tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/07/2013 : AUTO-AUTO - The skies are your hunting ground (EP)

AUTO-AUTO

The skies are your hunting ground (EP)

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopIndie

[90/100]   

Out Of Line
28/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I must say I got this EP with the help of Gordon (who's taking care of their Facebook page) and I was surprised in the most positive way! OK, Auto-Auto has a lot in common with Depeche Mode: but they have their own style too!

'Weekender' starts with a nice piano and a melancholic voice followed by some guy singing on speed. The combination of these gives it something special and it all keeps you dancing and haunts your head! This is for sure a sticky song and a great one for the dance-floor. I love the electronics and the hectic vibe well mixed with the piano.

'Opportunities lost' has some kind of a Mesh influence (musically spoken). Again the 80's influence is not far. I love the drums here. The voice is a bit on a low tone, but it's nice to have something different than on the previous song.

'The skies are your hunting ground' is the one where we get a high toned voice, almost falsetto. The music is a bit on the soft side blending in well with the high toned voice. I love the chorus, very catchy and happy sound.

'The wish' sounds as a minimal wave song with little bit of an electro influence. I think we get here the normal voice behind the mic. I love the speeding up of the tempo near the end. Somehow I heard the music already somewhere else, but I just can't give it a name, but still: I love it. Despite the minimal wave sound it's very well worked out with more details than you think at first sight.

'Yellow streak' has everything from the 80's: the sound, the voice... Just wandering what this song means. The voice somehow reminds me of Ewert and the Two Dragons, there are some other things here where I think about other bands: Depeche Mode ('Personal Jesus'), Eleven Pound and The Essence are also in the running, but yet I can't point out to whom. Time will tell or fans will send me a PM. I love the melancholic voice! Somehow I can see some people dance on this one... The bass player does a great job too, just as the guitar player.

My conclusion is that I can't wait to get a full album and I want to see them on stage. I have to thank Gordon Schumway for twisting my arm and making me listen to this one! The music keeps on haunting me, it's like a real life earworm: hard to get rid of it once you have it in you...

https://www.facebook.com/autoautose?fref=ts

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/07/2013


 

Next reviews
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP
FINVARRA
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
A.A.A.K. • Buildingscapebeat XXV
BACKTRACK LANE • Black Truth & White Lies
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
TECHNOMANCER • System Failure
TZOLK'IN • The Sixth Sun

 

Other reviews from AUTO-AUTO
AUTO-AUTO • Underwater Sounds EP pt1 - EXLCUSIVE FOR PEEK-A-BOO

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo