tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/08/2013 : DISTORTED MEMORY - The Eternal Return

DISTORTED MEMORY

The Eternal Return

MusicCD
Cold EBMDark ElectroElectro

[80/100]   

Self-released
13/08/2013, Didier BECU

Two years ago I reviewed the album "Swallowing The Sun" by Canadian electro-act Distorted Memory, which was released back then on the highly acclaimed NoiTekk-label. Two years later, the music industry hasn't recovered from its deep crisis (will it ever?), but Distorted Memory are still standing. It might be on their own label, but nonetheless this band are sounding like never before.

Back then I compared them to Suicide Commando, and I guess dark electro can always be compared to Johan's outfit, but the truth is that Distorted Memory have developed a very own identity (even if you can still smell their roots). This newest album opens with a blast. "In the heart of your fire" could have landed on "Eat Your Heart Out" by The Klinik and if I say such things, that's a compliment of the highest order.

Distorted Memory do more than just deliver a dark cold mood. They also write killer tunes and if you don't believe this, just check out a track like "Throwing Stones" and you'll be convinced that there's still room for quality danceable electro these days.

Yes, on some tracks you can hear the spirit of some old school Skinny Puppy, while other tracks have a poppy touch like let's say Nachtmahr. It's a bit of everything and that's always a good thing on an EBM/dark electro/whatever cd. Definitely check out this nice release.

Didier BECU
13/08/2013


 

Next reviews
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs
HYPNOSKULL • Electronic Music Means War To Us 2
DIORAMA • Review of the concert at Summer Darkness in Utrecht on 26th July 2013
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
MUSHY/MEDDICINE • Split EP
HUMAN FLESH • THE 35th HUMAN ATTEMPT
AUTO-AUTO • The skies are your hunting ground (EP)
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP

 

Other reviews from DISTORTED MEMORY
DISTORTED MEMORY • Swallowing The Sun

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
LARVA • Where The Butterflies Go To Die

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall