tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/05/2014 : FINNTROLL - Natten Med De Levande Finntroll

FINNTROLL

Natten Med De Levande Finntroll

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMetal

[95/100]   

Spinefarm Records
18/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since its inception in 1997, Helsinki's Finntroll has been one of the strangest and most original entities on the international folk/heathen metal scene. Drawing their subject matter from the Olden Days when the Southern plague called Christianity hadn't yet swept over every forest, nook and cranny of Scandinavia's troll-laden woodlands and telling tales about eradicating mankind (starting with the men of cloth), Finntroll's “Trollish Hoedown Metal”, a sort of – for lack of a better expression – death metal polka, has been a genre in itself.

The band's initial breakthrough begun with 2001's “Jakten's Tid”, and from then on it has been an ever-expanding story both success-wise and musically, currently with remarkable chart success in Germany and Scandinavia, and incorporating several types of ethnic world music to their mad musical mayhem. Funny thing is that the title tracks are in Swedish, but thta' the second official language of Finland...

This is Finntroll in full flight as witnessed on stage at Amsterdam's Melkweg venue on September 20th, 2008; violently energetic! I was wanting to write something about them, for quite a long time (just as Korpiklaani). Now the time has finally come to describe their fantastic live sound! To start with: if you are a fan of this genre, don't doubt and just buy this record!

'Kitteldags' is the very first track: an energetic incoming bomb with powerful screaming & grunting coming from Vreth! The synths and accordion play for the first time an important role. The fire continues with 'Slaget Vid Blodsälv', just as the first oi's (screaming, taken over by the fans). The accordion fires it all up, the synth sounds a bit funny, but it's a party, right?
The metal/Balkan Folk party is warmed up and more oi's and handclapping follows. 'Blodnatt' is an old school hit, the fans react very positive to it. I love the flute in this one, just as the roaring guitars and the fired up vocals! 'Nedgång' is in the first place a vocal bomb (count the vocals from the public in) followed by a nitro fuelled guitar and folk sound. However the overall tempo is a bit lower, the energy is there! I absolutely adore the weeping sound and the reactions coming from the audience!

'Nattfödd' starts with a weeping sound and some warming up the audience. The tempo is pretty slow, more into folk metal. Love the hammering drums halfway the track. The fans react nicely when they get the airplay. 'Ursvamp' is a more folky party track, very short, but funny! 'Eliytres' the real party starts of when this one fires off. Metal Polka time! Fun time! 'Aldhissla' starts like a ballad (in an acoustic way), before exploding slowly into a more metal minded track. 'Jaktens Tid' is a well-known track and they make it very clear, it's also one of the finest tracks on this one! The metal folk polonaise started!
Another famous track is 'Rivfader': a heavy metal bullet, a clear headshot, just as 'Korpens Saga'! Who can stand still on 'Trollhammaren'? Not me! What a party! 'Fiskarens Fiende' is a bit slower, but fast enough is taken over by a bomb called 'Svartberg'.
'Försvinn Du Som Lyser' is yet another bomb with lots of positive feedback from the crowd. It's clear a Heavy Metal fest! I also like the accordion in it! It's their last track of the regular set, but no doubt that they are coming back for more! Just listen to the people shouting: 'Bier en Tetten', yes, if know: it's typical for The Netherlands! I don't think that a translation is needed?

They come back with 'Midnattens Widunder' a bomb of a track where the accordion plays an important role, just as the raging vocals. The extra backings in the end give it an extra dimension. 'En Mäktig Här' starts really folky. The fans are into it, I can imagine how it looks like seen from the stage! Metal Polka Party! I love it when they change the tempo: speed it up, slow down to catch some breath and so on! One question pops up: are you already drunk to dance on the little smurf sound halfway or are you rally having the time of your life? I guess most will answer with the last one!
This one is for sure fun metal with lots of crazy musical jumps! The accordeon and the synths go crazy, just as the little banjo and the flute! 'Det Iskalla Trollblodet' is a soft but great track with a roaring bass and the fans go on shouting and clapping hands! It's clear that the last bit of energy will be used to keep the audience going! A last bomb will be dropped with 'Segersång' The party reached a high, now we can finally rest a bit! I had a great night and forgot that this was a recording! It really feels as if was there!
Now for when is the DVD? Or the next gig? Thumbs up!

Release: 13/6/2014, yes I know: we are early birds...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
18/05/2014


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real