tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin

BRUNO DUMONT

P'tit Quinquin

Movie
ComedyTV Series

[88/100]   

LumiŤre
30/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This year P'tit Quinquin was in both the programming of the Cannes Film Festival (as part of the Quinzaine Des Réalisateurs-section) and Ghent. Not that it is a surprise as the French press was after all pretty excited about this series and not too timid to compare P'tit Quinquin to Twin Peaks. Bruno Dumont is certainly not the French David Lynch, but this four-part series is one of the best (and perhaps most bizarre) that we have seen lately.

If you are merely guided by the cover, you would think that P'tit Quinquin is a youth series, but even if the story is narrated from the perspective of a young rascal, it is more intended for an adult audience. A farming village on the Opal Coast (in the Nord-Pas-de-Calais inNnorthern France) is startled by a strange discovery: someone has put human body parts in a cow (yes!). The bizarre police inspector Roger Van der Weyden (Bernard Pruvost) is pu ton the case, together with his dumb partner Rudy Carpentier (Philippe Jore). The research is severely hampered by the young P'tit Quinquin (Alane Delhaye) and his friends.

You will remember director Bruno Dumont of the quirky films Flandres and especially Camille Claudel 1915 with Juliette Binoche. Even though this series has a burlesque touch, the director wants more than directing a comedy, especially with the use of some difficult topics like racism among children. So, even if the main characters seem to come from a Louis de Funès-comedy, P'tit Quinquin is anything but a comedy, although there is a lot to laugh about!

This brilliant black comedy with a surrealist touch consists of four episodes, each lasting 50 minutes. Thanks to the excellent performances (almost no one from the cast acted before) you watch this series in one go. Sometimes funny, burlesque, unusual, but especially unique. Would a combination between Jean-Pierre Jeunet and David Lynch be possible?

P'tit Quinquin is now out on DVD Lumière.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


NL

Dit jaar stond P'tit Quinquin zowel op de programmering van het Filmfestival van Cannes (als onderdeel van de Quinzaine Des Réalisateurs-sectie) als op dat van Gent, en dat is niet zonder reden. De Franse pers was immers tamelijk opgetogen over deze serie en niet te bedeesd om P'tit Quinquin met Twin Peaks te vergelijken. Bruno Dumont is zeker geen David Lynch, maar deze vierdelige serie, gedraaid in opdracht van Arte, is wel één van de leukste (en wellicht meest bizarre) die we de laatste tijd hebben gezien.

Als je je louter door de hoes laat leiden zou je denken dat P'tit Quinquin een jeugdserie is, maar ook al wordt het verhaal vanuit het oogpunt van een kwajongen verteld, is deze reeks toch meer voor een volwassen publiek bedoeld. Een boerendorpje aan de Opaalkust (een kuststrook in de regio Nord-Pas-de-Calais in het noorden van Frankrijk) wordt opgeschrikt door een vreemde ontdekking. In een koe worden lichaamsdelen van een mens gevonden (jawel). De bizarre politie-inspecteur Roger Van der Weyden (Bernard Pruvost) wordt samen met zijn oliedomme partner Rudy Carpentier (Philippe Jore) op de zaak gezet. Het speurwerk wordt ernstig gehinderd door de kleine moeial P'tit Quinquin (Alane Delhaye) en zijn vriendjes.

Regisseur Bruno Dumont ken je misschien van de eigenzinnige films Flandres en vooral van Camille Claudel 1915 met Juliette Binoche. Ook al is deze reeks door zijn burleske aanpak op geen enkel ogenblik moeilijk, kiest de regisseur toch wederom voor een zeer eigen aanpak. De cineast schuwt moeilijke onderwerpen zoals racisme niet. Meer zelfs, alhoewel deze serie hoofdpersonages heeft die zo uit een Louis de Funès-kolder lijken te komen, is P'tit Quinquin allesbehalve een komedie, ofschoon er heel wat te lachen valt!

Deze briljante zwarte komedie met een surrealistisch kantje bestaat uit vier afleveringen die elk 50 minuten duren. Dankzij de excellente vertolkingen (bijna niemand uit de cast stond eerder voor een camera) kijk je deze serie in één ruk uit. Soms grappig, burlesk, ongewoon, maar vooral uniek. Zou er dan toch een combinatie mogelijk zijn tussen Jean-Pierre Jeunet en David Lynch?

P'tit Quinquin is nu uit op Lumière op dvd.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
‚Äč

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi