tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/08/2013 : DISTORTED MEMORY - The Eternal Return

DISTORTED MEMORY

The Eternal Return

MusicCD
Cold EBMDark ElectroElectro

[80/100]   

Self-released
13/08/2013, Didier BECU

Two years ago I reviewed the album "Swallowing The Sun" by Canadian electro-act Distorted Memory, which was released back then on the highly acclaimed NoiTekk-label. Two years later, the music industry hasn't recovered from its deep crisis (will it ever?), but Distorted Memory are still standing. It might be on their own label, but nonetheless this band are sounding like never before.

Back then I compared them to Suicide Commando, and I guess dark electro can always be compared to Johan's outfit, but the truth is that Distorted Memory have developed a very own identity (even if you can still smell their roots). This newest album opens with a blast. "In the heart of your fire" could have landed on "Eat Your Heart Out" by The Klinik and if I say such things, that's a compliment of the highest order.

Distorted Memory do more than just deliver a dark cold mood. They also write killer tunes and if you don't believe this, just check out a track like "Throwing Stones" and you'll be convinced that there's still room for quality danceable electro these days.

Yes, on some tracks you can hear the spirit of some old school Skinny Puppy, while other tracks have a poppy touch like let's say Nachtmahr. It's a bit of everything and that's always a good thing on an EBM/dark electro/whatever cd. Definitely check out this nice release.

Didier BECU
13/08/2013


 

Next reviews
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs
HYPNOSKULL • Electronic Music Means War To Us 2
DIORAMA • Review of the concert at Summer Darkness in Utrecht on 26th July 2013
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
MUSHY/MEDDICINE • Split EP
HUMAN FLESH • THE 35th HUMAN ATTEMPT
AUTO-AUTO • The skies are your hunting ground (EP)
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP

 

Other reviews from DISTORTED MEMORY
DISTORTED MEMORY • Swallowing The Sun

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
LARVA • Where The Butterflies Go To Die

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion