tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/03/2013 : AGENT SIDE GRINDER - Hardware Comes Alive

AGENT SIDE GRINDER

Hardware Comes Alive

MusicCD
IndustrialNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Complete Control Productions
17/03/2013, Chris KONINGS

 

This is one of the bands I've been following since the beginning, as they really impressed me with their raw take on new wave and electro. They also experiment a lot (check out Transatlantic Tape Project). You can relive their energetic European tour with a few recent live outputs like this CD. I sadly haven't had the pleasure of seeing them live, even though they’ve visited Belgium more than once. After listening to this CD I'm shocked I missed all those wonderful moments. 

I highly recommend Hardware Comes Alive! I love the singer's energy and his brilliant voice! Sometimes he sounds like recalls Ian Curtis, other times he sounds as raw as Iggy Pop. Add some of the finest Suicide-synth melodies and Hooky guitars and you've got yourself a groovy, sexy and relentless winner. Good songs featured off the Hardware album are “Look Within,” “Sleeping Fury,” “Rip Me” and “Wolf Hour.” "Mag 7" is a very nice and even psychedelic minimal trip with its slowly developing analogue tune. “Die To Live” and “Telefunk” are great underground hits you’ve probably heard before. The live atmosphere is captured by people cheering and howling along, although this never gets annoying because you can hear that this was a magical night. There's another new ASG release, SFTWR (software), a remix album (more on that later). 

Chris KONINGS
17/03/2013


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
THE MEN • New Moon
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
FEW BITS • Few Bits
DIE PERLEN • Zurück
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
PIETER NOOTEN • Haven
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...

 

Other reviews from AGENT SIDE GRINDER
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • The Irish Tape

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
BHPL • II
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

Music reviews

22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called
25
01
KRAMM
Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
18
02
BESTIAL MOUTHS Rips & Re-Stitches With New Remix LP, 'BACKBONE'

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
21
02
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
20
02
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park