tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/07/2011 : COMPACT SPACE - Nameless

COMPACT SPACE

Nameless

MusicCD
DanceIndie

[65/100]   
27/07/2011, Didier BECU

When we received this album I didn't have a clue who Compact Space were, but collegue Dennis informed me that we're dealing with a mini-supergroup as this is the project formed by one Christian Eigner.

A name that immediately rings a bell with Depeche Mode-devotees, because not only did he pen down some tracks with Gahan, he was also their drummer for many years. Also involved in Compact Space is Daryl Bamonte ,who's not only involved with the synthpop-übermeisters, but with The Cure as well.

These two well respected musicians picked up singer Florian Kraemer and Compact Space was born. It's quite clear that they chose to be a band that can stand alone. There are no stickers on the cover to draw attention to the musical past of the members and music wise it's also quite different.

If you're forcing me to come up with a musical comparison, I'd say I'd go for LCD Soundsystem or Hot Chip, because Compact Space isn't averse to some 80's-influences (just check the great "Push Push"-single), but in general they will appeal more to an indie-audience than a synthpop one.

Having said that, some tracks reminded us of what Recoil is capable of. But, with nine tracks that have an acceptable level, we can only conclude that "Nameless" has its right of existence, and that's it.

Just a bit too bland for our taste.

 

Didier BECU
27/07/2011


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela