tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/10/2011 : HECQ - Avenger

HECQ

Avenger

MusicCD
ElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[70/100]   

Hymen Records
09/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

Avengers are the worlds mightiest heroes and together they are the most prestigious and powerful super-hero team in the world. Apparently Hecq became one of the most highly regarded artists in the electronic music scene in the past years and fittingly he named his newest album likewise. The limited edition provides you with your own super-hero wrestling mask and some patches, stickers and buttons. Along with the beautiful artwork of Saner, definitely an eyecatcher! The use of the mask is beyond me but someone at Maschinenfest didn't mind wearing it all weekend...

Hecq or Ben Lukas Boysen is no newcomer at Hymen Records, this is already his sixth album for them, not to mention a few other albums and 12" singles. It's a strange record for Hymen, dubstep is not really a style that I would expect on that label. But he insisted on creating his own dubstep world and so takes the next step after "Sura". Mind you, it's Hecq's own particular version of dubstep, taking on a different level than other artists such as Skrillex or God forbid, Nero. It's a good thing that Hymen maintains an open view on the electronic music world. In the first track he articulates his main dislikes (Bete Noire) with a dark and compelling song. Most songs have that symbiosis between idm, ambient and dubstep. Especially Pulverized has some slow atmospheric parts opposing heavy dub with thick production.

Bane is by far the best song, some effective sampling working well with pitchblack beats 'n pieces. Other styles are also represented, Shutter has a very slow but repetitive metallic rhythm and sounds like a modern day Esplendor Geometrico. Nihilum is another good track, mixing trudging breaks and fast drum 'n bass. Some tracks are not so compelling however, but maybe when you reach the remixes there are some new sounds waiting to be discovered. Bane (septic insurgent mix) does not alter the original that much, unlike the trifonic mix of With Angels where the adding of some ethnic instruments are a nice touch, but ultimately is not grade A material.

Daniel Myer makes his "Architect" version of Bane and reworks the song almost completely. He stays away from dubstep but makes a cut-up version in his own style, I can't say I'm very impressed though. The last track by Deadfader does what the name implies, it fades out and is a nice ending to an album that gives me a double feeling. Lots of variation but for fans of ambient/idm I have to say his earlier works like "0000" and Steeltongued would be better choices.

Chris KONINGS
09/10/2011


 

Next reviews
MASCHINENFEST 2K11 • Or how to destroy your senses in a few days time...
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits
ZARTBITTER 16 • Richtung Zukunft
MODERN ART • Circuit Lights 1982-1986
DEZ MONA • Saga
RELLA THE WOODCUTTER • I know when it's time to get the fuck away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Label Noir Vol.1
SHINY DARKNESS • Lighthouse
THE HOUSE OF THE LAST LANTERN • Web of feelings
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Fantastique Nights (Rome, Evi Vine, Mongolito)

 

Other reviews from HECQ
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
HECQ • Mare Nostrum

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
BHAMBHAMHARA • Progressive Body Music
DSX • Shifted
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
HYDRUS • Nodes

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Digital Infaction Vol.2
FLINT GLASS & COLLAPSAR • Deus Irea
VAIN MACHINE • Push

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap