tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher

NICOLAS WINDING REFN

Pusher

MovieMovie classics
CrimeIndustrial Rock

[92/100]   
20/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you ask me (which you better don't) both Xavier Dolan as Nicolas Winding Refn are the new gods among directors. Refn has become known as the filmmaker who glorifies violence, although he does not copy B-movies like Tarantino. The Danish director made it his trademark to create an oppressive atmosphere in which it seem like you are being sucked into the crime world, just as if you were part of it. Everyone has read the deserved eulogy of Drive and Only God Forgives, lesser known is his debut Pusher. A cheap, but extremely important film for Danish cinema that set both the career from Refn and Mads Mikkelsen in motion.

The story is set in the drugs area of Copenhagen. Frank (Kim Bodnia) wants to play with the big boys and earns money by selling drugs, but actually he digs himself literally in the grave. His partner Tonny (Mads Mikkelsen) only understands the language of the fists. Another deal should make him rich, but it ends in a fiasco when Frank has to run away for the police and desperately has to throw the cocaine in a nearby lake. The police can't prove a thing, but that does not mean that the Croatian mafia boss Milo (Zlatko Buric) doesn't want his moolah.

It is unbelievable that someone with such limited resources could create such a sledgehammer. Refn later told in interviews that he was inspired by Martin Scorsese's Mean Streets. Just like the master, Refn shows you indeed the dirty sewers of the criminal environment in which life has no value at all. The performances are superb. Only Bodnia is an established name in the Danish film world, the rest of the cast consists solely of amateurs. Mads Mikkelsen played here perhaps the most terrifying character of his career so far, but you definitely won't forget Zlatko Buric. Later, he wrote two fantastic sequels, and there was also the (negligible) remake of the Spanish film director Luis Prieto.

Didier BECU
20/04/2015


NL

Als je het aan mij vraagt (wat je beter niet doet) zijn zowel Xavier Dolan als Nicolas Winding Refn de nieuwe goden. Refn is ondertussen bekend geworden als de cineast die het geweld verheerlijkt, ofschoon hij dat niet doet zoals Tarantino door B-films te kopiëren. De Deense regisseur heeft er zijn handelsmerk van gemaakt om een beklemmende sfeer te creëren waardoor het lijkt alsof je in de misdaadwereld wordt opgezogen, net alsof je er zelf deel van uitmaakt. De terechte lofzang over Drive of Only God Forgives heeft natuurlijk iedereen al ettelijke keren gelezen, minder bekend is zijn debuut Pusher. Een goedkope, maar uiterst belangrijke film die de Deense cinema liet ontploffen en zowel de carrière in gang zette voor Refn als voor Mads Mikkelsen.

Het verhaal speelt zich in het drugsmilieu van Kopenhagen af. Frank (Kim Bodnia) wil wel meedraaien met de grote jongens en grof geld verdienen door het verhandelen van verdovende middelen, maar eigenlijk graaft hij zichzelf letterlijk in de put. Hij wordt belazerd door zijn eigen partner Tonny (Mads Mikkelsen), een stukje ellende dat alleen maar de taal van de vuisten snapt. Een zoveelste deal die hem rijk moet maken eindigt alweer in een fiasco wanneer Frank moet wegrennen voor de politie en wanhopig de cocaïne in een meer gooit. Daardoor verdwijnt wel de bewijslast, maar dat betekent niet dat de Kroatische maffiabaas Milo (Zlatko Buric) zijn poen niet wil.

Het is onvoorstelbaar dat iemand met beperkte middelen zo’n mokerslag kon uitdelen. Refn vertelde later in interviews dat hij was geïnspireerd door Mean Streets van Martin Scorsese. Net zoals de grootmeester toont Refn je inderdaad de vuile riolen van het criminele milieu, waarin het leven helemaal geen waarde heeft. De vertolkingen zijn grandioos. Alleen Bodnia is een gevestigde naam in de Deense filmwereld, de rest van de cast bestaat louter uit amateurs. Mads Mikkelsen vertolkt hier wellicht het meest angstaanjagende typetje uit zijn carrière, maar ook Zlatko Buric zul je wellicht niet te gauw vergeten. Later volgden er nog twee fantastische sequels, en er was ook de (verwaarloosbare) remake van de Spaanse cineast Luis Prieto.

 

Didier BECU
20/04/2015


20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher 20/04/2015 : NICOLAS WINDING REFN - Pusher

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man