tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/08/2013 : INDIVIDUAL TOTEM - Kyria 13

INDIVIDUAL TOTEM

Kyria 13

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[85/100]   

Artoffact
17/08/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This new CD was so eagerly awaited that two members of our editorial team insisted on reviewing it. So, you get two reviews for the same price (for free...). Read the review by Filip Van Muylem and, below, the review by Peter Dolphen...

I love the artistic SF artwork, to start with. Check out their Facebook page for more info.

Least you can say is that it's filled with a lot of Science Fantasy elements. The first song could be some Project Pitchfork. Slow electro with some German and English vocals, the screamed backings are nice. Wanting to know what Croxxers are, btw. The song has enough potential to keep me thrilled.

The next starts ('Lost Souls') from the same direction, but has a more nu electro and EBM sound (yes, even some Front 242).

Third song ‘The great mistake' has more guitars in it and the voice sounds differently. The breaks give the song a mysterious vibe, with a trance under layer. Love it.

'Council of the wise' is a more dream pop orientated song, like in a real SF dream, where the future is technology and everything is possible. The wise are whispering and you float on their wisdom.

'Go to war' starts more like an acoustic song, close to Neo Folk. The soft synths and lamenting voices gives it a sad touch. This is for me one of the best songs on it. Melancholy on top! I think that In Ordo Rosario Equilibrio could make a great version of this one too, at least one Neo Folk band should try to play this song.

‘Mindworms’ gets back to more guitars and more drums and even more aggression. This one is more some kind of ‘Industrogression’, like my Belgian friend from Stin Scatzor did a while ago. A great one too!

‘Blue sky’ is another dreamer, while the break beat of no pressure wakes us up. The future pop mix is great, it feels like Gary Numan anno 2015.

'Astral' starts as a new Nine Inch Nails version of Closer to change into synth pop and with some JM Jarre influences. I could call it dream pop too, so it must be clear that this one goes into different directions, for sure.

‘Wintermute’ has the typical sound an old record playing on the typical old school material, but again the floating sound and synths reveal the modern times touch. At some point I started thinking about the Queen song called who wants to live forever. A bit too soft for a last song.

To be honest I loved the artwork and the philosophy more than the music, ok: there are some good songs on it, but to me it still is too soft to keep me moved. I could take enough songs out to collect them on an ep and I would be delighted by the result. For now I feel a bit severe on the end result. 

Filip Van Muylem

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Individual Totem has been in the scene for over 20 years (they released their first cassette ”Psycho Coma” in 1992) and are still alive and kicking. Fans of the old school EBM and industrial sound, will definitely be familiar with this band. Since this year, Bernd and Mathias have added an extra hand to the band: Jürgen Mossgraber has joined forces on this new release.

The band produced a sound I like a lot: the industrial of the early years is still alive. Also, the “ballad” Go To War gives me the shivers. It is clear that the band has been writing and working for a long time on this one to have it come in with a bang. We had to wait for 6 years (2007, Mothfly) for some new work, but dear, does this sound just right.

Expect industrial like industrial have to sound like, but expect a twist, a turn and some curves during the ride… Heck, this is an industrial rollercoaster everyone should ride! Expect Individual Totem!

Peter Dolphen

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/08/2013


 

Next reviews
DISTORTED MEMORY • The Eternal Return
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs
HYPNOSKULL • Electronic Music Means War To Us 2
DIORAMA • Review of the concert at Summer Darkness in Utrecht on 26th July 2013
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
MUSHY/MEDDICINE • Split EP
HUMAN FLESH • THE 35th HUMAN ATTEMPT
AUTO-AUTO • The skies are your hunting ground (EP)
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes

 

Same genre: EBM
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
KLANGWELT • The Incident

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro