tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/03/2013 : THE KLINIK - Eat Your Heart Out

THE KLINIK

Eat Your Heart Out

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[75/100]   

Out Of Line
17/03/2013, Chris KONINGS

The hottest news you'll hear in 2013 is not Habemus Papam, no no it's the fact that the Klinik are back with a new album. A pioneering ebm band, they have been of tremendous influence for the ebm electro genre, not only for their music but also for their image and visuals. What's so great about them is that they don't give a shit about what's happening in the music business, no they just march on in their trademark direction. Cold, menacing, minimal ebm with lots of industrial soundscapes and the hissing voice of Dirk Ivens. It's been 22 years since their last album and it sounds like those years didn't even happen...

Is that a good thing? Well I like it when bands say the occasional fuck you, so for me it's a plus. I just love those KORG MS-20 loops, they can make anyone shiver. It starts great with the ominous "Nothing You Can Do", rumbling beats, distorted electronics and the usual hissing voice. The more upbeat "In Your Room" is sm related I think, the sound would suit your dungeuon like a leather necklace. "Bite Now Bite" bears much resemblance to "Moving Hands", it's not as good though...

Best song for me is "Stay" because of the unusual structure, they finally sound edgy and dangerous again. "Therapy" is a good instrumental, but most songs are pretty straightforward Klinik quality ebm. Like "We Are One", another slow and menacing poisonous song with good lyrics. Back to the dancefloor with "Those", another good one, too bad no variation in his voice... I liked the vocals of "Stay" and "We Are One" better but that's just me.

"Closing Time" is obviously the last song, again a good one with even a few dance influences! The Klinik are back, I didn't think that much of this new album at first, but after a while it does grow on you. And as Dirk says in the interview, some people from Argentina would rather see The Klinik then Franciscus I... I know I would!

Chris KONINGS
17/03/2013


 

Next reviews
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware Comes Alive
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
THE MEN • New Moon
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
FEW BITS • Few Bits
DIE PERLEN • Zurück
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
PIETER NOOTEN • Haven
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
GIN DEVO • Errata

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall