tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/10/2011 : HECQ - Avenger

HECQ

Avenger

MusicCD
ElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[70/100]   

Hymen Records
09/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

Avengers are the worlds mightiest heroes and together they are the most prestigious and powerful super-hero team in the world. Apparently Hecq became one of the most highly regarded artists in the electronic music scene in the past years and fittingly he named his newest album likewise. The limited edition provides you with your own super-hero wrestling mask and some patches, stickers and buttons. Along with the beautiful artwork of Saner, definitely an eyecatcher! The use of the mask is beyond me but someone at Maschinenfest didn't mind wearing it all weekend...

Hecq or Ben Lukas Boysen is no newcomer at Hymen Records, this is already his sixth album for them, not to mention a few other albums and 12" singles. It's a strange record for Hymen, dubstep is not really a style that I would expect on that label. But he insisted on creating his own dubstep world and so takes the next step after "Sura". Mind you, it's Hecq's own particular version of dubstep, taking on a different level than other artists such as Skrillex or God forbid, Nero. It's a good thing that Hymen maintains an open view on the electronic music world. In the first track he articulates his main dislikes (Bete Noire) with a dark and compelling song. Most songs have that symbiosis between idm, ambient and dubstep. Especially Pulverized has some slow atmospheric parts opposing heavy dub with thick production.

Bane is by far the best song, some effective sampling working well with pitchblack beats 'n pieces. Other styles are also represented, Shutter has a very slow but repetitive metallic rhythm and sounds like a modern day Esplendor Geometrico. Nihilum is another good track, mixing trudging breaks and fast drum 'n bass. Some tracks are not so compelling however, but maybe when you reach the remixes there are some new sounds waiting to be discovered. Bane (septic insurgent mix) does not alter the original that much, unlike the trifonic mix of With Angels where the adding of some ethnic instruments are a nice touch, but ultimately is not grade A material.

Daniel Myer makes his "Architect" version of Bane and reworks the song almost completely. He stays away from dubstep but makes a cut-up version in his own style, I can't say I'm very impressed though. The last track by Deadfader does what the name implies, it fades out and is a nice ending to an album that gives me a double feeling. Lots of variation but for fans of ambient/idm I have to say his earlier works like "0000" and Steeltongued would be better choices.

Chris KONINGS
09/10/2011


 

Next reviews
MASCHINENFEST 2K11 • Or how to destroy your senses in a few days time...
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits
ZARTBITTER 16 • Richtung Zukunft
MODERN ART • Circuit Lights 1982-1986
DEZ MONA • Saga
RELLA THE WOODCUTTER • I know when it's time to get the fuck away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Label Noir Vol.1
SHINY DARKNESS • Lighthouse
THE HOUSE OF THE LAST LANTERN • Web of feelings
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Fantastique Nights (Rome, Evi Vine, Mongolito)

 

Other reviews from HECQ
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
HECQ • Mare Nostrum

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
BHAMBHAMHARA • Progressive Body Music
DSX • Shifted
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
HYDRUS • Nodes

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Digital Infaction Vol.2
FLINT GLASS & COLLAPSAR • Deus Irea
VAIN MACHINE • Push

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real