tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : RIKARD SJOBLOM - The Unbendable Sleep

RIKARD SJOBLOM

The Unbendable Sleep

MusicCD
Indie RockProg Rock

[88/100]   

Gungfly Productions
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prog lovers undoubtedly will know the name Beardfish. The band belongs to a list that includes Porcupine Tree and Pineapple Tree and it released some brilliant albums like The Void and Mammoth to name a few.

Why am I telling you this? Because multi-instrumentalist Richard Sjöblom is the front man and co-founder of Beardfish. He also was in Big Big Train, and as a solo artist he recorded music under the name Gungfly. A busy bee indeed!

Despite all this, he found the time to record an album under his own name through Gungfly Productions with the support of Prog Sphere Promotions. The Unbendable Sleep contains eight tracks that deal with usual themes: love, death and life. What is the difference with Beardfish, then? It sounds somewhat subdued which does not mean that you hear musical wallpaper. Absolutely not...

Love And War Part One: I Am Who Are is a rock song with a catchy chorus. The text is about believing in yourself. Musically, it sounds a bit like The Who and similar 70's bands. Realm Of You And Me contains beautiful rhythm changes and transitions on which Richard shows his experience as a prog rock artist.

On Rhyme And Reason the guitars sound heavier. Very fine and subtle guitar work, I must say. A nice groove, and it has more a prog rock feel than the previous ones, especially with a length of eleven minutes. A track with a lot of variety, melodic and brilliant guitar work.

Anna-Lee is again influenced by the 70s and is reminiscent of bands like Supertramp. The album closes with the epic Love And War Part Two: Lucky Star. A beautiful guitar intro, fine rhythms and Richard singing falsetto. Sometimes he mixes jazzy elements with rock.

The artwork is a painting by Bernt Daniels,who created book covers for Sture Halström. The latter was the inspiration for Rikard’s first solo album Cyklonmannen. The album sounds good and has quality. Sjöblom once again proves his writing talent. An album that is a must for prog rock enthusiasts.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Progrockliefhebbers zullen beslist de naam Beardfish kennen. Deze band staat in het rijtje van grote namen zoals Porcupine Tree of Pineapple Tree. Ze hebben schitterende albums gemaakt zoals The Void en Mammoth om er een paar te noemen.

Waarom vertel ik je dit allemaal? Omdat multi-instrumentalist Richard Sjöblom de frontman en mede-oprichter is van Beardfish. Daarnaast maakte hij ook deel uit van Big Big Train. Solo maakte hij tevens muziek onder de naam Gungfly. Een bezig baasje dus…

Toch heeft hij nog de tijd gevonden om een album onder zijn eigen naam op te nemen via Gungfly Productions, en dit met de steun van Prog Sphere Promotions. The Unbendable Sleep bevat acht tracks die over de gewoonlijke thema’s zoals liefde, dood en leven gaan. Wat is dan het verschil met Beardfish? Muzikaal klinkt alles ingetogener. Wat niet wil zeggen dat het muzikaal behangsel is geworden. Verre van… 

Love And War Part One: I Am Who Are is een rocksong met een catchy refrein. De tekst gaat over geloven in en kijken naar jezelf. Muzikaal klinkt het een beetje zoals The Who of gelijksoortige bands uit de 70s. Realm Of You And Me bevat mooie ritmewisselingen en overgangen. Hier toont Richard zijn progrockervaring. Op Rhyme And Reason haalt hij wat zwaarder gitaarwerk boven. Heel fijn en subtiel gitaarwerk. Een leuke groove brengt het lied op gang en het klinkt meer progrock dan de eerdere songs, getuige ook de duur van elf minuten. Een track met veel afwisseling, melodisch en schitterend gitaarwerk in het middenstuk. 

Anna-Lee is opnieuw hevig beïnvloed door de 70s en doet wat denken aan Supertramp. Het album sluit af met het epische Love And War Part Two: Lucky Star. Een prachtige gitaarintro, opnieuw fijne ritmes en Richard die bij momenten zijn falsetstem bovenhaalt. Soms vermengt hij wat jazzelementen met rock.

De hoes is een schilderij van Bernt Daniels, die ook boekcovers maakte voor Sture Halström, die op zijn beurt de inspiratie voor Richards eerste soloalbum Cyklonmannen leverde. Het album klinkt goed en is kwalitatief hoogstaand. Een album dat een must is voor progrockliefhebbers.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : RIKARD SJOBLOM - The Unbendable Sleep 08/12/2016 : RIKARD SJOBLOM - The Unbendable Sleep

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation