tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/07/2011 : COMPACT SPACE - Nameless

COMPACT SPACE

Nameless

MusicCD
DanceIndie

[65/100]   
27/07/2011, Didier BECU

When we received this album I didn't have a clue who Compact Space were, but collegue Dennis informed me that we're dealing with a mini-supergroup as this is the project formed by one Christian Eigner.

A name that immediately rings a bell with Depeche Mode-devotees, because not only did he pen down some tracks with Gahan, he was also their drummer for many years. Also involved in Compact Space is Daryl Bamonte ,who's not only involved with the synthpop-übermeisters, but with The Cure as well.

These two well respected musicians picked up singer Florian Kraemer and Compact Space was born. It's quite clear that they chose to be a band that can stand alone. There are no stickers on the cover to draw attention to the musical past of the members and music wise it's also quite different.

If you're forcing me to come up with a musical comparison, I'd say I'd go for LCD Soundsystem or Hot Chip, because Compact Space isn't averse to some 80's-influences (just check the great "Push Push"-single), but in general they will appeal more to an indie-audience than a synthpop one.

Having said that, some tracks reminded us of what Recoil is capable of. But, with nine tracks that have an acceptable level, we can only conclude that "Nameless" has its right of existence, and that's it.

Just a bit too bland for our taste.

 

Didier BECU
27/07/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide