tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/07/2011 : MIRRORS - Lights and Offerings

MIRRORS

Lights and Offerings

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   

NEWS
27/07/2011, Didier BECU

There's a theory that says everything comes back once, as our cultural society works in cycles. This theory frightens us, because it indicates we will inevitably have to face the terrible world of grunge once again, never mind mentioning nu-metal. But for the time being, it seems like we're stuck with the 80's.

The band receiving the most profit from this revival is without a doubt Hurts, who made a quite disappointing album by selling their 80's soul to the devil that promised them chart success. It seems like Mirrors avoided this trap.

The main thing about Mirrors is that they're not a manufactured band but just four boys who believe in the power of 80's synthpop, which they proved by being around since 2009 when there wasn't a mainstream 80's-revival going on just yet.

Well, in the underground there was, which brought them to dancelabels like Moshi Moshi and Skint.

Their big boom came when they went on a world tour with OMD. Only a handful of people knew who these British lads were but it was a relief to see them appear on stage, just like they were the Kraftwerk-boys!

Was it a joke, we thought? But no, it wasn't. From the very first tones we immediately knew why Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys decided to take them along on tour. Mirrors sound like their "Organisation" with a modern twist.

On this album, you get ten tracks which have those same typical OMD-synth patterns and even if we won't say that tracks like "Into the heart" or "Ways to an end" are classics, they can surely stand the famous test of time.

Mirrors hosts four boys who like to be fashionable (those hair ornaments alone!) but as long as this goes along with great music we say: recommended, and no, you won't throw this cd on the feared pile of cd's you only listen to once or twice in your life!

I-Tunes

 

Didier BECU
27/07/2011


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser