tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin

BRUNO DUMONT

P'tit Quinquin

Movie
ComedyTV Series

[88/100]   

Lumire
30/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This year P'tit Quinquin was in both the programming of the Cannes Film Festival (as part of the Quinzaine Des Réalisateurs-section) and Ghent. Not that it is a surprise as the French press was after all pretty excited about this series and not too timid to compare P'tit Quinquin to Twin Peaks. Bruno Dumont is certainly not the French David Lynch, but this four-part series is one of the best (and perhaps most bizarre) that we have seen lately.

If you are merely guided by the cover, you would think that P'tit Quinquin is a youth series, but even if the story is narrated from the perspective of a young rascal, it is more intended for an adult audience. A farming village on the Opal Coast (in the Nord-Pas-de-Calais inNnorthern France) is startled by a strange discovery: someone has put human body parts in a cow (yes!). The bizarre police inspector Roger Van der Weyden (Bernard Pruvost) is pu ton the case, together with his dumb partner Rudy Carpentier (Philippe Jore). The research is severely hampered by the young P'tit Quinquin (Alane Delhaye) and his friends.

You will remember director Bruno Dumont of the quirky films Flandres and especially Camille Claudel 1915 with Juliette Binoche. Even though this series has a burlesque touch, the director wants more than directing a comedy, especially with the use of some difficult topics like racism among children. So, even if the main characters seem to come from a Louis de Funès-comedy, P'tit Quinquin is anything but a comedy, although there is a lot to laugh about!

This brilliant black comedy with a surrealist touch consists of four episodes, each lasting 50 minutes. Thanks to the excellent performances (almost no one from the cast acted before) you watch this series in one go. Sometimes funny, burlesque, unusual, but especially unique. Would a combination between Jean-Pierre Jeunet and David Lynch be possible?

P'tit Quinquin is now out on DVD Lumière.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


NL

Dit jaar stond P'tit Quinquin zowel op de programmering van het Filmfestival van Cannes (als onderdeel van de Quinzaine Des Réalisateurs-sectie) als op dat van Gent, en dat is niet zonder reden. De Franse pers was immers tamelijk opgetogen over deze serie en niet te bedeesd om P'tit Quinquin met Twin Peaks te vergelijken. Bruno Dumont is zeker geen David Lynch, maar deze vierdelige serie, gedraaid in opdracht van Arte, is wel één van de leukste (en wellicht meest bizarre) die we de laatste tijd hebben gezien.

Als je je louter door de hoes laat leiden zou je denken dat P'tit Quinquin een jeugdserie is, maar ook al wordt het verhaal vanuit het oogpunt van een kwajongen verteld, is deze reeks toch meer voor een volwassen publiek bedoeld. Een boerendorpje aan de Opaalkust (een kuststrook in de regio Nord-Pas-de-Calais in het noorden van Frankrijk) wordt opgeschrikt door een vreemde ontdekking. In een koe worden lichaamsdelen van een mens gevonden (jawel). De bizarre politie-inspecteur Roger Van der Weyden (Bernard Pruvost) wordt samen met zijn oliedomme partner Rudy Carpentier (Philippe Jore) op de zaak gezet. Het speurwerk wordt ernstig gehinderd door de kleine moeial P'tit Quinquin (Alane Delhaye) en zijn vriendjes.

Regisseur Bruno Dumont ken je misschien van de eigenzinnige films Flandres en vooral van Camille Claudel 1915 met Juliette Binoche. Ook al is deze reeks door zijn burleske aanpak op geen enkel ogenblik moeilijk, kiest de regisseur toch wederom voor een zeer eigen aanpak. De cineast schuwt moeilijke onderwerpen zoals racisme niet. Meer zelfs, alhoewel deze serie hoofdpersonages heeft die zo uit een Louis de Funès-kolder lijken te komen, is P'tit Quinquin allesbehalve een komedie, ofschoon er heel wat te lachen valt!

Deze briljante zwarte komedie met een surrealistisch kantje bestaat uit vier afleveringen die elk 50 minuten duren. Dankzij de excellente vertolkingen (bijna niemand uit de cast stond eerder voor een camera) kijk je deze serie in één ruk uit. Soms grappig, burlesk, ongewoon, maar vooral uniek. Zou er dan toch een combinatie mogelijk zijn tussen Jean-Pierre Jeunet en David Lynch?

P'tit Quinquin is nu uit op Lumière op dvd.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin 30/11/2014 : BRUNO DUMONT - P'tit Quinquin

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design