na ontelbare vehikels zo waar in geslaagd om de wereld opnieuw een goede film te schenken, ook al zullen sommigen het een pretentieuze bedoening vinden! Het concept is gebaseerd op de aloude vraag wat er zou gebeuren mocht iemand zijn hersenen voor 100% gebruiken. In het geval van Besson levert dat geen Einstein op, wel een hyperintelligente vechtmachine. Het omhulsel (nou ja) is Lucy (Scarlett Johansson) die tegen haar wil in drugkoerier wordt. Net als bij drie andere pineuten, naait mafiabaas Mr. Jang (Choi Min-sik) een vreemd blauw poeder in haar buik. Lucy kan wel ontsnappen, maar het zakje is opengebarsten waardoor de blondine over superkrachten beschikt en dus geen katje is om zonder handschoenen aan te pakken.

Lulkoek, denk je? Dat geldt misschien wel voor het verhaal, toch heeft Besson het op een visueel verbluffende wijze ingekleed die (een beetje) aan (jawel) Under The Skin doet denken. Besson geneert zich wel niet om in interviews zijn film met Kubricks 2001:A Space Oddysey te vergelijken, feit is wel dat het imponeert. Natuurlijk zijn er momenten waarop Besson zich niet kan beheersen, zo is bijv. de achtervolgingsscène in pure Taxi-stijl ronduit overbodig, toch is Lucy waarschijnlijk de beste actiefilm van het jaar. In feite is Lucy zelfs meer dan dat, popcornverslavende tieners zouden Lucy wel eens de grond durven in te boren, maar wat ons betreft is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht. Lucy is subliem entertainment en nog visueel verbluffend ook! Ja, dat we zoiets nog over een Luc Besson-film zouden schrijven!

Lucy is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Belga Films.

Didier BECU
01/12/2014


01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy 01/12/2014 : LUC BESSON - Lucy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel