tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/07/2011 : MIRRORS - Lights and Offerings

MIRRORS

Lights and Offerings

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   

NEWS
27/07/2011, Didier BECU

There's a theory that says everything comes back once, as our cultural society works in cycles. This theory frightens us, because it indicates we will inevitably have to face the terrible world of grunge once again, never mind mentioning nu-metal. But for the time being, it seems like we're stuck with the 80's.

The band receiving the most profit from this revival is without a doubt Hurts, who made a quite disappointing album by selling their 80's soul to the devil that promised them chart success. It seems like Mirrors avoided this trap.

The main thing about Mirrors is that they're not a manufactured band but just four boys who believe in the power of 80's synthpop, which they proved by being around since 2009 when there wasn't a mainstream 80's-revival going on just yet.

Well, in the underground there was, which brought them to dancelabels like Moshi Moshi and Skint.

Their big boom came when they went on a world tour with OMD. Only a handful of people knew who these British lads were but it was a relief to see them appear on stage, just like they were the Kraftwerk-boys!

Was it a joke, we thought? But no, it wasn't. From the very first tones we immediately knew why Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys decided to take them along on tour. Mirrors sound like their "Organisation" with a modern twist.

On this album, you get ten tracks which have those same typical OMD-synth patterns and even if we won't say that tracks like "Into the heart" or "Ways to an end" are classics, they can surely stand the famous test of time.

Mirrors hosts four boys who like to be fashionable (those hair ornaments alone!) but as long as this goes along with great music we say: recommended, and no, you won't throw this cd on the feared pile of cd's you only listen to once or twice in your life!

I-Tunes

 

Didier BECU
27/07/2011


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love