tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/05/2014 : FINNTROLL - Natten Med De Levande Finntroll

FINNTROLL

Natten Med De Levande Finntroll

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMetal

[95/100]   

Spinefarm Records
18/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since its inception in 1997, Helsinki's Finntroll has been one of the strangest and most original entities on the international folk/heathen metal scene. Drawing their subject matter from the Olden Days when the Southern plague called Christianity hadn't yet swept over every forest, nook and cranny of Scandinavia's troll-laden woodlands and telling tales about eradicating mankind (starting with the men of cloth), Finntroll's “Trollish Hoedown Metal”, a sort of – for lack of a better expression – death metal polka, has been a genre in itself.

The band's initial breakthrough begun with 2001's “Jakten's Tid”, and from then on it has been an ever-expanding story both success-wise and musically, currently with remarkable chart success in Germany and Scandinavia, and incorporating several types of ethnic world music to their mad musical mayhem. Funny thing is that the title tracks are in Swedish, but thta' the second official language of Finland...

This is Finntroll in full flight as witnessed on stage at Amsterdam's Melkweg venue on September 20th, 2008; violently energetic! I was wanting to write something about them, for quite a long time (just as Korpiklaani). Now the time has finally come to describe their fantastic live sound! To start with: if you are a fan of this genre, don't doubt and just buy this record!

'Kitteldags' is the very first track: an energetic incoming bomb with powerful screaming & grunting coming from Vreth! The synths and accordion play for the first time an important role. The fire continues with 'Slaget Vid Blodsälv', just as the first oi's (screaming, taken over by the fans). The accordion fires it all up, the synth sounds a bit funny, but it's a party, right?
The metal/Balkan Folk party is warmed up and more oi's and handclapping follows. 'Blodnatt' is an old school hit, the fans react very positive to it. I love the flute in this one, just as the roaring guitars and the fired up vocals! 'Nedgång' is in the first place a vocal bomb (count the vocals from the public in) followed by a nitro fuelled guitar and folk sound. However the overall tempo is a bit lower, the energy is there! I absolutely adore the weeping sound and the reactions coming from the audience!

'Nattfödd' starts with a weeping sound and some warming up the audience. The tempo is pretty slow, more into folk metal. Love the hammering drums halfway the track. The fans react nicely when they get the airplay. 'Ursvamp' is a more folky party track, very short, but funny! 'Eliytres' the real party starts of when this one fires off. Metal Polka time! Fun time! 'Aldhissla' starts like a ballad (in an acoustic way), before exploding slowly into a more metal minded track. 'Jaktens Tid' is a well-known track and they make it very clear, it's also one of the finest tracks on this one! The metal folk polonaise started!
Another famous track is 'Rivfader': a heavy metal bullet, a clear headshot, just as 'Korpens Saga'! Who can stand still on 'Trollhammaren'? Not me! What a party! 'Fiskarens Fiende' is a bit slower, but fast enough is taken over by a bomb called 'Svartberg'.
'Försvinn Du Som Lyser' is yet another bomb with lots of positive feedback from the crowd. It's clear a Heavy Metal fest! I also like the accordion in it! It's their last track of the regular set, but no doubt that they are coming back for more! Just listen to the people shouting: 'Bier en Tetten', yes, if know: it's typical for The Netherlands! I don't think that a translation is needed?

They come back with 'Midnattens Widunder' a bomb of a track where the accordion plays an important role, just as the raging vocals. The extra backings in the end give it an extra dimension. 'En Mäktig Här' starts really folky. The fans are into it, I can imagine how it looks like seen from the stage! Metal Polka Party! I love it when they change the tempo: speed it up, slow down to catch some breath and so on! One question pops up: are you already drunk to dance on the little smurf sound halfway or are you rally having the time of your life? I guess most will answer with the last one!
This one is for sure fun metal with lots of crazy musical jumps! The accordeon and the synths go crazy, just as the little banjo and the flute! 'Det Iskalla Trollblodet' is a soft but great track with a roaring bass and the fans go on shouting and clapping hands! It's clear that the last bit of energy will be used to keep the audience going! A last bomb will be dropped with 'Segersång' The party reached a high, now we can finally rest a bit! I had a great night and forgot that this was a recording! It really feels as if was there!
Now for when is the DVD? Or the next gig? Thumbs up!

Release: 13/6/2014, yes I know: we are early birds...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
18/05/2014


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat